Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended by Bizarre Magazine
The following is the review of Hi-Fructose given by Bizarre Magazine (154):

"Occasionally, a book comes into the Bizarre office that brings work grinding to a halt. Usually it's full of naked girls writhing around on grotty hotel beds - or perverted furries giving each other a good seeing-to - but when this hardback collection of hard-to-find Hi-Fructose art...
Published on 30 Aug 2009 by Ms. L. M. Morris

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat hit and miss!
I bought this collection of Hi Fructose as I already own the second volume - and as this first collection had a Ray Caesar image on the front, decided to buy it. I have to say, I am a little disappointed; yes it has a good selection of Ray Caesar's work in it - discovered him via Weirdo Noir book and fell in love with his work! - but apart from him, Mark Ryden, Ron...
Published on 24 Dec 2011 by M. Bridgeman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended by Bizarre Magazine, 30 Aug 2009
By 
Ms. L. M. Morris (Hampshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
The following is the review of Hi-Fructose given by Bizarre Magazine (154):

"Occasionally, a book comes into the Bizarre office that brings work grinding to a halt. Usually it's full of naked girls writhing around on grotty hotel beds - or perverted furries giving each other a good seeing-to - but when this hardback collection of hard-to-find Hi-Fructose art magazines arrived in Bizarre Towers, all hopes of hitting deadline flew out the window. Showcasing a huge selection of alternative artists who'll already be familiar to Bizarre readers and fans of our Dark Art section - including Mark Ryden, Tim Biskup and Michael Salter - the biggest appeal of Hi-Fructose is its technicoloured avalanche of surreal, hilarious and often deeply disturbing artwork, making this a book that you can keep returning to and always spot something different. And as the gorgeous illustrations are punctuated with smart and informed articles on the artists in question, and interviews with the people behind the artwork, reading Hi-Fructose is a delirious joy, and will hopefully provide an inspirational jump-off point for amateur artists to develop their own skills."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Book!!, 8 Mar 2010
By 
M. Stokes (UK, ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
The first thing that grabbed me about this book was the cover-so unusual-i had to buy it!!crammed with loads of great artists women and men alike would love this book!!from sculpture, textiles and graphic design work amongst other forms of art-if you are an art student or involved in any way with visual arts practice then you should get this book!!the pictures are good but the great thing is that the pictures have accompanying text so it is useful if you need to write essays. Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars JUST BUY IT, 25 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
What a werd and wonderful collectoin of artists. Quality oozes from this book, dynamic layout (double page fold outs) and lots of imagery and a good balance of insightful interviews. If you love books and want to expand your mind with new artists this is the book for you. If you are thinking about it don't just buy it. You won't regret it, I can't wait for the next edition as I bought both volume 1 and 2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good value, 29 Oct 2012
By 
J. Lamb "larry the lamb" (south coast) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
I have fructose one and two, i have the collectors box set of vol 2, vol one is just the book on own. lots of nice work in there and plenty to go thru and good value for money hence 4 stars
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars somewhat hit and miss!, 24 Dec 2011
By 
M. Bridgeman "Silverscreen" (exeter devon U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
I bought this collection of Hi Fructose as I already own the second volume - and as this first collection had a Ray Caesar image on the front, decided to buy it. I have to say, I am a little disappointed; yes it has a good selection of Ray Caesar's work in it - discovered him via Weirdo Noir book and fell in love with his work! - but apart from him, Mark Ryden, Ron English, Greg 'Craola' Simkins, Alex Pardee and Jenny Bird and one or two others, the rest leaves me kind of cold. . ? That is no way to denigrate their work; it just doesn't do anything for me like the above mentioned. I had debated sending it back - but desisted. O.K. - seventeen quid plus postage is a fair bit to pay for a small handful of artist's work, but, well, I guess I'm just a sucker for quality over quantity in this case . . . and I do love Ray Caesar's work!! (Have I mentioned that?!!)
Don't let this review put anyone off buying it - we all like different forms of art, and there may well be artist's work contained within these pages that although I don't particularly like, may well appeal to others.
I just yearn for the day when an affordable volume of Mr. Caesar's work becomes available in the U.K.! Please?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High sugar No Syrup, 2 May 2010
By 
Dr. Delvis Memphistopheles "FIST" (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 (Hardcover)
An artistic revolution has formed.

In the UK it has been picked up by Forbidden Planet, Bizarre and Nude magazine. Meanwhile the portals of high taste pickw modern navel fluff and faecal balls out its collective belly buttons.

Hi Fructose, the magazine; combines Dali surreal, post punk currents whipped with absurdism to showcase true volts and jolts of outer perception, somewhat garnered from cult TV. Mark Ryden, king of the devastating pastel lala land reveals through his strange view, an interior perception. Scott Musgrove a gondowannaland paeleontologist redraws the dinosaur map through the prism of other dreamworlds. Jim Woodring croaks his frogs, cat and toys to take you back to childhood but with the kitsch and schmaltx removed. Gary Baseman unveils another aesthetic dreamworld of 50's childhood anumels. These are just some of the artists.

This details an interior surreal world devoid of Freud of apolitical, asexual but also highly disturbing childhood dystopias, now reworked as adult spite. The kindred spirits to the more visceral Jake and Dinos.

This book brings them all together to create a grand opening into another narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1
Hi-Fructose Collected Edition: 1 by Annie Owens (Hardcover - 4 Jun 2009)
25.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews