Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know
If you play or have an interest in the electric guitar this book will be like someone turning on the light and opening the curtains. It explains why differing guitars sound the way they do in an easy to read format and covers a wide range of popular and the more obscure to make its point. Great if you build your own guitars or just excellent bed time reading. One for your...
Published on 19 July 2010 by Mr. C. R. Wynn

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars half and half
The book has about two half, one a bit of talk about the guitars, and the other whos who of some of the different types. (sorry just checked the page numbers book has 203 pages (some blank pages) but 010-055 is about the bits within a guitar and 058-203 is about whos who of guitars (ie the woods, Bits, and makers etc)

The First half talks about woods, pickups...
Published 13 months ago by Mr. Duane Hunt


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars half and half, 27 Sep 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
The book has about two half, one a bit of talk about the guitars, and the other whos who of some of the different types. (sorry just checked the page numbers book has 203 pages (some blank pages) but 010-055 is about the bits within a guitar and 058-203 is about whos who of guitars (ie the woods, Bits, and makers etc)

The First half talks about woods, pickups (what i did like reading), Tremelo's (also good but small) Electronics (not even a page)

My feeling (note this is ME ONLY) that you would be better off with some kind of Building/Repairing Guitars book and a Whos Who than this one book that tries to mix the two.

Giving it 3 stars (the writing was great) but i felt the books title let it down for the subject inside. When the writer was talking about the parts of the guitar they had a very human part to them and felt like someone was talking to you than just blurtin bits at you.
As for the CD 64 Tracks of Rifts showin (well sounding) some of the guitars (Note list is found at back from 201-203) {what i guess is a PLUS for this book and i dont think ive seen else were)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything you need to know, 19 July 2010
By 
Mr. C. R. Wynn "knob twiddler" (Stonehenge) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
If you play or have an interest in the electric guitar this book will be like someone turning on the light and opening the curtains. It explains why differing guitars sound the way they do in an easy to read format and covers a wide range of popular and the more obscure to make its point. Great if you build your own guitars or just excellent bed time reading. One for your Christmas or Birthday list!
Chris.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Electric guitar sourcebook, 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
This is a great book for those ( like me) who are guitar obsessives ... If you want to hear examples of how vintage guitars differ from regular or even other vintage stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Nor exactly what it says on the can., 5 Aug 2012
By 
Mark Duffy (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
I bought it thinking it was about guitar set-up, amps and pedals. It's not.
It's a catalogue of guitars focussing on wood and pick-ups with subjective
descriptions of sound. It describes what each one is, not what you can do with it.
Having said that - and I really must read the small print - I found it a brilliant read. Lot of detail, extremely well-written, and exhaustive.
Authors rarely choose titles?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant All Rounder, 28 Aug 2013
By 
A D. Pate (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
At the minute, I'm building my first electric guitar from scratch and this book was vital to my choice of parts and woods. Every part of the guitar is explained in detail; it's function and how it affects the tone/sound of the instrument. Dave lists the main types of woods and their qualities, the different models of bridges, bolt on necks, set necks, nuts... The list goes on. Even a bit of history of how and when parts were first used and engineered.

It is written in a really easy to read and understand style and I would definitely recommend it to anybody looking to familiarise themselves with the parts of a guitar and their functions. Anybody planning to build a guitar, anybody looking to purchase a guitar, anybody wanting to know more about their guitar, anybody interested in guitars in general... this book is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great samples, great ideas. Just a great book!, 2 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
Tone quest continues for every player, and this book helps reveal the chain of parts that every player must consider in finding what they personally search for in good tone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 28 April 2010
By 
Aj Pursglove "mark pursglove." (west yorkshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like (Paperback)
this is a really well put together book,if you love the electric guitar this book is a must.i will more of this author's books,and i am not been paid for this :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Electric Guitar Sourcebook: How to Find the Sounds You Like
£17.12
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews