Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique resource for life and free human development
As an author of a book on stress and life-management myself, I applaud this extraordinary collection of material from the work of Steiner, a polymath genius and spiritual adventurer. The text collects his meditations and exercise, many of which have been raided by other authors, including myself. The resulting treasure assembles the fullest kitbag of Steiner's unique and...
Published on 10 July 2005 by Angus Jenkinson

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy on Kindle
This was the first Kindle book I bought. It will also be the last. I found that not being able to leaf through the pages, have a sense of where I was in the book or readily look at the index meant that I felt trapped. This is clearly not a reflection on the book, which I suspect is excellent, but on Kindle.
Published 2 months ago by ainslie


Most Helpful First | Newest First

110 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique resource for life and free human development, 10 July 2005
By 
Angus Jenkinson "angusjenkinson" (Cambridgeshire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises (Paperback)
As an author of a book on stress and life-management myself, I applaud this extraordinary collection of material from the work of Steiner, a polymath genius and spiritual adventurer. The text collects his meditations and exercise, many of which have been raided by other authors, including myself. The resulting treasure assembles the fullest kitbag of Steiner's unique and powerful advice on self-transforamtion available in the English language.
The strength of the book lies not simply in volume (it is not even a 'fat book'). After all junk food often comes on large platters. Rather, this is probably the wisest collection of practice guidance for living available in print, from anyone, anywhere.
Of course this might offend supporters of various holy books, such as the Bible or Q'ran, which certainly do contain wonderful advice. 'Love your neighbour' comes to mind. But, this collection is not in competition with these texts: it is not a holy book, but a practical spiritual one. It is a manual not a guidebook. A work that encourages and develops human freedom, not followership. And it is a proven fact that the outcome of a few years of serious working with its contents will be transformation: spiritual, practical, ethical.
More diverse (and modern) than the Dhammapada, the Buddhist text that perhaps comes closest as a collected guide to life, more intelligent and penetrating than any stress book, more optimistically challenging than Einstein, this is an Aladdin's cave for the spiritual path of human freedom and self-development. Mind you, it wil demand your active commitment to turn the words into gold. Steiner is tough. But those who make the journey will feel enormously grateful and sublimely empowered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Collection., 24 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a useful collection of meditative exercises. I am using it in a study group and we have found the lengthy introduction to be really helpful and interesting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and readable, 30 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises (Paperback)
The introductory chapters are a delight and the guidance for further work very practical. I am still working with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Don't buy on Kindle, 20 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This was the first Kindle book I bought. It will also be the last. I found that not being able to leaf through the pages, have a sense of where I was in the book or readily look at the index meant that I felt trapped. This is clearly not a reflection on the book, which I suspect is excellent, but on Kindle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brillant Book!!, 17 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises (Paperback)
For anyone who finds Steiner a bit heavy going, this book is a must. The translation is modern and idiomatic. Exercises are simple and easily do- able. I read it throough to start and now dip in and out....have recommended it to so many friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
Elsa (Galicia, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises (Paperback)
Faultless
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises
Start Now!: A Book of Soul and Spiritual Exercises by Rudolf Steiner (Paperback - 18 Oct. 2004)
£12.76
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews