Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars9
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£11.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 13 February 2010
this book is a must read for any creatively motivated person, whom is looking for a deeper connection with themselves and what it is that they do.

enjoy

Loukas morley
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2010
Stephen Nachmanovitch speaks from direct experience of the subject. A truly original and inspiring book bringing much needed light on the art of living and creating in the moment. For musicians and artists struggling to understand why they have rejected idiomatic approaches this is a gift.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2005
For me this book was an excellent reflective study on the arts. It goes into the human relationship with the suggestive muse and how from that we go about creating inspirational works.
The book itself is a work of art and is a pleasure to read.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2013
This book is a work of art, if you want to understand the essence of improvisation, buy this book, then read it.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2013
Found the gentle advice contained within this small book uplifting, thoughtful and wise. Particularly useful was the chapter on 'surrender' which considers the nature of intuition as 'the unconscious made conscious'. Nachmanovitch tells us that "...to create you have to disappear" and then goes on to guide us in getting out of our own way. I have notated this book throughout (a bit naughty, I know) and will return to it again and again. A treasure trove of insight.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Good advice on 'letting go' of your fears of making mistakes in music playing.
Refreshing viewpoint on alowing yourself to explore though 'play', your own musical personality;
A revilation to realise that there is SO much more to playing an instrament that getting all the 'playing of the
notes' exatly as printed!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
This book is a MUST.
It arrived well, just with some details on front, but perfect inside.
Great seller.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 December 2013
Every now and then I get this book down off the shelf, lose myself momentarily in his self-engrossed, unremitting psychologising, before gleefully conjuring up an unattractive vision of an interminable piece of violin improvisation, scratch, scratch, wail, and resolve to chuck the book out. Then I'll spot a sentence, a spark of truth, or two or three, and a verse of Blake, and back it goes, up on the shelf till next time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2016
very interesting read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse