Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an attractive gift... almost perfect!
The Crowley Thoth Tarot deck included in this gift set is without doubt fascinating and beautiful. The plastic box of the gift set is very nice and the book is easy to read for beginners. However, the cards are simply put in the plastic box without a usual small paper box. This makes it very inconvenient when you want to carry your cards with you --- you have to carry...
Published on 1 Feb. 1999

versus
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the Thoth Tarot as a Counselling Tool
It's really important to understand that this book is one of a large movement centred around using the Tarot from a counselling/Jungian point of view, rather than as a magical/divination tool. The card definitions in the books are unrelentingly positive and based entirely on the querant's psychological state and perceptions.

Don't get me wrong -- it's good as a...
Published on 13 Jan. 2009 by Bookseller


Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars an attractive gift... almost perfect!, 1 Feb. 1999
By A Customer
The Crowley Thoth Tarot deck included in this gift set is without doubt fascinating and beautiful. The plastic box of the gift set is very nice and the book is easy to read for beginners. However, the cards are simply put in the plastic box without a usual small paper box. This makes it very inconvenient when you want to carry your cards with you --- you have to carry the whole plastic box, which is very large! Also, in order to use the Thoth deck, the book by Ziegler included in this gift set is not enough at all. "The Crowley Tarot: The Handbook to the Cards" by Akron and Banzhaf has more detailed explanation of the cards.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars This is the Thoth Tarot as a Counselling Tool, 13 Jan. 2009
By 
This review is from: Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot (Paperback)
It's really important to understand that this book is one of a large movement centred around using the Tarot from a counselling/Jungian point of view, rather than as a magical/divination tool. The card definitions in the books are unrelentingly positive and based entirely on the querant's psychological state and perceptions.

Don't get me wrong -- it's good as a book of counselling tools, and it doesn't pretend at any point to be anything different to what it is. Most of the spreads are presented as techniques for guiding the patient through the session and the card definitions all have suggestions for what the counsellor and patient can do together as activities to develop on what they have seen in the cards.

If you want to use the Thoth Tarot for magical or proper divinatory purposes this book really won't be much use. Some of the definitions develop interestingly on the uniquely Crowleyan perspective presented by the deck, but in general it really blunts the card definitions down, limits them by applying them only to the inner psychological state and drowns them under bland syrupy homilies to stop people topping themselves when they draw The Tower.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Straightforward Tarot Interpretation, 19 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot (Paperback)
This book offers a straightforward interpretation to the tarot which I found helpful. It isn't a huge book but what it does contain is practical and direct. I especially like the layout styles in the back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful handbook for daily use., 8 Mar. 2011
By 
This review is from: Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot (Paperback)
For those new to the Thoth Tarot this is an excellent way to start as it is able to shed light on Crowleys own book which is deliberately aimed at more experienced practitioners. The author has kept his writing short and focused on the symbolism of the cards and their practical meaning rather than the deeper ideas behind them. It's a handy practical guide to doing readings so its great for daily use. Each entry has a short postcript offering questions and directions for each card. A very good general guide for the beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!!!, 24 April 2007
By 
katseyes (York, North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I have two other sets of tarot cards, and have never been able to do a lot with them. These ones are totally different.

I was initially a bit reticent about getting these, mainly due to Crowley's reputation, but there's nothing threatening or malevolent about this deck. Visually stunning, the artwork is beautiful and intricate, which is the thing that attracted me to them in the first place.

However, once you hold them in your hands, they're a very powerful deck, and very easy to connect with.

The plastic video case type box is a bit cumbersome, but I keep my tarot cards in a cloth bag anyway, so that doesn't really matter.

The book contained in the set is certainly enough for a beginner, but I can appreciate that the separate handbook may be helpful once you're used to them.

An amazing and colourful set, and certainly not naive like a lot of tarot decks currently on the market.

Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars For me it's the best of all Tarots, 12 Jan. 2015
By 
F. von Wendland (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For me it's the best of all Tarots. I, my family and friends had it since the eighties in German. Now I gave the English version on request as a Christmas present to my son and his girlfriend. The cards are very spiritual and allow, like good art, several meanings for the person asking the questions. Moreover, the accompanying book is as well very spiritual and well written with the same intention to let the persons asking about their life or a problem find the right answer for themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy, 9 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot (Paperback)
You need to buy this book if you purchase the Crowley tarot cards as the booklet that you get with the cards on their own isn't that detailed. This book gives you a far better understanding of the Crowley cards. Thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfect for understanding readings, 29 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot (Paperback)
i was recommended this book by my Tarot teacher to help me understand the meanings behind each individual Thoth Tarot card. I bought it and since then would not be without it! It is clear, deep yet concise and very interesting. Well worth investing in, especially for the Tarot beginner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tarot: Mirror of the Soul: Handbook for the Aleister Crowley Tarot
Used & New from: £5.38
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews