Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


102 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Calm and Reasoned Response
Dealing with a child who seems to be constantly pushing the barriers is an exhausting way to live, and Dr Riley's book has been of immense use in trying to calm the entire family situation down. Using accessible language and calm, measured tones, Dr Riley takes the frustrated parent step by step through processes designed to not only initially quieten a situation, but...
Published on 2 Feb 2003 by Mrs. Sba Francis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book suggests a very authoritarian approach, which does not work.
This book appears to talk about the parents' authority and the need to establish yourself as the higher power. I believe the techniques merely serve to exacerbate the problem rather than offer a solution. The language is very aggressive and dogmatic.
Published on 19 April 2011 by millnted


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

102 of 102 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Calm and Reasoned Response, 2 Feb 2003
By 
Mrs. Sba Francis (Carmarthen, Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
Dealing with a child who seems to be constantly pushing the barriers is an exhausting way to live, and Dr Riley's book has been of immense use in trying to calm the entire family situation down. Using accessible language and calm, measured tones, Dr Riley takes the frustrated parent step by step through processes designed to not only initially quieten a situation, but deal with the issues in the long run.
Don't be put off buying the book if you feel that your child is not an ODD kid; many of the measures are firm and reasonable enough to deal with kids who are excessive in their behaviour, without maybe being oppositional. The layout of the book is such that a parent can choose the methods that seem most suited to the child and the behaviour.
We were most impressed with the book's no-nonsense approach to child rearing. Too many books seem to take a wishy-washy approach to children who drive the parents mad, somehow attaching the blame to the parents. Dr Riley asks you to look at the family situation, but also points out that many children are just oppositional, it's a part of their nature, and blame is not to be attached. Instead, he offers practical ideas on how to deal with the situation you are in.
I would recommend this book not just to parents, but to teachers of defiant children as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This book is an excellent primer on ODD and its treatment., 22 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
Dr. Riley's book provides a good overview of the and range of behaviors exhibited by the ODD teenager. There is not much written on this disorder and even less about teenagers with ODD. I now have a better understanding about why my son behaves the way he does and some ideas as to what I can do to change his behavior before it is too late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring parential guide for families in turmoil, 23 May 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
This is an excellent book of strategies to help ODD children learn acceptable behavior. The book is well written without professional jargon. The author explains successful methods of behavior modification by example of his clients. Suggested for use in addition to professional council.
I regret I didn't know about this book a year ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Full of new idea's and practice's to put into place!, 10 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
I was skeptical when I ordered this book and didn't believe it would really be much help. How wrong was I.....
This book has given me yet more insight into how to deal with this behavior, as well as an understanding of the child's thought process's. This book is great for any child that is defiant!
I would say this book is a must read for all parents, even if your own children are well behaved........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent guide to understanding & dealing with ODD., 21 Nov 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
Dr. Riley's insights and suggestions offered me hope and help when nothing seemed to be working in dealing with a teen who clearly needed limits. Along the wonderful help of our family counselor, this book has made a real difference in helping us to regain control of our own home. Highly recommended to anyone whose child is constantly pushing limits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Defiant Child, 23 Nov 2009
By 
T. Conyers (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
My husband and I have found this book really helpful in attempting to understand and deal with the defiant behaviour of our eight year old son. Although I'd say it's aimed more at teenage behaviour, it's an easy and informative read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars this is possibly the most useful book I have ever read!!!, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am the parent of a 14 year old son with Asperger's syndrome and oppositional defiance disorder. I was feeling utterly beaten and completely out of ideas of how to manage my son, and bought this book out of sheer desperation.
It is crammed full of real life stories and advice on strategies to help understand the oppositional child, and deal with their behaviour in a positive and powerful manner. The author is clearly very experienced in his field and has step-by-step guidance on techniques he has used successfully on a number of children which can be put in place by any parent sufficiently motivated to try them.
When you don't know where else to turn, and are considering putting your child up for adoption, read this book instead!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This book suggests a very authoritarian approach, which does not work., 19 April 2011
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
This book appears to talk about the parents' authority and the need to establish yourself as the higher power. I believe the techniques merely serve to exacerbate the problem rather than offer a solution. The language is very aggressive and dogmatic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars helps a lot, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book helps a lot when looking for some answers that doctor do not explain or tell you what to expect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Some helpful tips in this book, 21 Nov 2013
By 
N. BOULT (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder (Paperback)
Quite good tips and we weren't disappointed with this book. We preferred another book called 10 days to a less defiant child as they had more practical advice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Defiant Child: A Parent's Guide to Oppositional Defiant Disorder
£9.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews