Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for all Beatles nerds everywhere!
Lewisohn's 'Sessions' gave us a great insight into the Beatles recording history, but too much was left unanswered. Not any longer because Andy Babiuk's book does much to fill in the gaps. Here is the definitive guide to how the Beatles got their sound. All the instruments used, some dating back to the mid fifties, have been tracked down & photographed with relevant...
Published on 4 Jan 2002 by Jeppo

versus
2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Is this the 2010 3rd Edition?
The 4 existing reviews are for earlier editions (2001 and 2002).

This listing is for a 3rd Edition, 2010.

I have just received my copy from this listing and it is a different ISBN and edition to the one advertised.

The Beatles Gear is a great book. I have a 1st Edition (and this 2nd Edition has some nice additions, but I really wanted the...
Published on 13 May 2010 by Wayne Arleigh


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant book for all Beatles nerds everywhere!, 4 Jan 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Lewisohn's 'Sessions' gave us a great insight into the Beatles recording history, but too much was left unanswered. Not any longer because Andy Babiuk's book does much to fill in the gaps. Here is the definitive guide to how the Beatles got their sound. All the instruments used, some dating back to the mid fifties, have been tracked down & photographed with relevant details given. The photographs are perfect eye candy for anyone who loves old music gear and the text is well written with attention to detail. It is laid out in chronological order which is effective & has it's merits, though my only quibble would be the lack of a definitive chapter on HOW the Beatles were recorded. By this I mean the types of microphones, mixing desks & tape machines they used. These details can be found, though you have to do some sifting through the pages to get what you want about the studio gear itself. However, this is a superb book and essential reading for anyone who takes the Beatles music seriously.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of three essential books about The Beatles recordings, 13 Jan 2008
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear (Paperback)
If you're a bit of a Beatles recordings obsessive this is one of three essential books. It's a thorough and well-researched guide to all the musical equipment The Beatles used during their amazing career, with many good pictures, and is largely free of error.

The other two books you'll need to compliment it are Mark Lewisohn's 'The Complete Beatles Recording Sessions' and 'Recording The Beatles' by Kevin Ryan & Brian Kehew [Curvebender Publishing ISBN 978-0-9785200-0-7].

The latter is wonderful, subtitled 'The Studio Equipment and Techniques Used to Create Their Classic Albums' it not only lists all the recording equipment the band used for their recordings, but includes exceptional photos, often of the actual equipment. Additionally there are sections on the studios (Abbey Road predominantly obviously) and breakdowns of some songs' recording processes.

Buy all three books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So you think you know it all?, 4 Mar 2011
By 
Alan Mitchell (Elderslie, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio (Hardcover)
When I first saw this book I wondered "Do I really need another Beatles book, and one which is so narrow and focussed?"
Well yes, I am really pleased to say, this is an exceptionally good book, well researched and well written. It is not only a coverage of the instrumentation, it retells the Beatles story from a different angle from the very start and details the instruments,techniques and effects used at every stage of their career. In most cases we are even told the source of each instrument, how it was acquired, cost, who's hands it passed through before and after The Beatles and where it is now. It is very thorough.
The constant repeating of the instrumentation used sometimes gets a bit repetitive and annoying but that is a small complaint given the purpose of the book and the thoroughness of it's approach. The photographs,layout and printing are superb, it is a joy to look at page after page although at times the relative photograph does not appear until a few pages after the wording but considering how much is crammed in here that is a small complaint too. After they stopped playing live the book's tone seems to change and it is not written in exactly the same style somehow. I guess that after that point photographic evidence of instrumentation was not so readily available as it had been in the live days.
In all a fabulous book, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great pictures!, 11 Aug 2005
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear (Paperback)
I liked this book mainly because of the new pictures it contains. I have read lots of Beatles books and I found a lot of pictures in here that I have never seen before.
It also gives a fresh spin on some well-known stories, for example, the story about The Beatles logo... that is something I have never read before, and it is very interesting to see their first attempt!
Although it doesn't go into detail about why they wrote the songs (it focuses more on the instruments) it does give a good overview of the band's history from start to finish.
I would recommend this book even if you aren't interested in the instruments - there is still plenty to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Beatles Gear" Book, 2 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio (Hardcover)
The "Beatles Gear" book is well written, informative and has excellent photographs of the musical instruments used by "The Beatles". It is a hard book to put down and I fully recommend this book to anyone interested in the musical evolution of this exceptional band.
The hardback book was delivered promptly and well packaged.
Thanks JJ Ridley
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality Work!, 7 Oct 2010
By 
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio (Hardcover)
As far as Beatles books go, this one is relatively specialist in content. The author has clearly spent a lot of time and effort to research the subject matter and produce a work of high quality on a topic which has not been covered elsewhere in anything like this level of depth. As such the author should be applauded for genuinely broadening knowledge of the Beatles. The book goes into lots of detail on all the music/recording equipment that the Beatles used throughout their career - even including lengthy sections which look at their pre-fame 1950's teenage years when they started playing instruments at home and performing at local fetes in skiffle bands. For anybody with a serious interest in the Beatles, and especially if you have ever tried to play Beatles songs and accurately recreate their original 1960's studio/live sound, this book is both incredibly interesting and useful as it goes into such detail on the instruments, equipment and recording techniques they employed. I am both a massive Beatles fan and a (struggling!) guitarist, so for me this book is a clear five star purchase and 100% recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who Cares if You Don't Play These Things!, 21 Feb 2005
By 
Joy M. O'donnell (Schererville, Indiana USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear (Paperback)
For too many years, I have watched the Beatles play their beloved instruments, and always wondered what the guitars and Ringo's set of drums felt like? Were the guitars heavy? Could Ringo really "tune" up his drums? This book is magic. Even if you do not play an instrument, or never tried, this book answers all questions and has gorgeous photos of the instruments. The text is enjoyable and it made me appreciate the music even more!
There are so many books, but you must have this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can be read for ever......, 27 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio (Hardcover)
Amazing insight into not just the equipment but how the Beatles developed their sound. A must for all fans! If your man is a fan ladies.....treat him to this. Prepare to spend some time alone afterwards though! ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Ceedee (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio (Hardcover)
A nice big well written and well illustrated must have book for anyone interested in
guitars and/or the Beatles.
At this price it really is excellent value too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Beatles" Gear, 6 Nov 2010
This review is from: "Beatles" Gear (Paperback)
This Is a must for Beatle fans that are also guitar players. The incites to how and why tracks recorded by them sound the way they do are interesting. However the anecdotes and storeys that fill out their story really pull their history together in a much more stratifying way than just a list and photo's ever could.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

"Beatles" Gear: All the Fab Four's Instruments from Stage to Studio
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews