Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill's artful snapshots
William Eggleston's photos grow on you. Look through this book for the first time and the contents seem a bit like ordinary snapshots but look again and then again and with each viewing the images become more familiar (still with something fresh to discover each time) but now they start to blend together seamlessly. One reason for this, I think, is that the photos capture...
Published on 8 April 2003 by Robin Benson

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark prints, missing some important works
Bad print, some photos are too much dark. Missing some important works of this artist. I'm searching for other collections
Published 17 months ago by Davide Tambuchi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bill's artful snapshots, 8 April 2003
By 
Robin Benson - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
William Eggleston's photos grow on you. Look through this book for the first time and the contents seem a bit like ordinary snapshots but look again and then again and with each viewing the images become more familiar (still with something fresh to discover each time) but now they start to blend together seamlessly. One reason for this, I think, is that the photos capture the everyday and the ordinary. Taken around Eggleston's hometown of Memphis and in the Deep South, they show some of his relations, street scenes, interiors, buildings and more, though the captions only state the locations. John Szarkowski says in the books introduction "..today's most radical and suggestive colour photography derives much of its vigor from commonplace models" This capturing of the everyday and in colour divided the critics in 1976 when the Museum of Modern Art used seventy-five of Egglestons's images for their first exhibition of colour photography. The 'Guide' unfortunately only shows forty-eight from the show.

Art photography until this exhibition was in black and white and had been for years, colour photos were mostly for ads, commercial print and snapshots. Thankfully the Museum's curator of photography, Szarkowski, had the good sense to allow the public to see something new and fresh. I think the 'Guide' is a good introduction to Eggleston and if you like his creative vision, as I do, have a look at these two books of his work:The Democratic Forest and Ancient & Modern. Both are full of wonderful colour photos of the American everyday.

+++LOOK AT SOME INSIDE SPREADS by clicking 'customer images' below the cover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Keeper, 4 Jun 2013
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
One of the greatest books I've ever bought. Deeply inspiring and obviously very seminal it's a book that I view a lot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Dark prints, missing some important works, 12 May 2013
By 
Davide Tambuchi "Davide" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
Bad print, some photos are too much dark. Missing some important works of this artist. I'm searching for other collections
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Intriguing, well-presented, 18 May 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
I bought this book for inspiration for a photography project. I found that I have dipped into it several times for ideas and to contemplate what Eggleston was trying to capture in each photograph. The introduction is informative as well- woth a read for anyone trying to gain more of an insight into the world of photography and it's masters!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eggleston, 8 Feb 2011
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
This book is a great way to familiarise yourself with Eggleston's work. A series of photos taken in and around Memphis, his home city, in Tennessee. I didn't like his Paris book too much, but this book shows eggleston's beautiful use of colour (they don't call him the godfather of colour for nothing), of people's homes, children, women...he works in a strong but delicate way, making boring things exciting and inquisitive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great item, 29 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
I'm real very happy with the item! It's new, with fantastic quality and price. Just like i thought it'll be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars William Eggleston Guide, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
Excellent quality and the photos are very nice as i excepted from Eggleston! But it is very small and i would like to have it more photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic review of a master of viewing on a master of colour, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
John Szarkowski is absolutely undisputed and he presents the most classic pictures of William Eggleston he has discovered in the late 1960's. Of course I like Eggleston's style and approach, as I like many of the pictures Szarkowski has selected for us to view, giving an beautiful insight in the photographer's approach.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 20 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
This is the best. It has some of my most beloved photos in and I love to recreate them. If you like his work this is the book for you .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The emperors new clothes, 22 Feb 2012
This review is from: William Eggleston's Guide (Hardcover)
William Egglestons work appears to provoke more debate than many contemporary masters of photography
At first viewing most of the images look like mere snap shots, almost as though the camera went off before the photographer was ready.
However persevere and you will see an inner beauty and familiarity to these shots which is all well and dandy
Until you realise that maybe many of us can achieve simular results & given the art establishments backing can soar on to the heady heights secured by Mr Eggleston.
Try it !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

William Eggleston's Guide
William Eggleston's Guide by John Szarkowski (Hardcover - 21 Oct 2002)
£15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews