Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent
A clear and concise book explaining the root principles of magic in everyday terms. Filled with fascinating philosophies it was one of Regardies favourite works (and one of the first I read). Now reprinted it is an excellent source for both beginner and experienced magician alike. This is not a book containing set out rituals, but rather as its title suggests, a study...
Published on 16 Mar 1999

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation .......
Reading this book, I was waiting for the indepth analysis of the tree of life and the different sephiroth etc. It didn't come .....! The book is a great study of magic traditions, but for me it didn't fulfil on the tree of life
Published 13 months ago by Mrs. Margaret Walton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

40 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 16 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tree of Life: Study in Magic (Paperback)
A clear and concise book explaining the root principles of magic in everyday terms. Filled with fascinating philosophies it was one of Regardies favourite works (and one of the first I read). Now reprinted it is an excellent source for both beginner and experienced magician alike. This is not a book containing set out rituals, but rather as its title suggests, a study in magic. It incorporates many systems and discusses them well. Subjects include yoga, qaballah, egyptian magic, the astral light, Divinity, training of the magician, the will, invocation and many more. A must for every occult library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a gem, 25 May 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Tree of Life: Study in Magic (Paperback)
I have shelves groaning under the weight of erudite tomes on magick and psychology - Crowley, Jung et al. - but this book really is superb in every way. I can't explain why I never read Regardie before - I guess I thought he was just Crowley's poodle. How wrong can a fool be. No more words - just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A part of a journey, 1 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
For the serious student this book is more than just a leasurely read. This is not just bedtime reading. This is part of a journey. I bought it with the aim to study the Tree of Life. It is the elements of a new life! I have not looked back!

I did not just buy it to read it but to study it. Expect to have your horizons broadened and your old wineskins changed! It is powerful and transforming.

Thank you for your hard work.

Len

[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent overview, 5 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tree of Life: Study in Magic (Paperback)
Not only does this book give a broad coverage of all things 'magickal' it also provides clear intelligible explanation of all these aspects in a manner which will facilitate their practical usage and a real and steadily progressive development.
The one partial exception here is the moderately veiled chapter on alchemy. Yet even here he offers the keys.
Though an old book, by modern standards, this will be an excellent addition to any occult library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regardie's book is invalueable to the student of the occult., 20 July 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tree of Life: Study in Magic (Paperback)
Regardie's Tree of Life is invalueable to the student of both Qabalah and magic, introducing us to the methods employed by Aleister Crowley, the Golden Dawn and the Goetia. Regardie has extensively studied rituals of the Ancient Egyptians and Greeks and outlines simple formulas for performing the most complex rituals founded upon ancient knowledge. Also outlines the Augoeides working.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A customer, 29 Jun 2010
An excellent book to have as a guide to understanding metaphysical concepts in more depth. It is clear and concise and should be used as a study book and I would recommend that it be read / studied in conjunction with Dion Fortune's book - The Circuit of Fortune.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Regardie's Tree of Life well-laden and fruitful., 19 April 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: The Tree of Life: Study in Magic (Paperback)
A book that does not seem to be among the first-mentioned classics of the genre, and I cannot imagine why. Syncretic presentations of magical philosophy and practice are numerous, borrowing from sources such as this, but this book has the unmistakably organic flow and seamlessness of form and substance that mark a deeply considered and eloquent utterance with the ring of mastery. Not a book in quite the modern style or tone, but in a literate, though unostentatious idiom, that does justice to the matter, and serves as an admirable introduction to the Art for such as would as soon not be spoon-fed with more or less predigested material. As an introduction to this subject likely ought to, it leans rather more to the theoretical and expository than to the practical, but makes the point as well and convincingly as I have ever seen that in this endeavor, "practical" exercise undertaken without a deeper understanding of its meaning, is of limited value. And certainly the book is not all as forbidding as the above might suggest, but a well-flowing and engaging volume. Very recommended to whoever welcomes an intellectually and spiritually rewarding challenge.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must for any serious student, 22 Oct 2003
Isreal Regardies master work on the tree of life. It does not suffer from the addition of new material from his students either. A must have for anyone who is serious about studting the tree of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Anticipation ......., 11 Nov 2013
By 
Mrs. Margaret Walton (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Reading this book, I was waiting for the indepth analysis of the tree of life and the different sephiroth etc. It didn't come .....! The book is a great study of magic traditions, but for me it didn't fulfil on the tree of life
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Going Deep!, 8 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A great book covering many of the different aspects of magick. Difficult to understand in places as uses archaic language and lots of unfamiliar terms. This is not a book for the fainthearted, but with perseverance a treasure trove of information that will be indispensable to anyone's spiritual journey and provides a solid intellectual foundation for much of the field... It really helps you understand the metaphysics and theory of Magick. I bought this as a first dip into this world and was not put off, but a bit confused at times. I would recommend reading this in conjunction with a more practical book such as Kraig
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Tree of Life: Study in Magic
The Tree of Life: Study in Magic by Israel Regardie (Paperback - 1 Dec 1972)
£15.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews