Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant account of the best producers and their tips
This book is probably one of the most interesting books I've ever read. Containing interviews with giants in the music industry such as George Martin and Phil Ramone who share their knowledge and experience with the reader. It is easy to read as each interview is a digestible length. I would say it is essential reading for anyone interested in the music industry, but also...
Published on 24 Jan. 2001

versus
15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - book extremely dull.
I was very excited when the book popped through my letterbox and couldn't wait to get stuck in, but to be brutally honest, it is dull as dishwater. Although the people interviewed are undoubtedly fantastically inspirational producers, the interviews reveal mostly "well it depends on the song" type answers which reveal very little about technique or approach. There are a...
Published on 29 Aug. 2006 by Mr. J. Lonsdale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant account of the best producers and their tips, 24 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
This book is probably one of the most interesting books I've ever read. Containing interviews with giants in the music industry such as George Martin and Phil Ramone who share their knowledge and experience with the reader. It is easy to read as each interview is a digestible length. I would say it is essential reading for anyone interested in the music industry, but also would encapture the interest of any other reader. Behind the Glass shares the stories behind some of the biggest hit songs and albums in popular music history by artists such as David Bowie, The Beatles, Pink Floyd and Alanis Morrisette. I was recommended this book by a music industry executive, and it has been possibly the best advice I could receive as a songwriter trying to get into the music business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Beware - book extremely dull., 29 Aug. 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
I was very excited when the book popped through my letterbox and couldn't wait to get stuck in, but to be brutally honest, it is dull as dishwater. Although the people interviewed are undoubtedly fantastically inspirational producers, the interviews reveal mostly "well it depends on the song" type answers which reveal very little about technique or approach. There are a few genuine insights, but mostly it is extremely general advice and nothing you don't get in any studio based magazine - but in much more palatable doses. It also feels out-of-date to me - so much has happened since 2000. So to sum up, save the money for a new microphone or two and spend the reading time in the studio.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Full of facts but a bit repetitive..., 24 May 2008
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
If you have your own project studio then this book will be invaluable. Lots of advice on equipment, mics etc. However, unless you are about to buy one, constant advice about £1000+ microphones soon palls. The author asks virtually the same questions of thirty-odd producers, which is great inasmuch as you can readily compare their answers but it does not make for an enjoyable read. If you read this book all in one go then it soon becomes like reading a technical manual - full of useful information but not a lot of fun. If you are more interested in the subject as a whole I can highly recommend Good Vibrations by Mark Cunningham, a history of record production that is chock full of anecdotes, interviews and is unputdownable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strong on techniques and anecdotes, 27 Feb. 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
Great book - couldn't put it down read it on planes, hotels and trains.
Strong on mic and compression techniques and advice. Also strong on anecdotes and artist managemnet techniques.
Packed with sensible and yet creative advice from some of the top USA and European producers and engineers.
Touching interview with Brian Wilson of the Beach Boys - funny stuff about Prince and studio rocking chairs also female engineers who have lovingly recorded guitar speaker stacks being shoved over cliffs and into the sea !
John Lennons 'Flashing Esssess' mic sibilance aproach.....
its all here except Trevor Horn, Chris Kimsey, Chris Potter and Steve Hillage, and the Chemical Brothers all of whoom I would have like to have been interviewed alongside Thomas Dolby.
This is a gripping book for serious studio owners and operators, full of thought provoking comments and discussion.
Bedroom PC soundcard recordists making Acid loops probably wont enjoy it for the simple reason that they wont understand the references to records such as AJA by Steely Dan and might find the references to 2 Inch analaogue and tape compression difficult to relate to so I'd say its a book for the 30 plus market who are really into recording quality rather than sound cards.
Nice one Mr Massey can we have some more please(with Thomas Dolby included)?
I thorougly recommend it for inspiration !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars just a little bit amazing, 17 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
Do you guys wanna learn about the crafts of world famous producers?! how they make there hits, how each and everyone of them have their individual techniques that make them so unique!? One producer may love doing things this way... then the next completely different... Well, BUY THIS BOOK!!
Its seriously great, i do some home recording and the methods in this book come into use often!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 26 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
very helpful if you are a music technology or sound engineering student or just want to be a producer... legendary music producers sharing their knowledge and secrets..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A valuable guide, 3 Dec. 2009
By 
B. J. Glover - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits (Paperback)
Really enjoying this - a well-written book, packed with valuable insights on mixing and production from the pros.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits
Behind the Glass: Top Record Producers Tell How They Craft the Hits by Howard Massey (Paperback - 28 Sept. 2000)
£16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews