Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be fifty to enjoy this book!
While this book contains virtually the same information that is in Friel's The Cyclist's Training Bible, the focus on the older athelete makes the information more accessable and practical. Good reviews of current knowledge of cycling physiology, nutrition, and various training strategies for different types of cycling goals. Very good discussion of self evaluation of...
Published on 15 Nov 1998

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too much then not enough
too much then not enough what do i mean by this, well, the whole book is massively complex, it really goes into the science of training and the phases of training, base phase build phase ect, decribing in detail, then it uses all sorts of abbreviations such as MS ME PE ect but then dosent explain so lots and lots of info, but what it dosnt have is a actual training plan...
Published 9 months ago by Stephen Jay


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars You don't need to be fifty to enjoy this book!, 15 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
While this book contains virtually the same information that is in Friel's The Cyclist's Training Bible, the focus on the older athelete makes the information more accessable and practical. Good reviews of current knowledge of cycling physiology, nutrition, and various training strategies for different types of cycling goals. Very good discussion of self evaluation of personal cycling strengths and weaknesses, along with guidance on how to set cycling goals, and develop abilties. Neither book is aimed at the casual cyclist, but rather those who want to develop and improve their skills. Where the Training Bible seems aimed at the elite athelete, Cycling Past Fifty provides reduced intensity trainig suggestions, and has more discusion on potential limitations, nad training problems. I highly recommend both books. Only four stars because of the poor title, and the level of repetition from The Cyclist's Training Bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Past 50, 25 Jun 2010
By 
A. D. Taylor (Kings Lynn, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
This is a superb book for cyclists over 50 and want to enjoy cycling with out doing something that could injure. I found the chapters well laid out and easy to read and assimilate, I am, over 50 lol, I have read it through several times and then can go back easily and refer if I am concerned about something. I recommend it to all over 50 cyclists whether you are a lifelong cyclist or just want to take it up for exercise.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book for advice to the older rider, 25 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
Now lets face it, its not that common that you take up a sport in your later years, in which you were never previously involved, but even if you did participate before - things do change over the years, and dare I suggest that our memories are not always entirely reliable, and lets face it, we may be a decade or two older than when we last did some serious cycling. If you have come back to cycling in later years, or indeed are just taking it up, then this is a great little book for you. Joe Friel is a well know guru concerning cycling training. He's been at it for very many years - and being an older guy himself, now, he understands that while your enthusiasm may not wain with age, you do need to respect your body a little better. Reading this book will help you to schedule your training and riding in a way that it will continue to thrill you until you finally drop off your bicycle and float to the great bike yard in the sky. Joe really understands that because you are an older rider, you don't want to settle for slowly bimbling around everywhere (although if that is what you want to do, that's OK too). He understands that older you may be, but you still want to improve and most of all enjoy your cycling, and get the most from it.

I thoroughly recommend this book to all more mature girls and boys out there, who want to get on their bicycles, enjoy the freedom of the road or the countryside, and build their fitness. Its a good read and a book you will come back to time & time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected!!!, 19 Dec 2011
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
I bought this book as a joke birthday gift for my husband!! He has actually read it cover to cover several times and has thoroughly enjoyed it. He says it has encouraged him to do more on his bike and has given him some really good training tips!
So.......for a joke gift .....I am delighted he loved it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cycling Past 50 - gift for a friend, 20 Aug 2010
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
I bought this book for a good friend who really appreciates it for the logical, common sense values expressed in the specialised arena of cycling when older in age than an enthusiastic youngster. We both subscribe to the health benefits of cycling when built-in to a normal lifestyle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cycling for oldies!, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
An enjoyable & very informative read, if a little technical in parts. Gives you a sense of confidence that cycling is for all, whatever your age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good book, slightly dated, 29 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
I knew this was one of his earlier books, and it's definitely not just aimed at past-50 cyclists (I'm 40).
Some great technical stuff and good advice but seems a bit dated. I didn't want a focus on power as I don't have a power meter, but it seemed to jump from information into a big section on training plans at which point it became a bit boring
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cycling and training programme tips for cyclists old and young, 18 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
Really good book written by a recognised expert, well written and easy to read and absorb, with the intricacies of the training programmes clearly explained.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful tips in an easy read., 18 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
This slim volume is easy to read. You can get quite a bit from it even if you don't absorb all the technical details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too much then not enough, 14 July 2013
By 
Stephen Jay - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Cycling Past 50 (Paperback)
too much then not enough what do i mean by this, well, the whole book is massively complex, it really goes into the science of training and the phases of training, base phase build phase ect, decribing in detail, then it uses all sorts of abbreviations such as MS ME PE ect but then dosent explain so lots and lots of info, but what it dosnt have is a actual training plan that you can follow, it suggests methods of traing and phases and ideas but not a actual plan
i found this book a huge dissapointment, and given that it was written in 1998 i expect many of the methods are now outdated,

in short you will spend more time reading and deciphering this book than actual ridind sadley one to avoid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xab9e366c)

This product

Cycling Past 50
Cycling Past 50 by Joe Friel (Paperback - 1 Jun 1998)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews