Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars12
3.0 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 October 2001
5000 words is rather few for a two-way dictionary. The print is large, the borders are huge and there's only a single column(around 35 words a page)
But it's the only one that's affordable outside of Iceland. If you want to study Icelandic, this is your only choice, live with it, and learn this dictionary by heart(that's what I did!), you have enough words in here to become quite fluent.
0Comment19 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2000
This is a pocket dictionary containing "over 5000 entries". It looks like it is a reprint of a much older dictionary, it contains words like 'smallpox' and 'telegram' but lacks many more up-to-date words. It doesn't contain much grammatical information either. For the serious student of Icelandic, this is a poor dictionary. But for the traveller, it may be good enough.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 November 2005
Contents of the book show the printing quality of those old fashioned miniature dictionaries. With good quality printing and type-setting they could have printed at least twice as many words on one page or they could have made a really pocket-sized booklet. Entries are not described phonetically. I am thinking about returning the book.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This is really just a list of words, printed ratther horribly on cheap paper. It looks like somebody typed the list out and they went straight to print. It's not at all like other small dictionaries in the quality of its production though the cover is nice.
More worryingly, I've already noticed a couple of pretty basic words that are simply missing, so as a list of words, it isn't exactly complete, and probably wasn't researched like a Collins. I also noticed that some words still have the letter 'z' which was of course abolished some time ago in Icelandic, so it's not even up to date.
The saving grace is that it's small, pocketable, and you don't have much choice if you want a reasonably priced English-Icelandic/Icelandic-English dictionary. Yet.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 1998
This dictionary looks rather small, but it actually has a large amount of words in it. Its too bad that they didn't explain some of the grammatical aspects. All in all, this book is well worth it if you want to study Icelandic.
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2003
Reasonably priced and generally good. I found it useful for my study of icelandic although it lacks modern words such as 'computer' and 'stereo' and gives words such as 'fever' and 'disease'. Its the only cheap and quality book so I recommend it to beginners of icelandic
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2012
I purchased the dictionary because I wanted to learn Icelandic. A lot of the words used when speaking Icelandic do not appear in the dictionary!

The quality of the layout and printing was also disappointing. Faint words in some places and small bits of letters left off.

Not sure this is the best book to use!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
It would have been helpful if each of the letter sections (words beginning with A, B, C etc) had been indicated on the edges of the pages - this made it difficult to search for words quickly. I also noticed that a number of modern words (such as 'internet', 'computer' etc) were absent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
In adddition to the poor quality of the book itself, the information seems primarily geared for Icelandic speakers improving their English. I did not find it as helpful as I needed for going from English to Icelandic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2014
Eg. "acre" def. given not in Icelandic. Clear print. Up to date. Good pronounciation guide. This book is good value.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.