Customer Reviews


41 Reviews
5 star:
 (34)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple, elegant, persuasive
This writing in this book is straightforward yet beautifully elegant. The author examines over twenty commonly held economic assumptions. In doing so, he exposes what he considers to be faulty thinking and widely assumed fallacies.

This book is written from a classical liberal standpoint. Each `fallacy' is considered in a discrete chapter. Each chapter is in...
Published on 7 Jun. 2006 by Sébastien Pétain

versus
17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An introduction, but can be a little wordy and tedious!
A fairly straightforward book explaining in simple terms some very basic economic principles. However, I felt that the information imparted could have been done in a much shorter book as it tends to go on in much the same way about each subject, often veering dangerously close to being a rant. Mr Hazlitt writes in the style of a grumpy, opinionated Daily Mail reader,...
Published on 10 Nov. 2011 by Kuma


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars If you are interested in economy then this is a book for you., 25 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I would recommend this book for everyone who is really interested in economy.
I choose this rating because it explains the idea of `free market` which is in this case an economy in which government and bureaucrats creating it make as little amount of regulations as possible. In the beginning of the book author says that it is his intention to convey his message to as wide number of people as possible. That is why he decided to use every-day language in its simplest form. I think that he menage to do it. Thanks to the simplicity of the language I could understand his lesson.
In this book he gives numerous examples in which he shows government attempt to regulate an economy in the name of ..., to make it better and to improve the wellbeing of some groups of interest. He shows how those acts and policies often have unintended consequences which in many cases have derogatory effects on economy as a whole. He reminds as that as with many things there are two sides of the story, one negative and one positive.
If you read it then you will be able to notice deceptions and illusions which are created intentionally or not by bureaucrats and politicians and other economist.
It is a small refreshing book. In the end of the book you will be rewarded with a nice list of books to read.
Everyone can read it, and that is what makes this book amazing. It was pleasure to read it because.
If there is a common sense then this book is full of it. You will be surprised how insightful his observations are, just enough to convey the idea without loosing someone in detail.
Someone in reviews wrote that this book is not about economics. That person is wrong. It`s all about economics. It is about the world in which we live and our cooperation with each other in it. It shows how that cooperation can improve our lives or not, and what has positive or negative impact on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Explodes the myths, 12 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this some time ago and it ended up in the 'to read' pile. As I was going on hols I thought I should read it as it was recommended. Glad I did. The book does not go into minute detail but takes the line of a thorough overview, the policies enacted and the 'wisdom' of the present age on economies, shining some most needed light. It reveals the smoke and mirrors of politics, the effects along with unseen and generally ignored side effects of policy. Simply put economics is a zero sum gain. If someone wins there is a loser. If the government taxes to give to someone else, someone loses. If there is a work program to help a section of the community it comes at the expense of another part of the community. As the vision of politicians and the media is so narrow you rarely see the wider implications. This book will give you those wider implications and despite the assurance of our leaders it is getting better and that they have the answers. The reality is they do not have the answers, they are doing what has been proven to fail in the past and things are getting worse. There again looking today at the economy, jobs, prices and inflation we know that anyway. This book will give you a perspective to understand why this is the case. It also will show why productive wealth creating jobs that seem so despised are essential while their replacements may not be. Just look at the rise of bureaucracy and regulation, there are becoming more people to prevent you from doing any useful productive work than actually carrying it out. Altas Shrugged before one's own eyes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Economic literacy, 15 Jan. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If people want to understand the abyss governments have dragged us into, then this economics primer is a start.

The media is overloaded with doom and gloom concerning the economy; and they are right. However there is little explanation as to why this financial mess has occurred other than "'twas the banker that did it". The questions that should be asked are: Why is the Eurozone collapsing? Why are anti-capitalists invading the city? Why are students protesting and unions striking and also what would be the outcome if their demands are met? Why is unemployment so high? Why is housing so expensive? And the most important question: What can be done about it? Surprisingly I found the answer in this book.

Here is an excerpt on inflation.

"Like every other tax, inflation acts to determine the individual and business policies we are all forced to follow. It discourages all prudence and thrift. It encourages squandering, gambling, reckless waste of all kind. If often makes it more profitable to speculate than to produce. It tears apart the whole fabric of stable economic relationships. Its inexcusable injustices drive men towards desperate remedies. It plants the seeds of fascism and communism. It leads men to demand totalitarian controls. It ends invariably in bitter disillusion and collapse."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best economics book ever, 7 Feb. 2011
Best economics book I have ever read!
Every politician should be forced to read it before taking up their seat!

But it should be called "The Complete Idiot's Guide to Debunking Economic Myths" so politicians will be more likely to read it. They don't like learning "lessons"!

Clear, concise, logical.
Repudiates most political policies and explains why they are so wrong!
What more can one ask for!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars free market economics, 17 Nov. 2004
If you want a simple book about right wing - free market economics this is the book. It's written in a simple manner that even I with no economic background can understand. Specifically the book adovacates less government, less tax and less bureacracy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Biased., 22 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. I. Erem - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
and although im on the same page with him, in his views; this is not "economics in one lesson". it should've been titled "libertarian economic ideas in one lesson"... it's heavily political and the title is misleading as if it's going to teach you a clutter-free version of an academic "economics 101".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good read; worth the time (and money, although not expensive) invested!, 25 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An excellent read; I fully recommend it. It's very insightful into the fundamentals that all of Economics is based on and easy to read for someone who has not really done Economics in the past - I hadn't!

It does certainly raise questions of competency regarding the choosen economic policies in this country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Economy as the science of common sense., 8 Oct. 2011
By 
V. H. Svoboda (Hampshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Outstanding summary of classical economy, including common sense instead of graphs and tables. As happens with books that become classics it has lost nothing of its relevance today. It should become a compulsory textbook for the simple minds of politicians playing games with economy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The only book on economics that you need to ever read., 23 Nov. 2013
By 
Nick Lincoln (Watford, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If you only read one book on economics make it this one. It should be compulsory at school level, as much for the teachers as the pupils!

The central thesis is the rule of unforeseen or ignored secondary consequences of economic decisions. For example, the tax rate rise which brings in a specified amount for the state, which it will spend on xxx. What you don't see or hear about are the businesses that don't start up because of that tax hike, the jobs that aren't created, and so on.

As you may expect the book is not for those few left who think Keynes had the right idea. This book was first published shortly after the Second World War and updated in the 1970s. Sadly it's as relevant now as it was then. Amazingly prescient.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good Book, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Arrived on time and was in excellent condition ... I am enjoying the lesson in Economics and am now understanding it, something I was told I wasn't intelligent enough to understand. I now realise I knew more than that person... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Economics in One Lesson
Economics in One Lesson by Henry Hazlitt (Paperback - 1979)
Used & New from: £2.77
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews