Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five- star thriller
This is the first McBain novel I've read, and it certainly won't be the last. That I hadn't previously met the 87th precinct gang didn't matter in the least (I had wondered whether it might) and the narrative moves along rapidly, gripping this reader right from the start.

A dead girl is found hanging from a lamppost; there's a vicious serial rapist of a most...
Published 5 months ago by Frances Stott

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but too graphic.
I am a fan of Ed McBain detective novels, and this one was good as a detective novel. However I found the descriptions of the attacks on young women unpleasant and a bit too graphic.
Published 17 months ago by Mr Hugh D McBride


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A five- star thriller, 17 Dec. 2014
By 
Frances Stott (Devizes, Wiltshire) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the first McBain novel I've read, and it certainly won't be the last. That I hadn't previously met the 87th precinct gang didn't matter in the least (I had wondered whether it might) and the narrative moves along rapidly, gripping this reader right from the start.

A dead girl is found hanging from a lamppost; there's a vicious serial rapist of a most unusual kind at large. The police have their work cut out for them, and they get stuck in at once. The narrative moves along fast, and never loses momentum, and I was swept along with it, hardly putting the novel down until I'd finished it. This book isn't great literature, and it doesn't pretend to be. It's just a thumping good read, well-written, with a nice touch of humour and believable characters. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another good one from Ed Mcbain with all the usual characters and good mysteries, I've read all his books on the 87th, Its just a pity that there will be no more 87th precinct stories. R.I.P. Ed Mcbain(Evan Hunter)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 17 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I wish i had discovered Ed McBain years ago. He is a great storyteller and can weave a plot like no one esle, and the jokes are very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great !, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Love Ed Mcbain books as they never let you down! Gripping ! And very easy reading which all books should be!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lightening, 2 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you like Ed Mcbain then you will enjoy this I am begining to find his books a bit samey
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK, but too graphic., 29 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am a fan of Ed McBain detective novels, and this one was good as a detective novel. However I found the descriptions of the attacks on young women unpleasant and a bit too graphic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Info overload, 31 Mar. 2014
Good storylines with some good characters. Just felt some background info was far too much and in danger of losing the thread so skipped odd half pages
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 16 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really take to the 87th precinct series. total involvement with the cast of characters. the writing is pretty unique too. love them all
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ED McBain, 12 May 2013
By 
Denis Clayton (HAYWARDS HEATH, W Sussex, GB) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Super author super book ,just love these eighty seven precinct novels. Great author Great Book Great story with great charactors
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars mr5512, 11 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A classic tale of a week at the 87th Precinct, a psychopath and a rapist on the loose that need to be caught urgently. Diligent police work secures the apprehension of both. Not as suspenseful as other novels in the series and the little twist at the end did not serve to redeem the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lightning: An 87th Precinct Novel
Lightning: An 87th Precinct Novel by Ed McBain (Hardcover - Aug. 1984)
Used & New from: £1.29
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews