Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars they stand alone...
Growing up in Chicago in the '70's when FM became king, I usually listened to stations devoted to music of the '60's. The Yardbirds were one of the bands that were dealt the most respect as representatives of their time and of the British blues boom. So it came as a surprise to discover later that for many, they were primarily viewed as Led Zeppelin in its fetal stage,...
Published 18 months ago by S. J. Paulsen

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not definitive Yardbirds .
This is a great looking book, glossy and well laid out with some excellant photos of band members and Yardbirds product. However what really grates is the style of writing employed by the books author, Mr. Clayson. Written in an often irrating and difficult style which is at times perplexing, the reader finds themselves having to reread sections just to try to get the...
Published on 7 Mar. 2011 by T.J. SCARBOROUGH


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not definitive Yardbirds ., 7 Mar. 2011
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
This is a great looking book, glossy and well laid out with some excellant photos of band members and Yardbirds product. However what really grates is the style of writing employed by the books author, Mr. Clayson. Written in an often irrating and difficult style which is at times perplexing, the reader finds themselves having to reread sections just to try to get the jist of what the author is trying to describe. This book should come complete with its own glossary to explain the many unusual words the author likes to spinkle throughout the text.
Additionally, this book contains an unusual amount of filler in the respect that many other 60`s acts are mentioned in detail and in some cases compared to the The Yardbirds (Manfred Mann anyone?). Sadly lacking any depth in its actual subject matter.
As other reviews point out this is a great book to look at but sadly not to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Total disappointment!, 3 Jan. 2011
By 
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
I was fortunate enough to see the Yardbirds a few times when they performed at the Marquee in London, and at a couple of other locations; Clayson totally fails to capture the excitement, enthusiasm and ambiance that the Yardbirds created when playing to a live audience. He makes no serious effort to explore the dynamics of a successful band or the individuals that were members at various times. There are far too many references to other bands/groups and far too little insights into what made the Yardbirds such an amazing band. It felt as if Clayson had done very little research and needed to pad out the book and show off his general knowledge of the 60's Pop scene.. As such the book is shallow and is certainly not a definitive work about the Yardbirds. The Diary, at the end, is well laid out but the choice of print is poor; dates and venues are in bold the rest is not and is hard to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars they stand alone..., 22 Dec. 2013
By 
S. J. Paulsen "sallythewerewolf" (Bømlo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
Growing up in Chicago in the '70's when FM became king, I usually listened to stations devoted to music of the '60's. The Yardbirds were one of the bands that were dealt the most respect as representatives of their time and of the British blues boom. So it came as a surprise to discover later that for many, they were primarily viewed as Led Zeppelin in its fetal stage, with attention given to the guitarists and the other members dismissed as mere props to Beck's, Clapton's and Page's later grandeur and fame.

Alan Clayson's book does an excellent job of presenting the band as unique and great in itself, and focuses on the stories of The Yardbirds together and each member individually, exploring how the strengths--and weaknesses--of each made the group unlike any other (had Keith Relf been a belter like Eric Burdon, or a screamer like Robert Plant, would the Yardbirds' signature sound, with Gregorian backing vocals full of minor-thirds and cool Morricone-esque instrumental arrangements have come about? Unlikely). The members' backgrounds and pursuits post-Yardbirds are examined, including later bands they formed or joined, such as Renaissance, Illusion, The Jeff Beck Group, Box of Frogs, and more obscure collaborations that may have developed further, Together being a prime example. Clayson's observations on how The Yardbirds influenced other bands, both of their time and since made me go back and listen to the music that would have been very different or never been done had the seminal band not existed.

The book includes excellent photos; often a richness of pictures are an effort to make up for lack of text; but Clayson packs a lot of information into each paragraph. Even without photos the book would be a complete and satisfying account of the band and all of its members, as well as the times and events that created them, from the gritty postwar towns and conditions they grew up in, to the art schools of the early '60's, to the club and touring scenes of the later '60's and '70's. The author's research and attention to detail is that of a seasoned writer who knows his subject, from having observed and remembered the environments described, from extensive interviews and from being able to both love the music and listen to it with a critical ear. The narrative is neither a dry, self-conscious attempt to write about a band from a "scholarly" point of view, nor worshipful adulation; Clayson's account is evocative and often very funny. For fans of The Yardbirds, or for those who want to read about a singular time in the history of popular music, I would highly recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A Yardbirds fan, 4 Jun. 2003
By 
F. Sims (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
I wanted to find out more about their productive years and what they are up to now.This book is beautifully produced with a very good layout and images. However, the content is very poor.
The list of disks was openly lifted from another publication and had not been updated with any of the current material despite many references to them in the text.
The author has clearly spent a lot of time talking to the various members of the group and their contemporaries. He has failed to get over their views. Instead, I feel I have a very good idea of what the author thinks they meant.The sentences were long and unclear. I constantly found I was re-reading sections and still didn't know what point or fact he was actually trying to convey.
I read this book on holiday.
Will I go back to it?
yes to look at,
no to read.
This book is excellent if you have a large coffee stain that needs to be hidden or you like looking at pictures.
I think this book is poor if you want information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Alan Clayson, 28 Oct. 2010
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
Not the first time Alan Clayson lets me down. He misinforms, is more interested in telling stories about his band(s) and is so dull. But I agee with the first review...it is a pretty picture and a great layout but what a waste of money mr. Clayson is....don't buy his books
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest band ever, 25 Jun. 2014
By 
Dizzy Dee (Exeter Devon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
A good read, didn't tell me anything I didn't already know but a good fan's perspective on the greatest band of all time without too much emphasis on the lead guitarists, more about the others in the band. I loved the way that each chapter was a song title. The writing was light and humorous but serious when it needed to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 10 Jan. 2015
By 
P. Benson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
Great read - superb quality many thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE YARDBIRDS, 21 Dec. 2012
By 
Z. Fincham "Mayd of Merlin" (Kent, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page (Paperback)
Something my partner has read a years before but never had a copy... He'll be over the moon as he thinks it's unattainable! From what he's said about it it's one of the best books written about The Yardbirds!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Yardbirds": The Band That Launched Eric Clapton, Jeff Beck and Jimmy Page
£14.92
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews