Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.6 out of 5 stars11
3.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 March 2001
By far the best translation of any work on the I Ching; Cleary's work is concise thorough and complete: I recommend getting the full size Shambhala publication of this work "Taoist I Ching" or "Buddhist I Ching" also both by Cleary, for a little more cost but a very worthy investment.
0Comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2011
What a great little book; it's so convenient for keeping in pocket or handbag for on-the-spot consultations and, though small, is easily readable. A well-organised text with simple-to-understand instructions for making the most of the contents and immediately accessible for readers new to the I Ching. And a great present.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I bought the book as it was pocket sized. It proved a waste of money. Some of Cleary's other I Ching books have a good reputation, but that doesn't apply to this example. The text is the I Ching but with the Confucian commentaries added. These more or less replicate the text and are irrelevant and tiresome. At the end he gives a list of the hexagrams and their "correlate" and "complement" hexagrams but he fails to explain how to use this information. I have read many I Ching books and this is definitely one of the worst!

A really good pocket sized version is Peter Crisp's, "the little book of Changes"
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 August 2015
When it says pocket classics, it actually means that fits into your T-shirt/Polo chest pocket. Book is what I wanted just really annoying to read from a book smaller than your hand palm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 February 2015
A good book and I am enjoying it thought it was much bigger but its good. Would def recommend.postage and packing great.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2015
Excellent book, full of enlightenment and wonder, i truly recommend to anyone searching for something more...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Pocket sized. Cool
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
I have read it three times and feel that I can keep doing it again and again during next year.
JA
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2014
Excellent seller to deal with. Quality product supplied. Would highly recommend
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
This book was recommended to me as I wanted to further my knowledge in this area. I was a little disappointed when it arrived, although I really didn't know what to expect but I did think it would be a standard sized book and not a 3" x "2 mini-book. The contents are also "mini".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse