Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£39.89+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2005
Nothing really compares to this book. Although the Altman text on Medical Statistics (althoug the available edition is rather old) is a serious contender, there are currently no alternatives, which manages to discuss clinical statistics in such clear language. The authors have recently updated the book with very good chapters on meta-analysis and GLM. There are several alternative american textbooks, but compared to this book, you'll quickly realize that most american writers just cannot write. Highly recommended.
0Comment|23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2007
I have been doing an MSc in Medical statistics at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine. This book covers much of the material taught on their MSc but in a much clearer, more logical and less haphazard way. Well done Betty Kirkwood, you have achieved what other books and LSHTM lecturers could not. I only wish I had seen this book at the start of the course.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2003
This book starts with an introduction describing how it will approach the subject, and to be quite honest it mightve well not have bothered. This section just seemed over complex and unnecessary.
The subject matter itself though is excellent, written in an easy uncomplicated language i found most concepts easy to follow making it an excellent tutor book. The book stresses the important points while directing the reader away from the concepts that are less likely to be used. The examples quoted are simple to follow and relevant to the medical subject area.
The book could perhaps have been improved with a few additional exercise (and supplied soluations) to help with understanding, but realistically there isnt much more you could expect from a book of this type.
Highly recommended!
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
I bought this book when it first came out and have referred to it again and again ever since. Simple, straightforward explanations of the statistical concepts you need to understand. Brilliant. I recommend it to everyone who asks me about stats.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 June 2014
Wonderfully clear book. I credit it with doing what multiple lectures and books have so far been unable to do - make me understand the principles and uses of stats! It makes the headscratching discipline so much easier to understand. No previous knowledge is assumed and so everything is explained but not in a patronising manner and with good examples. The chapters build on each other and harder chapters include reminders of basic concepts. Who knew a stats book could be so well written! Puts other books to shame.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2010
Lots of books are described as essential; but if you're an epidemiologist or need to understand how the medical statistics which underpins epidemiology work then this one really is (in my experience).

It explains all the key statistical techniques in a way that minimises the need for a formal background in statistics itself. Of course you do still need to be numerate! It's divided into 6 parts plus an appendix containing statistical tables:

A - the basics
B - analysis of numerical outcomes (from means and standard deviations through to regression and transformations)
C - analysis of binary outcomes (including chi-squared tests and logistic regression)
D - longitudinal studies (Poisson regression and survival analysis, etc)
E - statistical modelling (including a section introducing you to Bayesian statistics)
F - study design, analysis and interpretation

Very comprehensive, very user-friendly.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2016
I received this title whilst a medical student to review for the publisher and complete this review now as a junior doctor.

Despite this title now being 13 years’ post-publication, if you are at medical school and looking for a textbook on medical statistics then I would say that this title is worth your consideration getting out of the library in the early years in order to get the most important medical statistics techniques honed. It does go beyond the level that a medical student would necessarily be expected to know and lacks any true colour but for content that it contains, medical statistics has not made much of the content of this title over the years to be invalid today.

In conclusion if you want a textbook on medical statistics then I would encourage you to consider this title alongside others such as medical statistics made easy, oxford handbook of medical statistics and medical statistics at a glance and find which is the most useful for yourself through getting them out of your hospital/university library.

Competing Interests: Junior Doctor Book Reviewer - I received this title for free from the publisher whilst a Medical Student in order to review
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
I am useless at statistics but unfortunately in medicine it is a necessary evil. Essential Medical Statistics is by far the most user-friendly statistics book I have come across and covers everything you need to know. The book guides you through working out statistics in an easy to follow and logical way. Highly recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2013
This book has really good statistical explanations it is very easy to understand. It does not have practice questions, if it did I would have given it 5 stars.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2013
This is a great and essential text book for Medical Statistics. Highly recommend to anyone undergoing an MPH or health related analysis.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse