Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chockfull of knowledge
This is the most carefully researched compendium of pagan herbal lore I've ever found. He has everything in here from the botanicals themselves to astrological correspondences to powers attributed to the plants and their parts. And to his credit, he has appendices in this book to cross-reference all of the information contained in the encyclopedic body of the book...
Published on 24 May 1999

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best Buy!
I found this book a bit lacking in information about uses & traditions.
The illustrations are just 'space fillers' no use at all for identification of the herbs. (for this get- Francis Rose Wild flower key)
The contents were just like any other of the dozens of 'wicca herb 'type books with nothing to make it stand out as special.
If you are serious about...
Published on 3 Mar 2009 by Ytene


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars chockfull of knowledge, 24 May 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
This is the most carefully researched compendium of pagan herbal lore I've ever found. He has everything in here from the botanicals themselves to astrological correspondences to powers attributed to the plants and their parts. And to his credit, he has appendices in this book to cross-reference all of the information contained in the encyclopedic body of the book. His bibliography is also very valuable as he gives astute advice and observations on some of these resources, such as the Golden Bough ("Take with a large grain of salt"). I still refer to this book regularly and I've had it 10 yrs now. Excellent scholarship and of interest whether you are pagan or not, whether you are Wicca or Witch (and thank you, Scott, for giving us the difference between Wiccans and Witches in your glossary). Mr. Cunningham left us a wonderful legacy of practical pagan resources in his books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


33 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Magicl Book Of Herbs!!, 19 Jan 2003
By 
Michelle Carline "~*Mickie *~" (Doncaster, South Yorkshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
I only recieved my copy yesterday and I am totally hooked. I ordered this book because I am very interested in Herb Magic and I would recommend it to anyone. It's excellent for those who are new to the craft and for those who are more experienced. It's a beautiful book to just pick up and flick through and read the abundance of information it holds. There are no colour plates BUT, I like the way it's illustrated as they are all old wood cut images....very nice!
Now all I need to do is order one for my friend :-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you're interested in herbs or magick, you need this book!, 24 Aug 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
The late Scott Cunningham wrote THE best beginners books about wiccan practices and magick use. This one is no exception. It is easy to follow, well organized, and full of wonder information for beginners and experienced alike. This book isn't just about herbal magick, it's about herbs. I highly recommend this and all of his other titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 25 May 2001
By 
Jessica Worden (Long Beach, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
This book is concise and simple. While it doesn't have every possible tidbit concerning each herb, it comes as close as I've seen. I really love this book. The plants are listed alphabetically, there are several crossreference guides in the back, namely; sex, elements, planets, intentions and also a folk name cross reference. There is also an extensive bibliography in the back of the book. Its incredibly handy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


40 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very good buy, 13 Feb 2003
By 
joanne (nottingham, notts United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
when reading books on witchcraft you usually only find a small herb index at the back of the book. So I was well chuffed when I found a whole book on the subject. With it being the only one i had seen so far I had some misgivings about the quality of the work, but these were washed away the second I opend the book and was flooded with coherent information on how to use herbs to their best effect as well as the encyclopedia itself. This book is a must for anyone who plans to use herbs in thier work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything You'll Ever Need To Know About Magical Herbs, 25 Jun 2004
By 
MS DIANE C EVANS (Penmaenmawr, Conwy United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
If you are looking for the right herb for magical use this is the book for you. Scott Cuningham is a master in his field, and his books are so informative as to make them a must have for every magical practioner.
This book contains pictorial images of the herbs so that you can collect from nature and know what you are getting. It also has detailed information on each plant, it's planetary, elmetal and sexual asspects and an easy to fallow at a glance guide to magical uses for them. There is also some information about how to use the plants to best effect. No magical bookshelf if complete without a copy of this well reserched book. If you haven't come across Mr Cunningham until now make this your must have book it will rapidly become your bible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and a must for any practising witch, 6 Feb 2003
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
This book is terrific. It includes a huge range of plant species listing folk names, ancient usage in both healing capacities (when and if appropriate) and talismanic. I refer to my copy an awful lot. Such a pity the author is no longer with us to continue his informative, and with reference to his other writings, gentle and beautiful works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not The Best Buy!, 3 Mar 2009
By 
Ytene (New Forest, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
I found this book a bit lacking in information about uses & traditions.
The illustrations are just 'space fillers' no use at all for identification of the herbs. (for this get- Francis Rose Wild flower key)
The contents were just like any other of the dozens of 'wicca herb 'type books with nothing to make it stand out as special.
If you are serious about learning this craft & have to learn from books, I would go for the above mentioned Francis rose book for I.D & the best book of this type that I have found Is - 'Herb Craft' By Susan Lavender & Anna Franklin. A bit more expensive, but loads more info. (but also useless for I.D of the plants!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


115 of 129 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful - gives genuine practitioners a bad name., 12 Jan 2006
By 
N. Holt "Nick" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with this book. After reading so many positive reviews I was expecting a serious work based on careful research, but it is nothing of the kind. The descriptions of magical properties of herbs are extremely vague and give no information as to the source of the lore. Some of them miss out traditional magical properties that have been recognised for thousands of years (e.g. mandrake) while others descriptions are just plain wrong. For example, he tells us that Absinthe is 'highly addictive' and dangerous, both of which are simply untrue.
Most of the books in the bibliography are American. While this is not necessarily a bad thing (there are some worthwhile books by American authors on this subject), it does suggest a certain laziness in his research.
He makes very grand claims for the power of herbs, going so far as to claim that hanging a herb bag in your house is a more effective deterrent to burglars than getting decent locks. This is very obviously not true, but similarly outlandish claims are made throughought the book with no evidence to back them up and no sources given. My impression is that he has not critically analysed any of his sources, and has simply made up information to fill in any gaps.
Lots of illustrations are missing and some of the descriptions appear in the wrong place (e.g. garlic under aloe instead of allium).
Books like this give practitioners of magic a bad name. There is a sound basis for herbal magic, and it's unfortunate that the author could not restrict himself to these rather than abandoning sense and manufacturing claims which have no basis. It is a book for people who would like to feel that they can work effective magic without doing any research, but is of no use to anyone with a serious interest in the uses of herbs or the nature of magic.
Strictly for new-agers - a very shoddy piece of work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extremely needed book if you are into Herbalism., 12 Sep 1995
By A Customer
This review is from: Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) (Paperback)
This is undeniably one of the greatest books on herbalism.
For important if you own the other book "The Complete Book
of Incense, Oils and Brews" they really compliment each
other. Not only is this book filled with useful information
on herbs, but it also contains illustrations, herbal lore,
tables of correspondance (for herbs and essential oils) and
uses of many herbs. If you want to be a good herbalist you
need this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series)
Encyclopaedia of Magical Herbs (Llewellyn's Sourcebook Series) by Scott Cunningham (Paperback - 31 Oct 1985)
10.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews