Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US version
Any prospective buyers need to know that this pertains to the game in the USA
Published on 22 Jun 2009 by J. MCCOOL

versus
42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots Missing
This dictionary is incomplete and is not a suitable work for even a moderately serious player. Most disappointing.
Published on 6 Jun 2006 by J. E. Meyer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

42 of 43 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Lots Missing, 6 Jun 2006
By 
J. E. Meyer (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This dictionary is incomplete and is not a suitable work for even a moderately serious player. Most disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars US version, 22 Jun 2009
By 
J. MCCOOL (BALLYMENA, N. IRELAND United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Any prospective buyers need to know that this pertains to the game in the USA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Official scrabble dictionary, 25 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was a bit disappointed with this. Although it is full of useful words the printing and layout I find not to be as clear or large as I would like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Happy customer, 1 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am new to scabble and hoping to start a scrabble club in the future. I have found this dictionary easy to use and learning new words every day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Large print scrabble dictionary, 26 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary (Paperback)
Got this for my mother and she liked it so much she got me to order 4 more for her friends. Perfect for the more seasoned scrabbler !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great reference, 22 July 2009
By 
Mr. R. S. J. Butler (Canterybury, Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A great reference for the avid scrabble player. Each word has it's suffix varieties, (eg FIX, 'ES, 'ING, 'ED) then a brief explanation for confirm the meaning of the word.

My only drawback is that, with this book being American, there are words that us English speakers wouldn't use. for example "ET - The past tense of eat". Obviously in English we use ATE, with ET being used as a colloquialism.

But that being said with an Englilsh Dictionary as a second reference to answer the questionable Americanisms, this is a quick and easy reference to be used.

I bought my copy from a US seller through Amazon for about 1. Bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very good - very useful, 19 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It's got words in it - some in bold - some not. We are avid long standing customers of the book suppository and this is right up our alley.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Scrabble dictionary, 1 Jan 2012
By 
Mrs. C. Mcloughlin (Essex U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A very good book. A great help to settle disputes when playing scrabble. Also a good source of very obscure words.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary
The Official Scrabble Players Dictionary by Merriam-Webster (Paperback - Oct 2005)
17.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews