Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars does what it says on the label
A compact and economical selection of Ginsberg's poems, including the title poem Howl.
For Ginsberg fans, nothing to say.
For those who are too young to have lived the 'Beat Generation' but were made curious by the film Howl (directed by Friedman & Epstein), as I was, a fantastic opportunity to dig deeper ..... I saw the film, bought the book and read all the...
Published on 2 Feb. 2011 by Lorraine Buckley

versus
4 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Well, Howl was good
I really enjoyed reading this poem, as a matter of fact, I read it several times. The only problem was that it was the only one that I enjoyed reading. I would recoment this poem to everyone, it is a symbol of where we all came from. I do not, however, nessasarily recomend all of Allen's works, none are quite as good as Howl.
Published on 26 Aug. 1998


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars A handy introduction, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
I had never read any of Allen Ginsberg's work. Being able to buy a small volume at a reasonable price is perfect for just sampling his works. That way you won't waste money if you end up not liking his work.
As for the work, I can't say I have become a big fan, but he is very adept at his trade.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howl of the Young Generations, 25 July 2000
By A Customer
Imagine that you close your eyes and the vibrating sound of the jazz slightly flows over your skin. While you are completely absorbed by that sound, a vortex of emotions gently comes out to shake your steadfastness, no matter who you are and how old you are. This is the sentiment I feel every time I read this book. Above all I appreciate its universal dimension that, almost half-century after its creation, make me share with the author this boundless feeling of defeat. Whenever you believe in something; whenever you are ready to bet on it; whenever you spend your positive energy to improve it and your trustfulness is betrayed, then, you are sharing the truest feeling of this book with the countless people who experienced it. When you read this book you feel the need of living and the pain of doing it: both of them portrayed in the picture of a gloomy America unables to take care of her sons. The poems convey the hopelessness of the American Dream which proved mendacious. They are made up of concrete images, which express the metaphysical aspects of life. Drug, sex and dead-living bodies seeking what does not exist: these are the most striking figures. In 'Howl' "Children screaming under the stairways! Boys sobbing in armies! Old men weeping in the parks!" represent the varied universe of sufferers who are joined by a metaphysical brotherhood. This union is best represented by the friendship between the narrator and Carl Solomon, the poet to whom the poem is addressed. The theme of a metaphysical brotherhood is also traced in 'A Supermarket in California' where the author dreams of talking to Walt Whitman and asking about the lost America. In 'America', the hopeful land, which was joyfully sung by the old bard in 'Leaves of Grass' a century before, has become the world of atom bomb, of human war, of machinery. Ginsberg says: "America I've given you all and now I'm nothing", but when he deepens into the problem he realises that he is America and he is talking to himself. Think about what it means...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great :), 11 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Perfect pocket sized book with the complete poems in it (not just extracts, which i have mistakely bought before!). Very approprietely priced and the introduction most interesting. Would reccomend smaller/less packaging though!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Allen Ginsberg – Howl and Other Poems | Review, 10 July 2014
By 
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Most famous for the epic poem Howl, which launched Ginsberg’s career and caused an obscenity trial, this collection is also notable for greats like America, Sunflower Sutra and In Back of the Real.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 4 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Saw the movie and had to read the original - absolutely brilliant and pocket sized. A lovely little treat at a good price and quick delivery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great condition, 5 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Book was in top condition and arrived with another almost as soon as I had ordered them! Great little book, absolutely no complaints :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sons education, 11 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
as previously bought for sons education purposes and it was thoroughly useful for reasons for purchasing and again worth having
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A neat little book to put in your pocket for the journey, initially banned by the US authorities but now world wide coverage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Howl-Allen Ginsberg's disembodied cry from Hades., 10 Aug. 1996
By A Customer
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Allen Ginsberg's Howl is W.C. Williams vision
of a "New Measure" made concrete. It is not only
a poem, as such but a lyrical cry that echoes
throughout the page and the reader's mind as he/she
lets the words rebound off a boundless
mind/soul. It is as if Ginsberg broke free from
the word-form lines that confine thought and
let his untampered ideas flow free onto the page
and then just leave them there to reform themselves
in the readers mind exactly as Ginsberg thought
them. He not only cast his un-strained thoughts
onto the page but also poured them into a mind-
breath mould that allowed them to be measured
by each breath the mind takes, re-inhaling the
glorious fumes with the base repitition of "Who..."
This not only gives the poem a measurable quality but
also an ethereal quality because it is not measured
physically but with each breath of the mind.
The second stanza is one of industrial wickedness
and power-hunger as well as divine-right rule and
god-like evil. It shows Moloch as The Tyrant and
money, corruption and greed as his arms, legs and blood.
The whole poems shines like a glossy white garage
on a soot covered hill.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece., 3 Aug. 2012
This review is from: Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) (Paperback)
Allen Ginsberg's poem "Howl" was probably the dividing line between two Americas, two generations, two sexualities, two cultures. He was of course indicted and arrested and this poem barred from publication - of course again making it sell a lot more copies eventually - but in a way he was America's first great modern poet. The first line became a sort of countercultural national mantra:

"I saw the best minds of my generation destroyed by madness, starving hysterical naked"

"Howl" presents a view of contemporary society, placing a source of human woe within human consciousness and perception. In his poem, Ginsberg uses the word "Moloch," for the condition of the mind. The narrator declares" Mental Moloch!"... Moloch who name is the Mind!" According to Ginsberg, we are born in a state of "natural ecstasy" but Moloch "enter's the soul early". He pushes for an emergence from the belly of "Moloch," or the monster of corrupt institutions that devours us, "bashe[s]" and eats "up our brains and imaginations."

One of my favorite poems of all time and an absolute must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series)
Howl (Pocket Poets) (City Lights Pocket Poets Series) by Allen Ginsberg (Paperback - 1 Oct. 1986)
£4.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews