Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars42
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: PaperbackChange
Price:£5.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 June 2014
I had never read any of Allen Ginsberg's work. Being able to buy a small volume at a reasonable price is perfect for just sampling his works. That way you won't waste money if you end up not liking his work.
As for the work, I can't say I have become a big fan, but he is very adept at his trade.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2000
Imagine that you close your eyes and the vibrating sound of the jazz slightly flows over your skin. While you are completely absorbed by that sound, a vortex of emotions gently comes out to shake your steadfastness, no matter who you are and how old you are. This is the sentiment I feel every time I read this book. Above all I appreciate its universal dimension that, almost half-century after its creation, make me share with the author this boundless feeling of defeat. Whenever you believe in something; whenever you are ready to bet on it; whenever you spend your positive energy to improve it and your trustfulness is betrayed, then, you are sharing the truest feeling of this book with the countless people who experienced it. When you read this book you feel the need of living and the pain of doing it: both of them portrayed in the picture of a gloomy America unables to take care of her sons. The poems convey the hopelessness of the American Dream which proved mendacious. They are made up of concrete images, which express the metaphysical aspects of life. Drug, sex and dead-living bodies seeking what does not exist: these are the most striking figures. In 'Howl' "Children screaming under the stairways! Boys sobbing in armies! Old men weeping in the parks!" represent the varied universe of sufferers who are joined by a metaphysical brotherhood. This union is best represented by the friendship between the narrator and Carl Solomon, the poet to whom the poem is addressed. The theme of a metaphysical brotherhood is also traced in 'A Supermarket in California' where the author dreams of talking to Walt Whitman and asking about the lost America. In 'America', the hopeful land, which was joyfully sung by the old bard in 'Leaves of Grass' a century before, has become the world of atom bomb, of human war, of machinery. Ginsberg says: "America I've given you all and now I'm nothing", but when he deepens into the problem he realises that he is America and he is talking to himself. Think about what it means...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2012
Perfect pocket sized book with the complete poems in it (not just extracts, which i have mistakely bought before!). Very approprietely priced and the introduction most interesting. Would reccomend smaller/less packaging though!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2014
Most famous for the epic poem Howl, which launched Ginsberg’s career and caused an obscenity trial, this collection is also notable for greats like America, Sunflower Sutra and In Back of the Real.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2013
Saw the movie and had to read the original - absolutely brilliant and pocket sized. A lovely little treat at a good price and quick delivery.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
Book was in top condition and arrived with another almost as soon as I had ordered them! Great little book, absolutely no complaints :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
as previously bought for sons education purposes and it was thoroughly useful for reasons for purchasing and again worth having
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
A neat little book to put in your pocket for the journey, initially banned by the US authorities but now world wide coverage.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 August 1996
Allen Ginsberg's Howl is W.C. Williams vision
of a "New Measure" made concrete. It is not only
a poem, as such but a lyrical cry that echoes
throughout the page and the reader's mind as he/she
lets the words rebound off a boundless
mind/soul. It is as if Ginsberg broke free from
the word-form lines that confine thought and
let his untampered ideas flow free onto the page
and then just leave them there to reform themselves
in the readers mind exactly as Ginsberg thought
them. He not only cast his un-strained thoughts
onto the page but also poured them into a mind-
breath mould that allowed them to be measured
by each breath the mind takes, re-inhaling the
glorious fumes with the base repitition of "Who..."
This not only gives the poem a measurable quality but
also an ethereal quality because it is not measured
physically but with each breath of the mind.
The second stanza is one of industrial wickedness
and power-hunger as well as divine-right rule and
god-like evil. It shows Moloch as The Tyrant and
money, corruption and greed as his arms, legs and blood.
The whole poems shines like a glossy white garage
on a soot covered hill.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 3 August 2012
Allen Ginsberg's poem "Howl" was probably the dividing line between two Americas, two generations, two sexualities, two cultures. He was of course indicted and arrested and this poem barred from publication - of course again making it sell a lot more copies eventually - but in a way he was America's first great modern poet. The first line became a sort of countercultural national mantra:

"I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness, starving hysterical naked"

"Howl" presents a view of contemporary society, placing a source of human woe within human consciousness and perception. In his poem, Ginsberg uses the word "Moloch," for the condition of the mind. The narrator declares" Mental Moloch!"... Moloch who name is the Mind!" According to Ginsberg, we are born in a state of "natural ecstasy" but Moloch "enter's the soul early". He pushes for an emergence from the belly of "Moloch," or the monster of corrupt institutions that devours us, "bashe[s]" and eats "up our brains and imaginations."

One of my favorite poems of all time and an absolute must read.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Howl, Kaddish and Other Poems (Penguin Modern Classics)
Howl, Kaddish and Other Poems (Penguin Modern Classics) by Allen Ginsberg (Paperback - 26 Feb. 2009)

Howl, and Other Poems (Pocket Poets)
Howl, and Other Poems (Pocket Poets) by Allen Ginsberg (Paperback - 4 Jun. 2015)

Poetry of the Thirties (Penguin Modern Classics)
Poetry of the Thirties (Penguin Modern Classics) by Robin Skelton (Paperback - 28 Sept. 2000)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.