Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Method
These are the classic Mel Bay series that pretty much started the Mel Bay publishing empire. First written just after the second world war, these have sold in millions. Still a good way to learn to read music on the guitar. The other two ways that mirror beginner to advanced are Mel Bay's son's books called "Mastering the Guitar" (5 book series) or the Berklee William...
Published on 19 Feb 2009 by Chris Downing

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars As described
I only bought this because guitar instructor told me to. Glad to be able to get it online for convenience.
Published 7 months ago by c wilkinson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Classic Method, 19 Feb 2009
By 
Chris Downing "Chris Downing" (Chippenham, Wilts England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
These are the classic Mel Bay series that pretty much started the Mel Bay publishing empire. First written just after the second world war, these have sold in millions. Still a good way to learn to read music on the guitar. The other two ways that mirror beginner to advanced are Mel Bay's son's books called "Mastering the Guitar" (5 book series) or the Berklee William Leavitt series.A Modern Method for Guitar: Volumes 1, 2, 3 CompleteReading Studies for Guitar (positions one through 7 and multi position studies in all keys) If you are leaning to read music you might want to go at this from a different angle and try the "Music Reading for Guitar" from MI Music Reading for Guitar: The Complete Method (Essential Concepts)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Introduction, 22 Feb 2010
By 
Mr. P. J. Taylor (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
Very good book for introducing all, children in particular but suitable for all, to the guitar, approach is good and within a couple of lessons the beginner has a definite sense of progress.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Need the CD too?, 24 Feb 2009
By 
flyinghyphen "flyinghyphen" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
See also: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1, Expanded Edition Spiral-Bound; Product Number: 93200ESET; Format: Book+CD+DVD; ISBN: 0786613696
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better than expected, 12 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
Advised to get this book from my guitar teacher, and it's been a great help all the basics you will need to master the guitar
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars As described, 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
I only bought this because guitar instructor told me to. Glad to be able to get it online for convenience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent value, 13 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
Book was just as described and a perfect manual for my son to get started with. Hasn't put his guitar down since it arrived.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good beginner book for guitar., 31 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
I would recommend this book for anyone starting guitar for the first time (with a teacher probably). Starts from the very basic of tunes to more well-known American folk-tunes towards the end of the book. Reminiscent of the popular old John Thompson Piano Method which went from grade 1 to 5.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 27 Feb 2012
By 
liarliar (Ayr, Scotland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
I bought this to re-begin teaching myself guitar, having abandoned it a few years ago. It's great for learning how to read music rather than tabs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best Guitar Tutors for beginners with no fancy gimmicks, 24 Jan 2012
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
One of the best book out there for learning guitar and sheet music, simple to follow and includes a
DVD & CD. DVD well produced without the fancy gimmicks (Look how good I am). If you're a beginner, this
is a must starting point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mel Bay Guitar Method, 22 July 2011
This review is from: Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 (Paperback)
This is bok one in the series and is structered to help the beginning guitarist to learn essential elements that lead to mastering the art of playing the guitar in a well organised manner I have used this method in my teaching for quite a number of years as it sets up a good foundation on which to develop ones playing I can highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Guitar Method Grade 1
Modern Guitar Method Grade 1 by Mel Bay (Paperback - 1 Nov 1948)
4.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews