Customer Reviews


56 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Really good sourcebook, 2 Mar 2003
This review is from: The Embroidery Stitch Bible (Spiral-bound)
This is a realy handy little book (about 7 inches , spiral bound) it has good diagrams and explanations of needlework stitches used in most forms of embroidery including
smocking and canvas work. It also has a very good working practice section and gives ideas for finishing and using pieces . As This book is small it has easily replaced my weildy Embroidery Bible. A very good buy for beginners and advanced stitchers alike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Clear and Concise Guide to Stitch, 9 Jan 2005
By 
Caroline Hirst (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A really excellent resource for anyone interested in stitch. It conatins clear diagrams as well as photographs along the step by step process. It breaks down complex stitches into a series of stages and gives useful advice. The Bible has a thorough coverage of different stitches subdivided into different sections, and the spiral bound spine makes it easy to keep open to refer to when you are stitching. I have found it vital for my university textiles course and have found even the more complex stitches simple to complete. A fabulous source of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference, 10 Feb 2011
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Spiral-bound, compact, comprehensive and easy to follow are the qualities that recommend this book to any embroiderer. There are many stitches most will remember from school days, but a whole lot more stitches that were new to me, and I am by no means new to embroidery. I would suggest this is suitable for many embroiders, especially those wanting new stitches and inspiration. Betty has divided the stitches into sections such as satin, raised, couching. Each section thoroughly explores the type of stitch giving encouragement to experiment. I particularly like the rosette chain stitch, fishbone stitch, Half Rhodes stitch, Norwich stitch and decorative couching. The working practice technique section is also useful. There are over 200 stitches to keep you entertained. The layout is good as is the photography and the charted designs are crystal clear and of a good size, making them easy to follow and this is enhanced by the clear step by step written instructions. Excellent. This review first appeared on Karen Platt's book review website.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stitch Bible, 31 Jan 2010
By 
Grendonlen (Buckinghamshire) - See all my reviews
Would never have believed that a concise and detailed stitch book was available.Excellent for novice and/or professional.
The best bonus is the ring construction allowing the book to open flat.
Would recommend to anyone interested in hand stitching.Excellent value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 9 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. J. S. Watson (North Lanarkshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
What a fabulous book its show you step by step instruction how do the stitches including picture and designs to try as well. It also show you what you will need and need to know before you start your project. It is great for the beginners and for the experienced embroider brushing on there skills. All round good book that I would highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source, 4 Jun 2008
I have had this book for many years and I keep coming back to it time and time again. It is clear and concise.

I am someone that likes to read a few different descriptions of how to do a stitch and I have quite a few of these types of books to assist me!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excelent!, 27 Aug 2003
This review is from: The Embroidery Stitch Bible (Spiral-bound)
I find it very helpful and easy to understand, with a large number of stitches, traditional and new ones. I recomend it for everyone who wants to find great ideas!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quite simply the best craft book I own!, 9 Dec 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is without a doubt the best craft book I own. Buy it now!!

It is spiral bound, so you don't have to bend back pages.
The paper quality is good.
The instructions are clear.
It covers a multitude of stitches.

I think this is useful for anyone doing sewing, embroidery or household.

Excellent, fabulous, wonderful!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear pictures, very informative, highly recommended, 27 Dec 2011
This book is filled with every type of sewing/embroidery stitch you could ever possibly imagine!
The stitches are grouped into type for fabric such as line, chain, blanket, crossed, feather, satin, couching, laid filling, detached, raised, woven, insertion, smocking drawn thread, pulled, & trimming. Then there is a section on Stitches for canvas i.e. diagonal, straight, crossing, composite & loop and pile stitches.

There is then a 'Working Practice' section which deals with counted thread techniques, freestyle embriodery, canvas work and finishing touches.

For each stitch throughout the book there are photographs of the finished stitch and step-by-step illustrations and text for you so that there's no reason for not being abole to achieve great results.

I have liked browsing through the book and picking out different stitches to try on different areas of my sewing work.

I love this book and would highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely and clear, 25 Jun 2010
By 
Camilla Sharp (Surrey, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book is well laid out with clear pictures, having the ring binding makes it even better
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Embroidery Stitch Bible
The Embroidery Stitch Bible by Betty Barnden (Spiral-bound - Feb 2003)
Used & New from: 5.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews