Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real translation
Translators Stephen Addiss and Stanley Lombardo have done their best not to reinterpret the Tao Te Ching, but to allow it to speak for itself. This wonderful English version preserves the epigrammatic terseness of the original. The layout and illustrations strike the same note as the text.

What can I say - this is the best way to approach this work, short of...
Published on 3 Nov. 2008 by Mike L

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I am not always sure which one is better, but there are such differences sometimes that I ...
I have an edition of the Tao Te King in French by a Chinese translator. This one is in English by an English translator. I am not always sure which one is better, but there are such differences sometimes that I think I should whether learn Chinese or try to get direct experience of the Tao.....
Published 3 months ago by pierson


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real translation, 3 Nov. 2008
By 
Mike L (Norwich, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
Translators Stephen Addiss and Stanley Lombardo have done their best not to reinterpret the Tao Te Ching, but to allow it to speak for itself. This wonderful English version preserves the epigrammatic terseness of the original. The layout and illustrations strike the same note as the text.

What can I say - this is the best way to approach this work, short of translating it yourself. Warmly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


180 of 186 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A simple & accurate translation stunningly presented., 11 Oct. 2004
By 
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
One of the best translations on the market. An attempt has been made to preserve some of the crystalline terseness of the original which is beyond deep. Also one key line from each section is given in Chinese along with a glossary so that you can make your own translation. For example the third line from Section 29 they translate as "The world is a spiritual vessel", the Chinese being T'ien hsia shen ch'i. On using the glossary it becomes revealed that T'ien hsia means "under heaven" or "lower heaven" - much richer that "world". It would be possible to quibble with any translation, & ideally it would be best to study two or three different translations. However this one comes closest to the spirit of the original.
This book is remarkable & indispensible though for it's presentation & the stunning ink paintings/calligraphy which perfectly compliment the text. You'd be hard pressed to find a more beautiful book anywhere. Recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FREEING, 11 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
If you a swithering as to whether you should buy this book then simply don't. Swither that is. Buy it! Trust in your self and in your ability to understand the gems held within. Then gently put these gems of wisdom and light into practice and your life will change perceptively. You will be surrounded by love or your money back. Ok, so I can't promise this in actuality. But if a sack scratching Neanderthal like me can take in its wisdom and subsequently grow in spirit then you should have no problems. Why don't you use that cash you put aside for a bottle of dodgy merlot to better use and purchase a copy of this timeless companion.

Ps: There's a good car chase at the end!........................................ Ok so I lied.... Hey, small steps................. reeeeally small steps..........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Master work, 1 April 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
The Tao is one of the world's masterworks. So attractive that there are more than 100 contemporary translations. The twenty that I have studied vary between the baffled and interpretative, with 'scholarly' footnotes, to the honest and clear minded attempt to reach back through the old Chinese text to as near exact a meaning as possible. The three wise old professors in this attempt very nearly suceed in the impossible. I shall use this edition as a gift to others with no Chinese who love Master Lao Tzu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Translation I've found, 14 Mar. 2010
By 
P. Hogan "Peter" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
After trawling through several translations on-line and at my local libraries I decided to buy this version. With a mini dictionary at the end and beautiful drawings scattered in-between verses this is a simply wonderful book. The translation is sensible and precise and it features a forward from Burton Watson, who has translated many ancient Chinese books, and a short history with a pronunciation guide as well.
As for the Tao Te Ching itself, I advise anyone who's interested in life outside the normal scope to read this through and through, slowly and taking time in your day to reflect and make it part of your life, A pleasure to own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Acute and Correct, 10 Mar. 2009
By 
S. Crawford "lindao" (Lincolnshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
Suitably sparse, elegant and mysterious. Leaves you free to embrace the uncanny poise and balance of our deepest nature. Where many translations seek to explain, they betray the spirit of the Chinese original, to speak with fewer words, to realise with fewer thoughts. Also they enable you try your hand at your own translaion of selected lines. This alone is worth the purchase. Through doing so you discover the amazing potency and fluency of the Chinese script. You can supply several different but subtely related translations of the same line which amply demonstrates how efficient and poetic it can be. In the same way synonyms elaborate and enhance a single thought, a single line can resonate and glow with related meaning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great translation. Actually, the best I had seen till now!, 21 Dec. 2010
By 
K. Gulias "K.A.G." (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
Concise and very good translation of one of the most wise texts of ancient Chinese literature. It is a very poetical and imagetical translation-work, as I believe in the original Chinese is. It is worth buying if you want to read wisdom and poetry, but not if you want a ego-oriented and self-help intentional, and tendential literature/translation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightfull, 25 Oct. 2010
By 
Marshbbad (Kidderminster, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
Just a fabulously insightful book. If you're in the right frame of mind and need to find your own answers, flick through this and contemplate.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blue print for a better world?, 17 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Kindle Edition)
Having been brought up in a moderately Christian household and having attended schools where daily prayers and bible readings were the norm, I thought divine scriptures were the blue print of how to live ones life. How wrong I have been for such a long time.

If we also followed the Tao Te Ching, I am fairly certain there would be no wars and we would all live in harmony with one another. Also it is older than the New Testament and simpler. I think its simplicity is part of its beauty and I sort of wish I had bought the paperback version instead of the kindle format because of the calligraphy and paintings.

On a lunch break at work, I sat on a small stone bridge in the sunshine in the middle of a nature reserve listening to the peaceful flowing of water and reading the Tao Te Ching, if anyone could experience and feel what I felt, they would understand why this is such a beautiful book. As many others suggest, do not ponder, leave something off your shopping list and buy the book, it will change your perception and, I hope, enlighten you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant in its simplicity, 28 Dec. 2011
By 
J. Lind "thearabianmage" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tao Te Ching (Paperback)
I've read a few 'versions' of the Tao Te Ching - but, as most have already mentioned, the 'translations' used by some of these authors is either let down by their lack of knowledge in either (or both) languages, or implies a particular meaning - so it's not really a translation, but rather a paraphrasing. I don't want that.

It's described in great detail within the forward about the amount of care and detail that a group of both native English and native Chinese scholars have gone through to retain the original sparseness, ambiguity, and the straight-forward charm of the original scriptures, and it really shows.

A fantastic book, the definitive on the subject in my opinion, that I have shared with many, many people. A very simple book with a lot of character and charm. A must for everyone's bookshelf.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tao Te Ching
Tao Te Ching by Lao Tzu (Paperback - 1 Nov. 1993)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews