Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradigm Shift for Music
This book is an elongated rant about the record companies that dominated the music scene for the last few decades. This is not necessarily a bad thing; record companies are monoliths that have had their day. Digital downloading has overtaken the sale of C.D.'s, but instead of going with the tide the record companies have tried to ban those downloaders that wouldn't play...
Published on 1 Mar 2011 by Jd Holloway

versus
5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Erik Von Daniken of Music
Wow, the future's great! Music is like water, only sounds better and doesn't get you wet! Wow, isn't the internet great? Wow, join my expensive course at Berklee! File with other manifestos under Recycle. In summary, really don't bother.
Published 23 months ago by Mike P


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paradigm Shift for Music, 1 Mar 2011
By 
Jd Holloway "Jeremy Holloway" (Kingswear, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
This book is an elongated rant about the record companies that dominated the music scene for the last few decades. This is not necessarily a bad thing; record companies are monoliths that have had their day. Digital downloading has overtaken the sale of C.D.'s, but instead of going with the tide the record companies have tried to ban those downloaders that wouldn't play the game, i.e. downloaded illegally. Trying to reign in these people is fruitless and almost impossible. The book likens the process to suing someone because the book they bought has been lent to someone else.

Apart from the above there is another major point made in this book and that is the paradigm shift from music as a product to music as a service. Music is being supplied to compliment daily activities, not as a construct that has a singular use. This shift in music's use is both inevitable and consequential. It is what the public want, and whether or not the record industry needs it, the public is redefining the way we listen to music.

This book is essential for anyone related to music, either as a listener, perpetrator or educator.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 8 Dec 2009
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
A brilliant, insightful look at the changing way music sits in our lives. Wonderfully written, perfectly paced and the kind of book you can come back to again and again. A desert island book for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most interesting and informative book about the future of the music industry, 5 Feb 2007
By 
Maarik Leppä (Tampere, Finland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
I made my final thesis for my school(Tampere Polytechnic university of art & media)about web 2.0 and the future of music. This book was the best I could find that covered every aspect of the music business and answered all of my questions. Gerd Leonhard's and David Kusek's thoughts and ideas for the future of the music business are brilliant and I recommend this book for everyone who is in the music business or plays in a band. It's a MUST.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 29 Sep 2007
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
This is a good read for musicians and producers alike. It gives an insight into the prospects of the future of music, but it lacks the practical advice of The Future of the Music Business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An insightful book based on global and historic industry patterns that predict an accurate future [im reading it late!]. Still valuable, still excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best books on the music industry I have EVER read!!, 31 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
With the current change in the record industry, this book explains how and why the current music industry trends have had to change and the effect this has on all music businesses. The book came in excellent condition and I have already started to use quotes from it on the BTEC and Rockschool music business courses I teach on. I think the last update was 2007, although everything the authors have mentioned has either happened or is due to happen. I can't wait for a new update. Can't recommend it enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Future of music - review, 16 Nov 2011
By 
Michael Krol (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
This book was a core text in my Music Busyness course,
it was very helpful, even that it's a bit outdated(2005),
but there're updates on their website [...]

The book wasn't new, with pencil remarks all over it, but that's what I paid for,
so no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The Erik Von Daniken of Music, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
Wow, the future's great! Music is like water, only sounds better and doesn't get you wet! Wow, isn't the internet great? Wow, join my expensive course at Berklee! File with other manifestos under Recycle. In summary, really don't bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars One-sided, 6 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
I guess back in 2007 it was worthy book to read, at least to wake up and jump on the train of digital music. But now authors should seriously re-evaluate this book with "future" tendencies. To sum up the main idea: choose streaming, instead of selling!

Ok, streaming is probably a solution. Probably, because I don't see how the majors will feed their artists, if p2p fans will pay let's say $15 for unlimited access to media? It's too little to have cost recoup! And what about jailbreaks of streamed media? It cuts again your commission.

It's weak book for the Berklee college of music, and I'm suspicious that it was build up for the Online Berklee course "The Future of Music and the Music Business" where this document is required. I'm wondering what you can learn further about Future of Music for friendly $1400? Personally, I would prefer crash regularly on MIDEM and catch up with visioneers there for that money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for anyone involved in music., 4 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution (Paperback)
This is a truly amazing book, it look at the way the music industry is evolving and how you can take advantage of it. It look at the evolution of the industry as a good thing not like a curse like the major record companies are saying. If you want to build a career in music this book is a must!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution
The Future of Music: Manifesto for the Digital Music Revolution by Gerd Leonhard (Paperback - 1 Aug 2005)
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews