Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Discovery Epic
Fascinating book about Andrew Collins search for a discovery of a cave underworld beneath the Giza pyramid fields.

The book is divided neatly into four sections. The first section concerns Edgar Cayce (1877-1945) and in particular his psychic material concerning ancient Egypt and an undiscovered Hall of Records in the vicinity of the Sphinx. Collins may have...
Published on 24 Dec 2009 by M. Irwintazzar

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A man and his wife go into a cave and, er, that's it
Firstly, the subtitle "Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered" is completely misleading, although "Beneath the pyramids" is accurate.
This is an odd book: Collins uses the visions of an American "seer" from the first half of the 20th century that point to the existence of a mysterious and all-knowing "Hall of Records" beneath the pyramids. The links here are very...
Published on 31 Mar 2011 by Chris James


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Discovery Epic, 24 Dec 2009
By 
M. Irwintazzar (Plymouth, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
Fascinating book about Andrew Collins search for a discovery of a cave underworld beneath the Giza pyramid fields.

The book is divided neatly into four sections. The first section concerns Edgar Cayce (1877-1945) and in particular his psychic material concerning ancient Egypt and an undiscovered Hall of Records in the vicinity of the Sphinx. Collins may have written this section in deferrence to the A.R.E. (the Association for Research and Enlightenment, which promotes the work of Cayce) who sponsored some of Collins search for the Giza caves and who have also published the book through Fourth Dimension Press. Whatever your views on Cayce (you may not have any), it was certainly interesting to read about the tangible influence that his prophecies on the Hall of Records have had on Egyptologists both amateur and professional.

The next section (Descent) takes an interesting look at Ancient Egyptian myths about the underworld (the Am Duat and Edfu Building Texts get plenty of attention), especially looking at the idea of a 'tomb of god.' Do they reflect the actual existence of a subterranean realm? The culmination of this section is the discovery of an ancient well in the southeast of the Giza area which is reputed to lead to underground tunnels.

The third section (Ascension) takes another look at Collins' controversial theory mapping the Cygnus stars onto the Giza plateau, and some interesting geometry present at Giza. I think the significance of this material is that it not only indicates the well in the southeast, but it also focused attention on the largely ignored north-western area of Giza. This is where the cave entrance was eventually located after following up clues in the accounts of some nineteenth-century explorers who had stumbled on the caves themselves. In other words, the Cygnus work led Collins to the right area, which would appear to bear out that work.

The story of the actual discovery is told in the final section (Discovery). Even having heard the story of the caves several times now, I still found this an exciting read. Along with the caves he also found a large number of bats and copious amounts of bat guano carrying their attendent risks of rabies and histoplasmosis, dangerously low oxygen levels and white widow spiders. Hopefully that will prevent the idly curious from trying their own exploration.

It seems strange to me that Zahi Hawass has so-far (at time of writing) denied the existence of the caves. Although Collins is up front about his belief that the caves are part of a 'Giza underworld' and what may lie deeper within, he isn't claiming to have actually found a Hall of Records or Tomb of God or anything else of a fantastic nature. Cave systems in limestone aren't unusual after all.

I heartily recommend this book. I always find Andrew Collins very readable, and he gives plenty of credit to the work of those on whom he relies. Apart from which, the book documents the rediscovery of something that might well be enormously important. Whatever the Egyptian authorties claim later on, you will have read it here first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent and Eloquent, 6 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
Andrew Collins uses unique methods of gathering and disseminating information. Some of these methods and theories may seem controversial, but they are backed up by clear scientific logic and in depth site exploration. An eloquent author, he unveils mystery by researching, discovering and documenting ancient archaeological sites, inviting the reader to investigate deeper levels of scientific and esoteric knowledge. It is his adept use and examination of these two equally valid areas of information, supported by personal discovery, which I find fascinating. When reading his books I invariably experience a `Eureka' regarding the subject matter, much like puzzle pieces falling together. The ability to catalyze new areas of investigation and stimulate new research questions and avenues is a great gift. We are lucky to have Andrew out there `looking at the world anew' and supplying us with alternative viewpoints, theories, and documentation on fascinating subjects and places. I thoroughly enjoyed this book which has triggered new avenues of research and contemplation for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 9 Aug 2010
By 
Mrs. A. M. Chadwick (Darwen, Lancashire, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
I love Egypt and its history, (I have been there and I spent 3yrs studying Egyptology with Exeter University). :-)

Andrew Collins is a science and history writer and for the first time he explored the catacombs, chambers and tunnels that were first found in the 19th Century. These had been left unexplored as their location had been lost for over 200 years.

The author divided the book into four segments; the first is where we discover a well known psychic of that particular time who helps with some material concerning the Halls of Records which should be near the Sphinx. Next the author looks at Egyptian underworld and its myths. He discovers an ancient well which is in the southeast of Giza that is supposed to lead to underground tunnels.

His third segment looks at the authors theories about mapping the Cygnus stars onto the Giza plateau, which some class as controversial. His final segment the author tells us about his discovery; besides the oxygen being extremely low he also found these caves where home to a large colony of bats and white widow spiders.

Personally I found this book very enjoyable, interesting and a compulsive read. It's definitely a book I'd recommend if you're interested in Egyptian history. I found it to be worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beneath The Pyramids, 11 May 2010
By 
Ms. Karen Taylor (Devon UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
How wonderful that in the 21st Century, after thousands of years of investigations around the Giza plateau, we are still being tantalised with new and exciting information. Andrew, in true Indiana style, with diigence and integrity, pieces together clues from the Ancient Egyptian texts, earlier explorers, Edgar Cayce, Stellar alignments, Local folklore etc and finds an entrance to subterranean tunnels, the Duat or Underworld. Throughout this book we are enticed by rumours of lost knowledge, mythical beings, the secrets of the Pharoahs, an era of enlightenment, the Hall of Records etc. Andrew knows his stuff and after reading his tale of adventure one is left breathlessley waiting for more. How telling then that the Egyptian Authorities have gone very quiet on his findings and sealed up access to this 'realm of Osiris.' Do these tunnels really hold a great secret or treasure guarded by ancient technologies or el-Hanash a giant guardian snake, as suggested in legend? Sattelite imagery confirms that the tunnels go all the way to pyramid of Khafre.
I recently saw Andrew at a conference and although dashing in his suit and shirt one just knew that he would be happier covered in bat poo, struggling to breathe, scared out of his wits, feeling his way through those tunnels, dodging bats and praying the treacherous spiders don't bite him. A real-life true explorer. Reading this intelligent, informative and spell binding book left me with a better understanding of the Ancient Egyptian mind-set and a desire to get down and dirty in the sands of Giza.
Thank you Andrew for not only embodying the true spirit of adventure, but also for sharing your findings so quickly and enjoyably for us would be, armchair archeologists.
An absolute must-read for anyone who wants to keep up to date with the mysteries of Giza and the enigmatic ancient civilisation that founded this area.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Engrossing!, 11 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
Only about a third of the way through this book, but can`t put it down! A great read and looking forward to the end! Written in a not too technical way for those not familiar with Eygpt and it`s pyramids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A man and his wife go into a cave and, er, that's it, 31 Mar 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
Firstly, the subtitle "Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered" is completely misleading, although "Beneath the pyramids" is accurate.
This is an odd book: Collins uses the visions of an American "seer" from the first half of the 20th century that point to the existence of a mysterious and all-knowing "Hall of Records" beneath the pyramids. The links here are very tenuous and, in my opinion, go some way to perhaps unfairly undermining the rest of the book.
When he gets to Egypt he is on more solid ground, using verifiable science to discuss locations of catacombs under the pyramids and their possible purposes.
But the climax is quite underwhelming. Nothing is really discovered except the entrances to caves that really should be properly explored, and that if you ever go there, remember to take precautions against the bat-poo dust.
It seems to me that Collins' trip really didn't produce enough material for a full book, so he (or his publisher) decided to pack it out with a lot bumpf about an American seer.
Hopefully Collins will come up with something more substantial after his next visit to the pyramids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New data on Giza Pyramids, 27 Nov 2009
By 
Raymond Betz "GEE" (Lasne, Belgique) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
This book is based on the personal experience of the author: one part is extremely interesting, as Andrew Collins has gathered a lot of very interesting new informations on Gebel Qibli and it's role in relation with the big three; particularly helpful are the new "possible" data on the orientation of the three egyptian pyramids; the exploration of caves is a real "slice" of archeology. What is perhaps more doubtful is the "dream" of his friend Quayce, that a scientific person has always a great difficulty to accept (esoterism?).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forgotten knowledge, 7 Dec 2009
By 
J. Morris "Janet Morris" (Basingstoke) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
Again a brillantly written work from Andrew Collins - jammed full of new material - including Andrew's rediscovery of a tunnel under the pyramids - a thoroughly enjoyable book, which beautifully blends ideas of traditional history with the more spiritual considerations of ancient thought - important ideas that deserve serious consideration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Egyptian cave mysteries?? Read on......., 29 Mar 2010
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
I have had an interest in Egyptian history for many years, and I would like to recommend this book to anyone with similar interests. The story of the rediscovery of these enigmatic subterranean caves is revealed in an informative and down to earth manner, which is certainly refreshing.

As the tale emerges, it becomes very obvious just how important this discovery is set to be, and I for one will look forward to following the progression of the reseach into this area with enthusiasm.

In short, a great book, excellently researched, highly informative and delivers its information in a thoroughly absorbing manner.

Buy it!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 28 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered (Paperback)
I liked this book. It has lots of interesting and credible ideas that get you thinking. Will definitely look at some other books by the author.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered
Beneath the Pyramids: Egypt's Greatest Secret Uncovered by Andrew Collins (Paperback - 23 July 2009)
14.33
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews