Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Paul Reps translation of Zen Koans, there was Crowley
This is a series of quirky, epigrammatic sayings/poems/stories. To really understand all the little puns and nuances requires an understanding of western qabbala and of Crowley's own highly idiosyncratic occult theories. To really enjoy the book, however, all one needs is that enignma, Common Sense, as rare as it is common.
In short it is a book that speaks to the...
Published on 21 July 1999

versus
9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It goes beyond 'Heavy going' to 'extreamly difficult slog'.
Although i enjoy expanding my knowledge, and this book was recommended to me by someone who's opinion i respect, i have to say that it's certainly not an easy read. the chapters are often small (a number being a couple of lines or even words), however, these few words are very symbolic, often to the point of being enigmatic. The original text is accompanied by a...
Published on 26 Oct 2009 by Mr. Dan M. Littlewood


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

48 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Before Paul Reps translation of Zen Koans, there was Crowley, 21 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
This is a series of quirky, epigrammatic sayings/poems/stories. To really understand all the little puns and nuances requires an understanding of western qabbala and of Crowley's own highly idiosyncratic occult theories. To really enjoy the book, however, all one needs is that enignma, Common Sense, as rare as it is common.
In short it is a book that speaks to the intuitive side of our nature, while leaving puzzles galore to occupy our intellectual side.
Perhaps one of Crowley's best (if you assume Liber Al was dictated, not written).
M
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Lies, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
This was the first Crowley book I've read (if you're new to his work, I'd advise reading the Book of Law first) and really enjoyed it. It is a book to interpret personally, some ideas not everyone will agree with, I know I didn't. It's very subjective, and without previous reading in this genre, some references might seem a bit obscure. I think it's a great one to come back to now and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars would recommend, 29 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
If you love books steeped in esoteric references you will love this. I have found it complemntary to the thoth tarot, and good in its own right.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 23 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
THE BOOK OF LIES, WHICH IS ALSO FALSELY CALLED BREAKS, THE WANDERINGS OR FALSIFICATION OF THE THOUGHT OF FRATER PERDURABO WHICH THOUGHT ITSELF IS UNTRUE... Within the 93 "chapters" of this enigmatic little book lie the deepest and most profound "truths". Ranging from a single symbol to nearly two pages in length, the subject of each chapter/poem is determined by the Qabalistic significance of its number. The often outrageous and entertaining commentaries accompanying each chapter explain just enough, but not too much, to assist the reader in their own Qabalistic understanding of these words and numbers. Concerning this wonderful collection of gems, Crowley himself writes: "At first sight the book is a jumble of nonsense intended to insult the reader. It requires infinite study, sympathy, intuition and initiation. Given these, I do not hesitate to claim that in none other of my writings have I given so profound and comprehensive an exposition of my philosophy on every plane..." Need we say more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Lies - A Review by Barry Van-Asten, 22 May 2012
By 
Mr. B. P. Van-asten (London, England.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
First published in 1913, `The Book of Lies which is also falsely called Breaks the wanderings or falsifications of the one thought of Frater Perdurabo (Crowley) which thought is itself untrue', is a collection of paradoxes and aphorisms, consisting of ninety-three chapters of various lengths, concerning the Qabalistic signifigance of each number. For example, chapter 36 `The Star Sapphire' gives a revised and `perfect' ritual of the Hexagram, 36 being the square of 6; and chapter 77 refers to Laylah, whose numerical value in Hebrew is 77, and so on. Each chapter has a commentary to help understand the veiled symbolism and obscure allusions behind each numerical interpretation. There are puns, play upon words revealing secret `esoteric' knowledge; double and even triple meanings connected in combinations that will outrage, baffle and thoroughly perplex the reader beyond belief, but all of a sudden, through diligent work and understanding, its subtle beauty is revealed! Remarkable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Book of Lies... falsely so-called!, 12 Mar 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
In this little book, Aleister Crowley pours the entire opus of his thoughts and teachings. This is not to say that it is an "easy" book to grasp, for each "chapter" or poem is an enigma wrapped in a riddle obscured by a mental kick to the head. This is a *must* read for anyone who wishes to follow the path of Thelema, and of Magick in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book of Lies, 31 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
This is one of the best A.Crowley Magick Books
it is not so deficult to understand . It's a must to Thelema thinking
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars It goes beyond 'Heavy going' to 'extreamly difficult slog'., 26 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
Although i enjoy expanding my knowledge, and this book was recommended to me by someone who's opinion i respect, i have to say that it's certainly not an easy read. the chapters are often small (a number being a couple of lines or even words), however, these few words are very symbolic, often to the point of being enigmatic. The original text is accompanied by a desciption of the meaning, which i found incoherent and often useless to me. i'm sure that if you enjoy reading something that is all the things i've described, or even like a challenge, this book will work for you, but for me, it's obvious why this kind of material is not part of the mainstream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Less than expected, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Lies (Paperback)
Well, its a really random book. Nothing like what I expected. It has just small paragraphs full of lines that you cant really understand like small obscure poems, and then a large paragraph to explain the words of these small "poems" what this and what that mean etc..... No practice and nothing to learn really, cos the "explanations" are mostly about the symbols that the author likes to use not universal symbols and values.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 2 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of Lies (Paperback)
brilliant read love reading Crowley's work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book of Lies
Book of Lies by Aleister Crowley (Paperback - 1 Dec 1980)
£13.29
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews