Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK YOU WILL IRONICALLY WANT TO READ... ALONE !
wHEN i LOOK AT THIS BOOK'S TITLE IT MADE ME WANT TO TURN THE PAGES ... I COULDNT AT FIRST UNTIL IT WAS DELIVERED AND THEN IT WAS AND I DID .. WOW CHARLES BUKOWSKI YOU TURNY PAGE GENIUS !
Published 7 months ago by Winko !

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I'd expected
I bought this book, as my friend recommended Charles Bukowski. Some poems I didn't enjoy and some were amazing. It's definitely worth buying :)
Published 7 months ago by Emma Baczkowski


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A BOOK YOU WILL IRONICALLY WANT TO READ... ALONE !, 29 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
wHEN i LOOK AT THIS BOOK'S TITLE IT MADE ME WANT TO TURN THE PAGES ... I COULDNT AT FIRST UNTIL IT WAS DELIVERED AND THEN IT WAS AND I DID .. WOW CHARLES BUKOWSKI YOU TURNY PAGE GENIUS !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charles Bukowski - You Get So Alone At Times That it Just Makes Sense | Review, 5 Sep 2013
By 
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
What we've got here is another excellent collection of Charles Bukowski's poetry, first published in 1986. As always, Bukowski's work is autobiographical and inspired by his experiences at the races and at the bars and whorehouses that he frequented.

In fact, his love of the horses was so extreme that this collection is dedicated to Jeff Copland, a racing addict who's been, among other things, a trainer, an agent and a gambler - Bukowski met him at the races, and remained friends with him until the great poet's death in 1994.

Bukowski's poetry has always been more formidable than his prose, and while this isn't necessarily his greatest collection, it's as good a place as any to start. Trust me, after you've read a dozen of his poems, you'll already be in love with his words - that's a good thing, it's like the beginning of a lifelong friendship.

Let's take a look at some of his poetry - 'Red Mercedes' for example. It gives us a fantastic insight in to the poet's mindset, and it's a poem that we can all relate to: "Naturally, we are all caught in downmoods, it's a matter of chemical imbalance and an existence which, at times, seems to forbid any real chance at happiness."

At other times, we get a glimpse of the great poet's addiction to classical music - perhaps the least damaging of his many vices. '1813-1883', for example, is the period during which Richard Wagner lived and composed his music, and the poem explains how Bukowski is "listening to Wagner, as outside in the dark the wind blows a cold rain."

Do yourself a favour and read some of Bukowski's work. For me?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars poetry for the average Joe, 12 April 2009
By 
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
The Most Beautiful Woman in Townif you have read any of his books,this collection of poems does not fail to impress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite, 31 May 2013
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
Not gonna write an in depth review. Just want to say that this is my favourite of Bukowski's poetry. Probably because I can relate to a lot of it. Pretty crap way of reviewing a book I guess but there it is.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars we have lost the great voice of the latter 20th century, 16 Dec 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
Charles Bukowski, in this and other fine works, remains a stalwart voice in literary circles. His down to earth styles and musings of the everyman convey beauty through desolation, hope through nothingness, and love through lonliness. I highly recommend this, as well as his novels. He is greatly missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars beautiful, 3 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
i love this book. i adore the poetry and the achingly real life interpretation. read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book review, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
This is one of the best book ever. it makes you see life in different ways. Ways this I didn't think were possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars .., 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
Love this purchase as I am a big fan of Charles bukowski look forward to buying more of his books from here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bukowski the genius, 4 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
what an inspirational book from an alcoholic who quite literally captures your mind in his blunt use of poetry in an artistic form of excellence. very inspirational
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wasn't what I'd expected, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Get So Alone at Times (Paperback)
I bought this book, as my friend recommended Charles Bukowski. Some poems I didn't enjoy and some were amazing. It's definitely worth buying :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Get So Alone at Times
You Get So Alone at Times by Charles Bukowski (Paperback - 17 Aug 1992)
6.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews