Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Reference Work
This book belongs in every occultist's library. Cunningham has left no stone unturned in his presentation of correspondences and substitutions. The book consists of several sections, each devoted to a specific topic, i.e., incenses, soaps, oils, brews, etc. Each section is alphabetically subdivided by purpose, astrological and plantetary influences, etc. Included for...
Published on 2 July 1998

versus
23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some useful info but a bit fluffy for my taste
Since everyone else seems to be raving about this book I thought I'd offer an alternative view. I find the whole thing a little fluffy and fuzzy, frankly. That's not to say that there isn't useful information in here, but I'm not sure that one couldn't dig that up with a little searching on the internet.

A lot of the information is either common sense magickal...
Published on 19 Sep 2007 by Thelemite


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

45 of 45 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Invaluable Reference Work, 2 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
This book belongs in every occultist's library. Cunningham has left no stone unturned in his presentation of correspondences and substitutions. The book consists of several sections, each devoted to a specific topic, i.e., incenses, soaps, oils, brews, etc. Each section is alphabetically subdivided by purpose, astrological and plantetary influences, etc. Included for the adventurous are some recipies from older grimoires, along with safer modern blends aimed at the same goals. The incense chapter alone is worth the price of the book. After reading it, you'll never be dependent upon headshop joss sticks and cones again. Also included is a listing of sources for materials. In short, this book is an invaluable reference work, and belongs on every practicing magicians's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 6 Jan 2005
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
This book is great,iv had this for a while now and i use it the most especially when i was a beginner,its excellent you can make up your own spells with the information,different oils for different outcomes,which incense to burn for what,how to make bath oils and what oils to mix and make magical oils for spell workings its so good,a full list of oils and what they are used for,its a definate must for any one following the wiccan path or anyone really whos interested in oils,and incenses,well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars can't live without it!, 14 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
This was a birthday present given to me last year and now i wonder how i ever lived without it! All you need to know, set out simply. It gives you the ability to adapt and change recipies to fit your specific needs.I recomend this book to everone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incense, Oils & Brews--Scott Cunningham, 10 Jun 2004
By 
J. S. Garner "angwella" (U. K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
Well thumbed, dirty around the edges & with so many place markings what else can I say!!
Being also an Aromatherapist & with a good grasp of the do's & dont's of the "Oil/Herb World" I found this a very welcome volume to my very extensive "libary".
What ever you believe in & whatever you decide to call it. It will work.
Good to read with many varied "creams/lotions & potions" they are what you make of them, wether you 'empower'or not, the recipes/concoctions - for want of better words- should be done with love- as should anything that you make for yourself or for others,
So enjoy & take it as it is, an interesting volume well worth the space that it takes in your library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A do-it-yourself manual that really works!, 18 Nov 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
Whether you are a novice in the field or a master you will enjoy Cunningham's book. He wrote a concise book that details how one can make incense, oils and assundry odds and ends for oneself. His instructions are clear and easy to follow (provided one can get all the ingrediants! <grin>). He put tables of substitution in the back of the book but if one is really serious about this field a good companion book would be _Cunningham's Encyclopedia of Magical Herbs_ which contains more detailed tables. I never worry about recommending one of Scott Cunningham's works. In fact, I just wish I could afford to have them all!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A complete book of incense oils and brews + others, 9 Aug 2002
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
What a great book. informative, detailed and covers a wide range of subjects. I loved the recipes and i thought putting the dangers of certain items in there a very good idea. this was a very easy to read book and i found the suggested quantities in the book rather helpful. I'll definately buy more Cunningham books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for everyone., 8 July 2004
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
I was so happy to recieve this book, it is so helpful and especially great for kitchen witches who work a lot with herbs.
To me it's an essential, and i highly recommend to just about everyone, as it also shows how to make gifts such as herbal bath teas, so you can even treat yourself. Well worth it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on potions etc you can have, 27 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
Wonderful book. I am quite new to wicca and have found this book the most helpful so far for bath brews, oils and insense. Scott cunningham was one of the greats when it came to writing books of the craft and long may he continue to be. You won't go wrong with buying this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellant book for anyone, expert or beginner!, 5 Nov 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
I have used the recipes in this book so many times that I know most of them by heart! I would highly recommend this book or any others by Scott Cunningham! Very easy to understand and use!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Some useful info but a bit fluffy for my taste, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Thelemite (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick) (Paperback)
Since everyone else seems to be raving about this book I thought I'd offer an alternative view. I find the whole thing a little fluffy and fuzzy, frankly. That's not to say that there isn't useful information in here, but I'm not sure that one couldn't dig that up with a little searching on the internet.

A lot of the information is either common sense magickal knowledge (he bangs on a lot about focusing on intent during preparation) or could be better found in a book of correspondances such as Crowley's 777 or similar. There were some new correspondances I wasn't aware of, however.

The recipes section is a little odd also. It may give you a recipe and then tell you to not even consider using it, presumably since it contains strong or dangerous substances - perhaps a symptom of a culture of litagy, but nevertheless I found it strange. A simple disclaimer at the beginning of the book would be sufficient, surely? What's more, the recipes don't really contain any information other than the ingredients. He never mentions his sources for these recipes and on occasion says - "I've never been able to find substance X so use a substitute", marking out a few recipes as being not his invention. Where traditional recipes exist it would have been useful for them to be marked as such, and likewise where a recipe is simply his own devising.

My final criticism is one that I would level at all Cunningham's stuff that I've read which is that I find his writing style a little irritating. He has a tendency to point out the obvious and for condecension, and he constructs arguments in a fuzzy manner. I find it a little weak and couched in too much new age fluffiness. Being used to reading Crowley, and being accustomed to that degree of mental alacrity, it is too large a step back to stomach.

All in all some useful stuff here, if you can stomach the presentation, but little that could not be found on the internet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Complete Book of Incense, Oils and Brews (Llewellyn's Practical Magick)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews