Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will change the world
Yogananda was a rare being, a Christlike master of yoga who brought the highest science of divine union to the world. He saw that for humanity to realise its potential there must be a merging of the best of East and West. Here he peerlessly interprets the Gospels with penetrating insight and intuition into the true meaning of Jesus' teachings.
I cannot recommend...
Published on 30 Sept. 2004 by Giles Bryant

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars 2 books
excellent but looks very hard going though
Published 26 days ago by me


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book that will change the world, 30 Sept. 2004
By 
Giles Bryant (Gt Dunmow, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Yogananda was a rare being, a Christlike master of yoga who brought the highest science of divine union to the world. He saw that for humanity to realise its potential there must be a merging of the best of East and West. Here he peerlessly interprets the Gospels with penetrating insight and intuition into the true meaning of Jesus' teachings.
I cannot recommend this highly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christ, Upclose and Personal., 28 April 2006
By 
Mr. Edward J. Dinnage (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Yogananda' being a very rare and special Yogi differs from a lot of so called authors of spiritual books in the fact that he was a highly realised Master who spoke from personal experience.

Consequently this publication in which the four Gospels are demystified and put into modern language with a full context of meaning is one of the finest books that I have ever had the priviledge of reading.

I have not started on the second volume of the 1700 pages as to fully grasp the commentary is a lifetimes work anyone who is at least familiar with Yoganada's life would testify to this. This work is as deep as the ocean but with Yogananda's skill and insight a difficult and often frustrating subject is presented to the West in laymans terms. To conclude; I cannot recommend this publication high enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Guiding Light for the rest of us, 26 Sept. 2005
By A Customer
What a challenge to reveiw such a book! I could not wait to receive it, yet when it did arrive I felt that I needed to be in the right setting as this book is worthy of so much respect.
Paramahansa Yogananda had obviously acheived the level of Krishna/Christ Conciousness in his life time. It is truly wonderfull to read of his loving interpretations of the works of the Ascended Master Jesus Christ. To be able understand what Christ really meant when he spoke of certain matters or acted in a certain way ie.. the money changers in the temple.Or how he had not wanted what he calls "Churchianity" for example.
The books are illustrated with the most wonderfull paintings and drawing by famous artists which are a joy in themselves
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Revolutionary book, 20 Oct. 2012
By 
Bernd Prokop (Wellheim, Bavaria, Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
The bible seen in an up to date fashion. Many new aspects of interpretation. But thats not just theory. Here is a great man who reveals great things. Reading that book has been a daily inspiration for three years to me.
I hope these ideas get accepted widely soon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE SECOND COMING OF CHRIST, 9 Aug. 2010
Written for the western mind to give a better insight to the Bible, easier to comprehend and a basic guide to how we can improve our lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE HIGHEST GOSPEL, 11 July 2010
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
An excellent spiritual masterpiece......a treasurehouse of knowledge wisdom blending the latest insights from science and spirituality ........unifying religions........and touching on the core of all spiritual practice.........paramahansaji's wondrous book needs neither introduction nor summary........it is the ultimate scripture to be read and reread in all times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a must-read for everyone the wishes to understand the teachings of Christ and Gods divine plan., 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
If you wish to learn more about Jesus and his teachings, and understand Gods plan and what the meaning of life is, you should definitely read this book. Paramahansa Yogananda explains everything in an easy way and when you read the book, you can feel that Yogananda is a reliable source; a man that actually knew Christ. He uses the hindu Holy Scriptures the Bhagavadgita and the Holy Bible and compares the two in such a nice way, it makes you understand that we are all united and equal, and that the religions of the world have many things in common.

The book is divided in to chapters/discourses where he introduces the subjects, so you know what to expect learning. Yogananda also describes what Jesus actually looks like. As I wrote earlier, this is a must have. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars paramahansa yogananda, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
ALWAYS pleased with his books. I don't think there is anything spiritually that he doesn't know, has explained what jesus meant e.g. sermon on the mount etc. and how all religions at root are the same. Explains we are spirit , reincarnation and other "mysteries" of our life here. 2 big books in this volume, haven't quite finished them yet. But if you really want to know the "meaning of life" i would recommend any of his books, well worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sheer wonder and delight, 3 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
This is a must read for everyone who likes reading. It is a must read for everyone who would like to make sense of the bible and who has not been able to do so previously. This is a down to earth easy to read yet deep book that I could not be without. Some people dip into it. Others, like me, read it from cover to cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2 books, 4 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Second Coming of Christ : The Resurrection of the Christ Within You: Paperback, 2-volume, slip-cased edition: The Resurrection of the Christ Within You (Paperback)
excellent but looks very hard going though
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews