Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible of Crowleyanity.
This is the infamous book which was dictated to Aleister Crowley by the Praetor-Human entity, Aiwass, in Cairo in April 1904, revealing the coming of the New Aeon of Horus, with Aleister as its Prophet. One of its main messages, "Do What Thou Wilt Shall Be The Whole Of The Law", must rank as the most misunderstood, misappropriated and misinterpreted dictums in the history...
Published on 23 Mar. 2012 by Barry Mac

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars LIBER AL VEL LEGIS
Well, with no disrespect to the many thelemites,the book of the law is often confusing in it's content,and at times it is quite contradictory. Despite this, there are many passages which do have genuine esoteric value,given that the reader has a grasp of egyptology,gematria,numerology,and occult symbolism in general. It is an age, but not the new one that is...
Published on 10 Jan. 1999


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic imagery and prose., 15 Jun. 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
While I find this work to be great reading due to it's fantastic imagery, I find it to be just that and nothing more.
As a former Thelemite, I realize that Liber Al(Book of the Law) is considered to be a holy book in the same way that Christians regard the Bible. I don't mean to step on toes, but the story that Liber Al was dictated to Crowley by his holy guardian angel 'Aiwass' over a 3 day period is completely unbelieveable, and makes for an interesting story at best. No, for me, Liber Al is merely good reading for those who enjoy their entertainment real horrorshow in both theme and humor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clever Crowley.., 26 Oct. 2013
I'm sure that if Crowley could read some of the reviews on here...he would laugh and laugh! Language within language...the ancient teachings of All are hidden within...beyond beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
perfect
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Perfect edition, 11 Mar. 2004
By A Customer
This is a very good edition of the Book of the Law. It gives a compact description of Thelema and it's principles. This is absolutely a must have for anybody who sees the importance of this law of liberty. This is, I think, the most beautiful copy of the Book of the Law I have seen in years, and all for a very reasonable price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book Of Law, 18 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
A great Crowley book. Ideal if you're just getting into Occult writing, it expresses some interesting ideas and allows for a lot of interpretation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paper shattering the fetters of humanity., 28 Jun. 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law. 93! What else can be said about this Book. It contains the single Law that can allow every man, woman, and child to achieve their True Will. The book of the ages, or at least the Third Aeon. I've been in awe of Crowley (his Magickal and spiritual works; his personal habits and predjudices are repellent) since my first reading of this book about a year and a half ago. FANTASTIC! Love is the Law, Love under Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not a good book, Extremely hard to understand and figure out ..., 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
not a good book, Extremely hard to understand and figure out his notes, which take up most of the book! :(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Nonsense, 19 April 2012
By 
I thought this was utter nonsense (it's not really worthy of a review).
Unless this was written as a joke, the author seems to me to be an immature, childish, idiot trying to write something that flys in the face, more or less, to the message the bible has.
Ofcourse pretentious idiots that can't think for themselves will probably try and tell me I just didn't understand it or even don't have the intelligence to understand it. And they may be right about the first part, I don't think I did totally understand what it said as it is written in ye olde English (when the book was written in 1904). I think i'm reasonably intelligent, English is my first language and I did quite well with English at school, so if I can't understand it, then my guess is a hell of alot of people might have the same problem. The bible is an extremely old book - hence when it was translated in the 17th centuary it was translated into the language of the time in England, e.g ye olde English. This book was was written in 1904, why coundn't he have written it in the language of that time? He was pretentious thats why, and very immature. No doubt rebelling against his strict Quaker upbringing where his family never celebrated Christmas - thats why there is all this talk of feasts, thats if he is being literal - but again, if you want people to understand the message in your book, make your meaning clearer, same goes for the bible (though it has years of being translated into different languages, being repeatedly hand copied and being many centuaries old as an excuse to a degree).

On the plus side it's a short book so perhaps you won't feel too cheated out of your precious time by reading it. I didn't like it though - if you told me it was written by a geeky 13 year old i'd have believed you . . . ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 16 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
"The devil on the doorstep by annabelle forest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The new Aeon is here., 27 Dec. 1997
By A Customer
This review is from: Book of the Law (Paperback)
This is a profound document received by the prophet, Aleister Crowley, in 1904. It tells of the new Aeon of Horus and His Law, which is: "Do what thou wilt shall be the whole of the Law." "Love is the Law, love under will." "There is no law beyond Do what thou wilt." It is a true guide to discovering Light, Life, Love, and Liberty. Within its pages holds the keys to philosophy, government, and individual enlightenment. Its mysteries are to be sought only by the individual, with the writings of the Master Therion as a possible guide. "Every man and every woman is a star."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Book of the Law
Book of the Law by "Aiwass" (Paperback - 1 Jun. 1977)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews