Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formazione.
My attention was drawn to the 'Webster's Collegiate Dictionary' by a film I saw recently staring Jennifer Aniston. Her character in the film showed a similar interest for unusual words to my own and her reference was in fact an older edition of this. Funnily enough, this edition does not include one of the words featured in the film (that she took from her edition) but it...
Published on 10 Oct 2011 by kenni

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WEBSTER DICTIONARY
At the outset I was unhappy with the condition in which arrived and I raised ths point to Amazon and the seller. It was defaced at the edges (dog eared fact). The discount was good gesture.

As the contents of the dictionary I found higly effective in explaining new terms and words to me especially for north American usage. But it tends to assume that the...
Published 21 months ago by TKIZITO


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Formazione., 10 Oct 2011
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
My attention was drawn to the 'Webster's Collegiate Dictionary' by a film I saw recently staring Jennifer Aniston. Her character in the film showed a similar interest for unusual words to my own and her reference was in fact an older edition of this. Funnily enough, this edition does not include one of the words featured in the film (that she took from her edition) but it has a lot of others to make up for it!!!! I am pleased to have it in my collection of dictionaries for it's extensive range of English or American-English words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paper or online?, 26 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
Through purchase of this dictionary, I was given a free online subscription to various areas of MW's online service. However, it is not necessary to pay to use their site for normal everyday purposes. This is THE reference for copyeditors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic, 26 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
Classic Dictionary for American English - what's not to like. I particularly like the fact that it has British words and spellings of words and their meanings - not all British words 'translate' in quite the way you would expect to American English - so a great guide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great dictorinary for college students, 5 Oct 2010
By 
Oscar Cassetti "oscar.getstring" (Dublin Ireland IE) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
First of all this is an English-American dictionary. If you are looking for UK-English dictionary you should consider other alternatives. This dictionary is extremely well done. It includes loads of example an references. For almost each word there is one or more sentences to explain the use of the word. Similar words to the one searched are also listed. It's great for college students who need to write reports and thesis. Although nowadays you can use many on line dictionaries the paper version of this one is much handier because of the number and the quality of examples.
I'd really suggest you this dictionary if you are writing technical documents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars THE WEBSTER DICTIONARY, 18 Mar 2013
By 
TKIZITO - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
At the outset I was unhappy with the condition in which arrived and I raised ths point to Amazon and the seller. It was defaced at the edges (dog eared fact). The discount was good gesture.

As the contents of the dictionary I found higly effective in explaining new terms and words to me especially for north American usage. But it tends to assume that the user is clever and well versed in language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 11th collegiate dictionary, 3 Sep 2009
By 
T. Davies "terryd" (portsmouth uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated)) (Hardcover)
Information contents excellent, but finished quality of the internal pages very poor, would have sent it back but needed it at once, the pges were not cut correcttly causing rinkling of some pages, extra paper on some adges. It looked as if there had been no quality control o the finished product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

11th Collegiate Dictionary (Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary (Laminated))
£15.62
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews