Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might is right
The cruel past of mankind is the framework for all existing inequalities past and present, proclaims John Stuart Mill in his passionate defense of the equality between men and women.

Natural condition
The only natural condition of the human race was the law of the strongest. A physical fact (strength) became a legal right. Inequality of rights was the...
Published on 1 Jun 2010 by Luc REYNAERT

versus
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Feminist Theory
J. S. Mill is most famous for Utilitarianism and On Liberty, but co-wrote this early piece of feminist theory with his wife. This edition includes notes, but for one with only a general interest in Mill I'd recommend finding a copy of his selected essays as this isn't integral to his thought. If studying feminism though this is a useful precursor to modern theorists such...
Published on 10 April 2002 by Ben Saunders


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Might is right, 1 Jun 2010
By 
Luc REYNAERT (Beernem, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Subjection of Women (Paperback)
The cruel past of mankind is the framework for all existing inequalities past and present, proclaims John Stuart Mill in his passionate defense of the equality between men and women.

Natural condition
The only natural condition of the human race was the law of the strongest. A physical fact (strength) became a legal right. Inequality of rights was the publicly and openly avowed rule of life.
Mankind was divided in two classes: a small one of masters and a numerous one of slaves.
Human society was based on the principle of a fixed place (where one was born) and a fixed social position. The least possible was left to the choice of the individual. All those who resisted the authorities had all laws and all notions of social obligation against them.

Family
After the abolition of slavery, no official slaves remained, except the mistress in every house. The family still reflects the initial `natural' state of inequality. It is a school for despotism with unrestrained power at home for the head of the family in his role of absolute sovereign.

New laws
The legal subordination of one sex to the other must be replaced by a principle of perfect equality. The most universal and pervading of all human relations (marriage) should be regulated by justice. The laws (and institutions) should be adapted to `bad' men, not to `good' ones.
Merit, not birth, is the rightful claim to power and authority.
The free use of women's faculties would double the mass of mental faculties available for the service of mankind.

In this forceful diatribe, which is still highly topical in major parts of our `modern' world, John Stuart Mill extended the goal of his brilliant essay "On Liberty' to the concrete position of one half of the world's population.

It is a must read for all those interested in mankind and its history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Early Feminist Theory, 10 April 2002
By 
Ben Saunders (Stirling, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Subjection of Women (Paperback)
J. S. Mill is most famous for Utilitarianism and On Liberty, but co-wrote this early piece of feminist theory with his wife. This edition includes notes, but for one with only a general interest in Mill I'd recommend finding a copy of his selected essays as this isn't integral to his thought. If studying feminism though this is a useful precursor to modern theorists such as Catharine Mackinnon and Susan Okin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Super fast delivery, good product., 10 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Subjection of Women (Paperback)
Ordered the item Thursday and it arrived the following Monday. For a penny?! Excellent buy, the condition is good and I look forward to reading it in full while I am writing my essay :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
excellent read to have and flick through. classic, good for reading every so often. recommend this to anyone interested in literate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Hard going., 14 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I managed to get half-way through the book and whilst I agree totally with his interpretation on the way that women were treated at that time, I found it somewhat repetitive. The format of the book made it difficult to read too as there were no chapters and no paragraphs. The text just went on and on and I decided to call it a day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Marvellous Victorian Polemic, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
JS Mill wasn't the most economical man with words but what he wrote still has bite and relevance today, even in the West.

As for certain other parts of the World this text should be required reading. It should be rammed down the throat of every obscurantist preacher who seeks to repress the fairer sex in the name of what - violence or religion?

Mill rationally and systematically destroys any argument for repressing women. It's marvelous stuff and all the better for being written so long ago by a man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xaa493ea0)

This product

The Subjection of Women
The Subjection of Women by John Stuart Mill (Paperback - 1 Jan 1988)
3.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews