Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Design Book
I have a large collection of books on all aspects of planting, gardening techniques and design theory but this book is outstanding amongst them.

For me, the most useful part of the book are the introductory chapters which are an exposition of a subject which can be something of a black art even to the most experienced of gardeners. The author explains clearly...
Published on 1 Jan 2012 by Kev the Greenman

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
I was very excited when I read the first pages of this book on the 'search inside' feature, so immediately bought it for the design ideas I expected it to contain. The idea of plants grouped into their shapes was very interesting to me, and potentially very helpful in relation to designing my garden. (I am an amateur and need all the help I can get.)
The first...
Published 21 months ago by Dee M


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Class Design Book, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I have a large collection of books on all aspects of planting, gardening techniques and design theory but this book is outstanding amongst them.

For me, the most useful part of the book are the introductory chapters which are an exposition of a subject which can be something of a black art even to the most experienced of gardeners. The author explains clearly what she means by example and underpins this with sound theory. Straight after I read this book I went out and put her ideas into practice and produced a new bed which looks superb (even in mid winter) and which I know I wont be changing as I often do. I'm currently "editing" all my other borders using the principles from this book resulting in a vast aesthetic improvement throughout my garden.

I've been gardening for over twenty years and I do it for a living and it's not often I find a book this good which elevates my knowlege base and raises the bar by so much. Money well spent, a good source book and a book which will repay re-reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 4 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I was very excited when I read the first pages of this book on the 'search inside' feature, so immediately bought it for the design ideas I expected it to contain. The idea of plants grouped into their shapes was very interesting to me, and potentially very helpful in relation to designing my garden. (I am an amateur and need all the help I can get.)
The first chapter is excellent, and lived up to my expectations. From page 39 to 271 there is no further design information. Instead there are descriptions of plants. A chapter is devoted to each of the 'shape' categories: horizontals and tiers, verticals and diagonals, arcs and fountains, clumps and mounds, clouds and transparents. There are lovely pictures and descriptions of each plant - I suppose they are useful in themselves, but I have loads of books which describe the features of plants. I was looking for a book about designing with plants, combining the groups, proportions of each in relation to the other, etc.. Perhaps I need my hand held but I expected more from a book described as a 'Plant Design Sourcebook' than one chapter on design. There is also no indication from the 'search inside' feature that the brilliant design information will stop after chapter one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable, 11 Feb 2011
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I love this book. Lin has a great gift for describing plants as well as huge knowledge. The beginning of the book sets up the design process in a way that I find inspiring (Leonardo and divine proportions etc) and then the way she categorises the plants, as well as the selection, is appealing and invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good solid source book, 23 May 2010
By 
D. Bevan "deano1406" (Sussex, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
An excellent plant source book, covers America as well as Europe. Broken down into Architectural features of the plants, so ideal for finding plants for your design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great shape, 8 Jun 2012
By 
Barneys mum (Chobham, Surrey) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I gave this book to my daughter who is doing a garden design course. She looked at it briefly and said that it ticked all the boxes, no other book gives plant profiles in this way. The pictures are good too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mophead, 11 Feb 2013
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
I am revamping a border this year and will be using this is a valuable source of reference for the planting. It's broken up into sections on various layers of planting, ie horizontals, verticals and tiers for example. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook (Hardcover)
Great book arrived promptly, thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook
Gardening with Shape, Line, and Texture: A Plant Design Sourcebook by Linden Hawthorne (Hardcover - 15 Nov 2009)
£25.00
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews