Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like The Interpretation of Fairy Stories AND DREAMS
This is a superb book crammed full of insights on the psychology behind fairy tales but don't buy it if you are looking for sociological commentary or feminist critique. As you might expect, given her background, the author leaves that for others to explore. In fact this book is as much about individuation and the interpretation of dreams as fairy stories. If your...
Published on 1 Jan 2010 by M. Lawton

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mission impossible
Oh Dear. I thought I was buying a book that would mention our most famous fairytales and 'unpick' some meaning for me. It's just too difficult to comprehend the technical words around Jungian theory and the book hasn't yet mentioned a fairytale I've heard of. Right enough I'm only 1/2 way through. Fear I won't make it safely to the end as I have little idea of what the...
Published on 29 Dec 2011 by K. Maciver


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More like The Interpretation of Fairy Stories AND DREAMS, 1 Jan 2010
By 
M. Lawton (TWells, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
This is a superb book crammed full of insights on the psychology behind fairy tales but don't buy it if you are looking for sociological commentary or feminist critique. As you might expect, given her background, the author leaves that for others to explore. In fact this book is as much about individuation and the interpretation of dreams as fairy stories. If your interests lie with core Jungian topics you won't be disappointed with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars (Re)Learning a neighbouring language, 13 Sep 2010
By 
Hypercube (Mallorca, Spain) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
A superb book with really witty, detailed and profound observations. It basically tries to make the reader get in touch with the language unconscious mind and dreams speak (according to Jung).

It really shifted my opinion and understanding of a subject I thought was good for kids only, hence 5 stars for such a cleverly written book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars really interesting, 9 May 2010
By 
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
This is really cool- I've been trying to interpret fairy tales and my own dreams for a while now and this book shed a lot of light on the process. She interprets fairytale with themes concerning the shadow, the anima, the animus, etc- it's relevant for both women and men. If you're interested in Jungian psychology and fairy tales, it's must-read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic author, 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
An excelent delivery service, a very professional team, a very easy-to-do website that provides every subject a PhD student is looking for - Thank you so much for being available 24/7
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A dreamy book, 27 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Excellent as a serious study of Fairy takes. Bought for our granddaughter who assures us it is good for her studies for A levelx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars mission impossible, 29 Dec 2011
By 
K. Maciver - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Interpretation of Fairy Tales (Paperback)
Oh Dear. I thought I was buying a book that would mention our most famous fairytales and 'unpick' some meaning for me. It's just too difficult to comprehend the technical words around Jungian theory and the book hasn't yet mentioned a fairytale I've heard of. Right enough I'm only 1/2 way through. Fear I won't make it safely to the end as I have little idea of what the author is talking about. Sorry. I should have done the research before I bought the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Interpretation of Fairy Tales
The Interpretation of Fairy Tales by Marie-Louise Von Franz (Paperback - 1 Sep 1996)
£13.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews