Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all truth seekers.
I would highly recommend this book to all - Yogis, non-Yogis, Christians and non-Christians.

This book is a synopsis of the original larger two volume set that Yogananda wrote, in which he gave his interpretation of the four gospels - verse by verse.
Although it is a small book and can be read quickly, I have found it needs to be read (and reread) slowly...
Published on 24 May 2008 by Amazon Customer

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars
Mmmmmmmmmm
Published 2 months ago by vicky


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for all truth seekers., 24 May 2008
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
I would highly recommend this book to all - Yogis, non-Yogis, Christians and non-Christians.

This book is a synopsis of the original larger two volume set that Yogananda wrote, in which he gave his interpretation of the four gospels - verse by verse.
Although it is a small book and can be read quickly, I have found it needs to be read (and reread) slowly so that it's inner wisdom can be better revealed.
I am inspired to read his larger work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars modern mysticism, 27 Mar. 2011
By 
R. Schulz (Tamworth, Staffs, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
I always have difficulty with concepts from another culture - I suspect I miss many subtleties, and this applies to this book. The focus of the book is how to know God, rather than accept dogmas and beliefs. The words of Jesus in the Gospels providing the clues. The conclusion is to practice meditation. In many ways the book is similar to the advice given by Christian mystics like St John of the Cross amongst others. As a (liberal) Christian I had no problems with his approach, although he sometimes mis-understands the biblical texts he quotes. Like many recent spiritual books, it answers the need of those who want to experience God and not just believe in the idea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy and profound, 19 Mar. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
This book offers a really deep insight into Jesus, Christ God and ultimate truth. Heavy and profound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 12 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
This book beautifully links the teachings of the Eastern and the Western world....and demonstrates that at the core they are very similar. I have also read "Autobiography of a Yogi" by the same author - Yogananda's thoughts really impresses me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredibly helpful guide on the relationship between Christ's lost years ..., 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
Incredibly helpful guide on the relationship between Christ's lost years and his training from the Indian avatars.
The relationship between Christ and Yogananda is well known, as they communed throughout his life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unifying path, 17 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
In this book Yogananda teaches that meditation is the key to knowing God. Rather than focus on dogma and intellectual knowledge of the divine it is about experiencing the divine through stillness and quiet repose. The book explores the gospel passages showing how Jesus was spreading a universal message of divine love and was showing how it is possible to attune to the Godhead through experience. This book is a synopsis of a wider work by Yogananda called: 'The Second Coming of Christ' which is in two volumes the focus of which is the idea that the resurrection of Christ is to be within each one of us. Coming from the yogic tradition this work is a fascinating insight into the gospels from the yogic perspective. Whether one is religious or not it is worth reading this work just to have another viewpoint of what the man Jesus means to mankind. Each viewpoint is worth exploring - you never know what it might spark within your own nature. There are potentially several 'ah-ha' moments in this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Praising Yoga of Jesus, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
P. Yogananda's selection and deep analysis of Jesus' teachings are so clearly stated that there is no way one wouldn't grasp their meaning and incorporate them automatically in one's life. I recommend this book to anyone interested in finding ways to join together both religions. The next book to read would be - of course - The Second Coming of Jesus, also by Paramahansa Yogananda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Insight, 10 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
This book gives some insight into parts of Jesus' Teachings which I've found compelling. As it's excerpts from Yogananda's longer work, it's a bit choppy, i.e., from one of Jesus' aphorisms/parables to another, though, as ever, Yogananda's writing is beautiful. I'm less than enthusiastic with some of the Self-Ralisation Fellowship's explanations, though some are interesting, as it breaks up the flow of thought.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Read, 7 Dec. 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
Even though this book is a bit heavy going (it took me a few months to read because I had to keep going back and re-reading various passages)it is one of the few books that can genuinly be classed as "life changing". As well as giving a truthful insight into the teachings of Christ, as opposed to the unsubstantiated religious dogma that has been shoved down people's throats for 100's of years, it also gives an in-depth interpretation of various passages from the Bible that have been misunderstood by Christians ever since that particular man-made religion came into existence. Yogananda tells of the real reason as to why Christ incarnated into flesh, and literally blows right out of the water so much of the stuff that the church tries to indoctrinate the masses with. A truly fantastic read. Anyone who has read this book would also really enjoy Astral Travelling, The Avatar and Me Astral Travelling, The Avatar and Me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars review, 21 Oct. 2011
By 
This review is from: Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels (Paperback)
It was an interesting book. A lot of it made good sense and I think reading The Autobiography of a yogi (Paramahansa Yogananda) helped you make your mind up about a few things he had written. Personally I don't know what to make of so much of it and I guess that goes for most relegions that I have read about, but this book is well thought out by Yogananda and his research has been carefully planned. There are lots of areas that there is no reason he should not be right about.
Bob.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels
Yoga of Jesus: Understanding the Hidden Teachings of the Gospels by Paramahansa Yogananda (Paperback - 25 Oct. 2007)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews