Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (1)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Press the self destruct button
I bought this book because I have long been a huge fan of GEORGE CLINTON and all the music that he gave us under the PARLIAMENT banner of his empire was released on the Casablanca label. I was therefore disappointed that, despite being the labels 2nd or 3rd best selling act, relatively little of the book is devoted to this madcap genius.

A very large proportion...
Published on 22 April 2010 by Phil Green

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much kiss and not enough about disco
Larry' Harris's account of the roller coaster that was Casablanca Records is certainly readable enough; I got through it in a couple of days on holiday.

However, I'm not sure who the author thinks will buy this book as there is far too much about KISS (and some other unsuccessful rockers he signed called Angel) and not enough about the disco music the label was...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by ROGER BARLOW


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Press the self destruct button, 22 April 2010
By 
Phil Green "priles" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records (Hardcover)
I bought this book because I have long been a huge fan of GEORGE CLINTON and all the music that he gave us under the PARLIAMENT banner of his empire was released on the Casablanca label. I was therefore disappointed that, despite being the labels 2nd or 3rd best selling act, relatively little of the book is devoted to this madcap genius.

A very large proportion of the book is dedicated to the rock group KISS and much of the rest to disco queen, DONNA SUMMER. I am a fan of neither but that did not detract from making this a fascinating read. The fact that no one else would touch KISS with a bargepole when they started out and Neil Bogart, Casablanca's founder, took a chance on them when no one else would, speaks volumes of how bad at their job so many record executives and so called talent scouts are. And we are supposed to have sympathy with them now that their industry is in terminal decline!

The success of KISS in fact bankrolled virtually every other act on the Casablanca label with the exceptions of the aforementioned PARLIAMENT and DONNA SUMMER and the book details the corruption in how record labels fiddle sales figures and chart placings, the excesses of the executives who waste money that they have not got, the conning of the public with talentless acts like THE VILLAGE PEOPLE (only one of them could sing so when they appeared live the most important stage prop was the hidden reel to reel tape deck)

Inevitably it all went pear shaped, coincidentally at the same time that GEORGE CLINTON'S MOTHERSHIP crash landed, and the company slipped into oblivion. Think of the trouble at EMI now & how they gave talentless ROBBIE WILLIAMS (who wins BRIT awards for songwriting despite not being a songwriter) an 80 million contract. Reading this book you get a sense of deja vu. Haven't they learnt anything from history?

It is a fascinating read and typical of an industry that seems second only to the banks in extravagance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars too much kiss and not enough about disco, 8 Jan 2011
By 
ROGER BARLOW (LONDON/NEW YORK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records (Hardcover)
Larry' Harris's account of the roller coaster that was Casablanca Records is certainly readable enough; I got through it in a couple of days on holiday.

However, I'm not sure who the author thinks will buy this book as there is far too much about KISS (and some other unsuccessful rockers he signed called Angel) and not enough about the disco music the label was more famous for. Ok Donna Summer and Village People are covered to a degree but there isn't much inside "wow, i didn't know that" information on either. Many other acts who had several lps out on Casablanca (Patti Brooks, Teri DeSario for example) literally don't feature at all. While their long running more r&b sub label Chocolate City (home to Cameo and other soul funk acts ) is mentioned once at the end of a sentence - there is no explanation of why it was started or who ran it etc. At the same time there is lots of detail on the hiring and firing of staff, sometimes not even major players, names that will i suspect be meaningless to 99% readers. In fact I wonder if it should be sub titled "a personal history", not only because of the coverage is lop sided but Larry left Casablanca in mid 79 and that's pretty much where the book ends, big hits from after this like Lipps Inc "Funkytown" arent covered at all.

I understand it must be hard to condense all the information and stories from years ago into a book but The Casablanca Story is a niche publication, which i suspect will only be read by diehard disco fans or people really interested in music business history and at 264 pages its pretty short - i couldnt help but feel the sort of person buying this book would prefer it was longer with much more detail (preferably about music....and not KISS).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hit the hooker with the frisbee., 5 May 2010
By 
Anthony Nesbitt (Liverpool, Merseyside, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records (Hardcover)
So then , why the three-star review? Well, let's see? Somewhat dry style - even though ghosted. Also, too much attention is paid to the technical side of the record industry. That said, it is worth buying for an entertaining insight into the crazy world of Casablanca.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Kiss books ever!, 14 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records (Hardcover)
Amazing.In truth this book is about the rise and fall of Casablanca records but if you are a Kiss fan you will love this!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records, 21 Feb 2012
This review is from: And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records (Hardcover)
This is a great book for disco fans.

The images was good to look at and most importantly fans will know Casablanca's way of running their record company and the ups and downs of their business. An interesting read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazon Wake Up, 16 Dec 2012
By 
J. Highton "Jonboy" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
C'mon Amazon.
I have been wanting to read this book for a good few years now.
Keep checking to see if available for the KIndle and then voila, there it is.

But no it is not!
Shows as being available but it clearly cannot be downloaded.
C'mon Amazon, why tease me so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

And Party Every Day: The Inside Story of Casablanca Records
17.67
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews