Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advent peace
A passage, a reflection, so far so familiar a pattern. Where this little book differs is the author - Richard Rohr - whose approach and whose writing bring these reflections into a different spiritual sphere.

If you have encountered his other writings, you will know him for an inspired communicater. If you haven't read his other works then I hope you'll want to...
Published on 9 Dec 2011 by BookBeetle

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars advent meditations
This is a good resource for making the Advent Season a period for spiritual reflection. I appreciate the depth of thought from Richard Rohr, which leads us to consider our lives in the light of gospel truths. The language is at times complex, so not as suited as I would have wanted for teenagers.
Published on 10 Dec 2011 by dattletale


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Advent peace, 9 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
A passage, a reflection, so far so familiar a pattern. Where this little book differs is the author - Richard Rohr - whose approach and whose writing bring these reflections into a different spiritual sphere.

If you have encountered his other writings, you will know him for an inspired communicater. If you haven't read his other works then I hope you'll want to read more.

To prepare for Christmas, this is a book full of delight and the chance of peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars closer to god, 12 Dec 2010
By 
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
The commercial christmas is in full swing.Tills are ringing,people are getting more frustrated and worried. What is the answer? Richard Rohr suggests it is turning aside from the worldly pressures and taking time out. Who are we to spend time with? With jesus,Son of God.God asks us to let go of the demands of the world,itscluttering up of our life.God wants to give us fullness of life and true happiness. Read this book day by day and feel the world slipping off and peace enter your heart.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking, 13 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
A very inspirational and thought provoking book which I will be able to use over and over again for many more Advents to come, I may be tempted to form a group to share these meditations next year which would be another way of enriching and nourishing our spirits.
Thank you Richard - please keep writing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas reading, 27 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
This was an interesting and stimulating read as a daily preparation for and before Christmas. I will certainly use it again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars advent meditations, 10 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
This is a good resource for making the Advent Season a period for spiritual reflection. I appreciate the depth of thought from Richard Rohr, which leads us to consider our lives in the light of gospel truths. The language is at times complex, so not as suited as I would have wanted for teenagers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Meat for Christmas!, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
I'm so glad this didn't turn out to be a trite collection of quotes for Christmas garnered by Rohr's publishers. Instead, it's a challenging, thought-provoking, consoling and stirring collection of meditations. I got a bit list in the liturgical pattern towards the end (when there seemed to be lots of added days!) but will definitely be returning next December - if not before.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just lovely, 11 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
It's Richard Rohr! What's not to like? A wonderful way to prepare for Christmas, 'thoughts for the day' beyond the banal material available in other 'daily reading' publications. Richard Rohr will always get you thinking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Preparing for Christmas, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
Yes, i found this helpful reading through the season of Advent - Richard Rohr always hits the mark with pithy comments
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Used for Advent, 25 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
We found the meditations of some help as we reflected on the coming Christmas, we did expect the book to contain slightly
more reflections, but it was fine and did help, thank-you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When Rohr dies I hope another prophet arises., 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent (Paperback)
This stuff keeps the bare feet on the naked journey. When the preparation for the arrival of spirit filled flesh is necessary this keeps the steps earthed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent
Preparing for Christmas: Daily Meditations for Advent by Richard Rohr (Paperback - 1 July 2008)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews