Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for improving cycling skills
Although the novice cyclist might find some of the chapters a little too extreme, the majority of the book is written in a way that anyone could find helpful.
It it also important to note that the book is quite heavily aimed at the American market (esspecially the sections concerned with riding in traffic etc.)
A nice feature is that the book is not written by...
Published on 4 Jan. 2001

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I imagine it was well intentioned when it was writtern ...
I imagine it was well intentioned when it was writtern but it is out of date and not particularly well written either.
Published 6 months ago by Anon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good guide for improving cycling skills, 4 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Although the novice cyclist might find some of the chapters a little too extreme, the majority of the book is written in a way that anyone could find helpful.
It it also important to note that the book is quite heavily aimed at the American market (esspecially the sections concerned with riding in traffic etc.)
A nice feature is that the book is not written by just one person, so there are some interesting places where the writers' opinions on certain subjects seem to differ.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 26 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Give you all the info you need when starting out. Makes it easy to understand. A book i will read over and over again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 9 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Fast deliver. Great book would highly recommend. Very good for first time cyclists. Has all the questions and def all the answers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Down to the basics you need to know, 29 May 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
I bought this book,been a novice and i find it very useful because it explains in detail your every move on t he road which is what you need to know to build confident
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Present for Grandson, 9 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
I bought this for my Grandson as he is very keen on cycling and I wanted him to be safe on the road and he says it is a very good book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars I imagine it was well intentioned when it was writtern ..., 27 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
I imagine it was well intentioned when it was writtern but it is out of date and not particularly well written either.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very happy, 27 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Very happy, lots of useful info
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars, 2 Mar. 2015
By 
MT (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Good referance book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Very pleased
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My cycling education., 23 Nov. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Complete Book of Road Cycling Skills: Your Guide to Riding Faster, Stronger, Longer and Safer (Bicyling Magazine) (Paperback)
Very informative good read.the section on bike position and posture was very good also the tips on care and maintaining.Lord Mandy of Ethics? Don't make me laugh!
By RICHARD LITTLEJOHN

PUBLISHED: 00:18, 20 November 2012 | UPDATED: 08:08, 20 November 2012

Comments (66)
Share

Composer Tom Lehrer remarked that satire died the day Henry Kissinger was awarded the Nobel Peace prize. Kissinger was Richard Nixon’s Secretary of State and had held a number of U.S. government offices, including director of nuclear weapons study and membership of the weapons systems evaluation group for the Joint Chiefs of Staff.

It doesn’t get much more peaceful than that. So I wonder what Lehrer might have made of the news that Peter Mandelson has been appointed head of ‘ethical’ banking at Lazard International.

You couldn’t make it up.

Beyond satire: Lord Mandelson has been made head of ethics at investment bank Lazard

When it comes to ‘ethics’, the name of Mandelson is not one that you would expect to find in the same sentence.

This is a man who was twice forced to resign from government amid allegations of financial impropriety.

Mandelson, you may recall, lied to his building society in order to secure a monster mortgage on a house he couldn’t afford without a secret £373,000 loan from his wealthy Labour colleague Geoffrey Robinson.

He was extremely fortunate to avoid the attentions of the fraud squad, yet somehow managed to hold on to the profit when he had to dispose of the property.

Mandelson also employed a legal but highly dubious accounting trick to avoid having to pay the full whack of stamp duty on another home. Since then he has slithered his way up the property ladder and is currently residing in an £8 million pad next to London’s Regent’s Park. Quite a journey for a man who, when Labour went into government in 1997, was living in a one-bedroom flat.

The source of his wealth is shrouded in mystery, since his income is shielded by a corporate structure and, until next March when this loophole is closed, does not have to be revealed in the House of Lords Members’ Register of Interests.

Secret loan: Financial arrangements between Mandelson and Geoffrey Robinson (right) caused controversy

Eyebrows were raised when he bought a previous house for £2.4 million while still a European Commissioner on a comfortable, but not wildly extravagant, civil servant’s salary.

Mandelson attempted to explain away where he had got the money from, but even back-of-the-envelope calculations didn’t add up.

We do know that he seems to spend a considerable amount of time bog-snorkelling his way around the murky financial waters of former Soviet states.

He has interests in oil-rich Kazakhstan, for instance, and was introduced to the world of high finance by his close friend Nat Rothschild, of ‘Yachtgate’ fame. He has also worked for Lazards as an ‘adviser’ for a reported fee of £1 million a year.

More...
A coup by the Left's old boy network: The Leveson Inquiry has momentous implications for free speech. But this Mail dossier raises disturbing questions about the influence of a quasi-masonic nexus of the 'people who know best'
Rothschild who crashed to earth: How the bank dynasty heir's City reputation is in tatters after a £700m investment scheme blew up in his face
Now he has been made chairman of Lazard International with a remit to reconcile ‘the financial with the ethical’. It would take a heart of stone not to laugh.

I can’t think of anyone who has had dealings with Mandelson at Westminster who would describe him as ‘ethical’. His political stock in trade has always been dissembling, distortion and downright dishonesty.

Shamefully, he was indulged by some of the Boys in the Bubble who were happy to be spoon-fed his self-aggrandising fairy tales.

My first encounter with Mandelson was on the day he became Labour’s press officer a quarter of a century ago. He lied to me and then attempted to bully me out of reporting the truth.

More from Richard Littlejohn...

Put your trousers on, Worzel... you're nicked 15/11/12
I'm not one to say I told you so, but there was never a cat in hell's chance we'd kick out Qatada12/11/12
Run for your life — it’s the Nonce Finder General!08/11/12
Forget 'hope and change'- this was a victory for fear and loathing 07/11/12
Arrest Denis MacShane? It would be a privilege! 05/11/12
Welcome to London's hottest new nightspot - the Life On Mars lounge at The Yard 01/11/12
A journalist jailed for exposing tax cheats - don't kid yourself it couldn't happen here 29/10/12
Yes, the BBC has some serious questions to answer, but who gave Savile the key to care homes and hospitals?25/10/12
VIEW FULL ARCHIVE
You will not be surprised to discover that he didn’t succeed and will understand why I haven’t trusted a single word he has said since.

After a lucrative exile in Europe, he was elevated to the peerage and brought back into government by an increasingly desperate Gordon Brown, who had previously given every impression of despising him. Frankly, I have never understood why anyone would give him house room.

The New Labour years were the grubbiest in modern Parliamentary democracy, culminating in the routine abuses of expenses by members of all parties. Mandelson, like Tony Blair, epitomises a generation of politicians who have used public office as a springboard to personal advancement and financial gain.

They have wrapped themselves in ermine and filled their boots to the max.

Whatever the cost of last week’s police commissioner elections, it was worth it just to see entitlement junkie ‘Lord’ Two Jags get his well-deserved come-uppance.

It’s hardly surprising that turn-out is so woeful when voters see so many politicians playing the system purely for their own enrichment.

I can see what’s in this new job for Mandelson, but what’s in it for Lazard? He is forbidden from lobbying ministers and civil servants in Britain.

Mind you, Peter Mandelson: Merchant Banker is a headline I’d pay to read. Let’s hope Tom Lehrer would have appreciated it, too.

We don’t hear an awful lot about ‘joined up’ government these days. That’s probably because one half of Whitehall appears not to know what the other half is doing.

A few weeks ago, the news was all about a plan to cull 100,000 badgers to stop them spreading bovine tuberculosis. That was put on hold after protests from animal rights activists, but ministers insist it will go ahead next year.

Meanwhile, another department is spending £2 billion of taxpayers’ money to save the lives of the 50,000 badgers who are said to be killed every year crossing the road.

Transport Secretary Patrick McLoughlin said: ‘We are investing in 14 managed motorway schemes across the country. We will build boxes for bats and tunnels for badgers.’

Fifteen tunnels have already been constructed as part of a dual-carriageway project on the A46 in the East Midlands.

A couple of years ago, I brought you news of a special bridge for dormice that had been slung across a bypass near Pontypridd at a cost of almost £200,000.

I remarked then that any society which can be bothered to worry about the impact a new road would have on dormice can’t be all bad. But there are limits.

Britain is supposed to be broke. Can we really afford to blow £2 billion on tunnels for badgers? Maybe it would be cheaper to hire a few extra lollipop ladies to help badgers negotiate the traffic on the A46.

Since we are planning to kill 100,000 badgers anyway, why not cut out the middle man and let them take their chances?

It does seem a bit daft sending out hunters to shoot badgers while at the same time spending a small fortune to help them make a safe getaway.

Mind how you go, Sausage

Plenty of reaction to last Friday’s Mind How You Go Awards, especially from former cops despairing at what The Job has become.

But I fear I may have jumped the gun in provisionally nominating for this year’s coveted title the Hartlepool Plod who called out a helicopter to tackle a scarecrow in a hi-viz jacket he had confused with a scrap metal thief.

In South London, an entire neighbourhood police team has been sacked after the officers were caught playing cards, board games and cleaning golf clubs when they should have been patrolling the streets.

And from Glasgow over the weekend came news that a man has been charged with feeding a sausage roll to a police horse.

Francis Kelly, 41, thought the animal ‘looked hungry’, but has been accused of acting ‘aggressively’ and committing a breach of the peace.

This case appears to be right up there with the Oxford student who spent a night in the cells after asking a mounted policeman if his horse was ‘gay’.

Mr Kelly is due in court soon. I wonder if the horse will be called to give evidence.

My attention perked up when I read the headline in a Sunday paper: Parliament may close for five years.

Sounds like a great idea, I thought. Britain works perfectly well when Parliament is in recess.

Missing you already.

Then I realised that the story referred merely to a temporary relocation of MPs while the House is refurbished.

Have they considered the Outer Hebrides?

Intolerance of tolerance

For the record, I’ve no strong feelings one way or the other about gay marriage. This column has always supported civil partnerships, even when it wasn’t fashionable.

But I do object to self-styled ‘liberals’ who announce that the matter is ‘settled’ and seek to persecute those who give voice to their reservations.

Last week there was the deeply religious housing manager demoted for posting on Facebook his sincere opposition to same-sex church marriages. Now we learn that primary school teachers who refuse to promote gay marriage will be sacked.

It is always the case that those who shout loudest about ‘tolerance’ are among the most viciously bigoted towards those who don’t share their beliefs.

MOST READ NEWS
Previous
1
2
3
Next

New website will publish pictures of unidentified dead...

Titans of the trees: Stunning photographs of 3,200-year-old...

Teenager who won £500k on McDonald's scratchcards bought...

Teenager tortured and sexually assaulted girlfriend while...

£12.8m lottery winner's house trashed when 200 teenagers...

UK Border Agency officers swoop on 'sham' wedding and arrest...

Spain offers residency to anyone buying a home worth more...

Girl, 17, who rebuilt her life after being paralysed in...

Sally Bercow does it again: After McAlpine gaffe, Speaker's...

'My country is a beggar': Russian model in staggering...

Princess Diana biographer Andrew Morton injured in fatal...

'I put my hands around its throat to make it stop...

Share this article:
Facebook
Twitter
Google+
Messenger
LinkedIn
Digg it
Newsvine
Fark
Nowpublic
Reddit

Print article
Email article

Ads by Google:
Single Trip Insurance
Official Site for lowest prices peace of mind travel care!
Direct-Travel.co.uk/SingleTrip
Distance Learning Online
Online University Qualifications. Browse Courses & Apply Online!
RDI.co.uk/DistanceLearning
Add your comments Comments (66)
The comments below have been moderated in advance.

NewestOldestBest ratedWorst rated
View all
I accept your continual criticism of the police, but must pick up the sausage roll report. He wasn't arrested for trying to feed the horse (a vegetarian beast) a meat product, he wasarrested because when he was told not to be such an idiot and stop doing what he was doin he kicked off and was subsequently arrested. But I suppose "drunk idiot arrested by police" doesn't make such a good report.
- Swanseajock , Swansea, United Kingdom, 20/11/2012 11:16
Click to rate Rating 29 Report abuse
I do hope that the case of the Police horse comes to Court so we will learn the full truth of the matter. From 30 years in the Glasgow Police, I can pretty well write the script - Drunken yob thinks it will be a great wheeze to feed his half- eaten sausage roll to the police horse. Officer tells him to stop - does he? - don't be silly! Instead he abuses the officer, continues to do so after being warned, and is rightly arrested for a breach of the peace. And before anyone says that Police should expect to be abused in the execution of their duty, NO ONE deserves to be abused while doing their job at their workplace - the difference is that the Police, perhaps particularly in Glasgow, can and will do something about it! A few idiotic actions by a tiny number of officers across the country do not justify treating the vast majority of good officers with disrespect and even contempt.
- Frederick j. , Glasgow, 20/11/2012 11:16
Click to rate Rating 40 Report abuse
Mandelson and Ethics in the same sentence - unbelievable.
- b15oxo , LLANDYSUL, United Kingdom, 20/11/2012 11:06
Click to rate Rating 62 Report abuse
and people wonder why the younger generation appear to have a general lack of moral integrity these days. has this man no conscience at all? forced to resign twice from high office,subsequently moving effortlessly through the higher echelons of public life into a privileged position the vast majority of us lesser mortals can only dream of. what sort of message does this send out? public duty? don't make me laugh. and still it goes on,from expenses, to bercow and his utterly appalling wife,to dorries up the jungle. and what do i read? parliament to close for 5 year refurb at a cost of billions. save us all the bother,sell it to the japanese to run as a tourist attraction,and relocate the lot of em to a drab 60's office complex on the south bank.
- one-man-and-his-dog , woodchurch, 20/11/2012 11:00
Click to rate Rating 46 Report abuse
It might be a good idea to avoid dealing with Lazard International if Mandelson is going to be their morals and ethics shop window!
- three , Toronto, Canada, 20/11/2012 10:58
Click to rate Rating 55 Report abuse
He is a horrible slimey parasitic snake, just like all Labour party members eh Ed Balls !!!
- cricky , northampton, 20/11/2012 10:56
Click to rate Rating 69 Report abuse
I thought I saw that he had joined as a lizard then I re-read it to he had joined lazard silly me as if he would ever join a business called lizard.
- it is true , England somewhere in the SW, 20/11/2012 10:52
Click to rate Rating 32 Report abuse
This appointment is just like asking, King Herod to babysit??
- Victor , Preston, 20/11/2012 10:45
Click to rate Rating 46 Report abuse
Introduced to Tom Lehrer on a USAF Airbase in Tripoli, Libya, in the mid 1960's. A most amusing satirist, well loved by my American friends. Mandelson, is just another champagne socialist, without a scruple in his body. Wonder how much of the UK he has sold down the river [if at all ; - ], in amassing his quick fortune? He wouldn't!!! He would, just like his fellow troughers the Blairs. - Dragonhead, Wellington Or, as your American friends would say, limousine liberals. Then again, I've always said it's easy being a socialist if you're rich.
- Vanessa-M1 , Twickenham-TW, 20/11/2012 10:43
Click to rate Rating 43 Report abuse
You have to wonder how he pulled that one off!
- Marie , Liverpool, 20/11/2012 10:42
Click to rate Rating 30 Report abuse
The views expressed in the contents above are those of our users and do not necessarily reflect the views of MailOnline.

Add your comment

You have 1000 characters left.
Libellous and abusive comments are not allowed. Please read our House Rules.

I agree to the House Rules
For information about privacy and cookies please read our Privacy Policy.
TermsClear Submit Content
BingSite Web Enter search term:Search

NEWS YOU'RE TALKING ABOUT

Watching pornography at work fuels worldwide addiction
Two thirds of visits to top site are made from offices

Sally Bercow sparks NEW Twitter row
Speaker's wife breaches court order by naming runaway schoolgirl

Happiness is the best investment for your child's future
Study reveals happy children grow up to be wealthy

Cameron's new election guru called Boris Johnson's staff f***wits
Lynton Crosby steered Mayor of London to victory

What do I think of Boris Island?
That would involve 'unparliamentary language' Ryanair boss O'Leary tells MPs

Prince William becomes most popular royal in recent history
But 90% of Britons believe Queen is doing a good job
EDITOR'S BEST OF THE WEB
DANNY AYALON: Hamas leaves Israel no choice (Guardian)
JIM O'NEILL: Where can we go if we’re being left outside Europe? (standard)
MATTHEW NORMAN: Thank heaven Tory relations with the police are so cordial, or Lynton Crosby might be in trouble (Independent)
JANET DALEY: We’re heading for economic dictatorship (Telegraph)
ALLISTER HEATH: We must ditch unfair loopholes – and then cut tax overall (City AM)
EDWARD LUCE: Obama's path to Xanadu runs via Jerusalem (FT)
ARCHBISHOP CRANMER: Rich, powerful Jews annihilate poor, innocent Palestinians
TIM KREIDER: The quiet ones (NY Times)

Today's headlinesMost Read
£12.8m lottery winner's house trashed when 200 teenagers turn up for daughter's 17th birthday party they read about on Facebook
Sex abuse gang suspects held in dawn raids after girl tells police she was attacked for five years from age of 12
Homeowners will be allowed to make extensions to garages without seeking approval from local councils under new plans
We're still being run by a private school elite: Study shows almost half of those who hold key positions in British society received fee-paying education
Sally Bercow silenced on Twitter! Speaker's wife disappears from cyberspace after latest gaffe
Rebekah Brooks and Andy Coulson WILL face charges over 'payments to public officials' while they worked at News International
Princess Diana biographer Andrew Morton injured in fatal crash while on honeymoon
'There's a baby dragon in the hand-drier and a princess in your tummy': The creative lies parents tell to make their children behave
How money doesn't buy happiness: parents, the elderly and those living in the Outer Hebrides revealed as the most content people in the UK
UBS trader is convicted of biggest-ever City fraud after losing Swiss bank £1.4bn
Chris Moyles claims revealing his tax avoidance scheme will breach his human rights as he battles with taxman to keep case secret
Magnanimous Lord McAlpine to ask 10,000 Twitter users who falsely linked him to child abuse scandal for for just £5 donation to charity and an apology
Fake collar bomb blackmailer jailed for ten years over his 'indescribable' terror
Mother pregnant with twin boys jumps to her death from a cliff because she wanted a girl
New website will publish pictures of unidentified dead bodies to allow families of missing people to search for their loved ones
Former defence minister 'rents £1,600 a month London flat from footballer Frank Lampard on the taxpayer... while letting out his own home in the capital'
MPs demand MORE expenses so they can afford to live in Westminster... because they don't want to get the night bus
Which pesto is the besto? Middle-class Britain has a passion for pesto - but can you rely on the quality? We put top brands to the test-o
Brazilian groom dies at wedding reception after tripping onto a beer glass and bleeding to death
Where did you come from? Baby red panda's surprise in hilarious video as zoo keeper creeps up on her
MORE HEADLINES

Read more[...]
Follow us: @MailOnline on Twitter | DailyMail on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews