Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent therapeutic story for use with adults and children
As a psychotherapist working with children and adults, I am always on the look out for good therapeutic stories. This is a lovely examply. Beautiful illustrations and the story appeals to the unconscious longings of all age groups. Well worth buying. My 6 year old loved it too!
Published on 16 July 2001 by jacqui

› See more 5 star, 4 star reviews
versus
3.0 out of 5 stars excellent!
My most favourite M. Sutherland book. So sad, but so helpful. Even to read to adults who struggle to understand a child's longing to see the moon (parent) smile.
Published 5 months ago by C

› See more 3 star, 2 star, 1 star reviews

‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent therapeutic story for use with adults and children, 16 July 2001
By 
As a psychotherapist working with children and adults, I am always on the look out for good therapeutic stories. This is a lovely examply. Beautiful illustrations and the story appeals to the unconscious longings of all age groups. Well worth buying. My 6 year old loved it too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The frog who longed for the moon to smile., 17 May 2011
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
Excellent book, I have an 8 year old foster son who's personal issues with attachment and loss are crushing him emotionally, which in turn is affecting his ability to achieve academically and socially. After a bad day at school I read this story to him. He really identified with the frog in the story. It helped him realise he's not the only child and sent a little message home to help him to try to move forward with his life. Books like this one are invaluable to me in helping him to find the right tools to cope with his life situation.I would recommend it to anyone working with children in care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The frog who longed for the moon to smile, 1 Jun. 2011
By 
L. Holden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
As a learning mentor, I collect books to read in school to some young children who at times with emotional problems, where we discuss what is happening in the book and is amazing to hear how the children at times relate the stories to themselves, and this story has been read a few times already regarding friendship problems. Lovely story. Arrived quick with no chasing up. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars not only for children, 17 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
This is a great story for anyone who yearns for lost love and belonging.If loss and longing can sometimes leave us feeling as though that's all we feel, reading this story somehow helps those feelings weigh a lot less.I did really feel emotionally lighter after I read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, 29 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
This is a beautiful and sensitive story to help children who have suffered from wanting love from someone who can't give it or meet their needs. I've used it with my adopted children and it has been such a comfort to them. It's a wonderful story and makes sense to children and adults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sadness, 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
A book for children who have been bereaved or loss of any sort good for parents and counsellors to read to their children
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thankyou for this helpful lovely book, 17 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
I was searching for books to help my daughter come to terms with her feelings - longing for a person who has absented themselves from her life. We both found this book helpful in a more subtle way than some of the other books we came across (although they seem thin on the ground) and has been read a number of times now not only by me to her, but also by herself. I am very grateful to the writer, thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommend, 5 Nov. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
My foster children really enjoyed this book. It put it into perspective for them, that it's ok to have sad days and not to feel guilt about being happy and moving on. It is also very useful for nurture groups or individuals when they have experienced losing someone special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have recommended to others and will look at getting others in ..., 20 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
sensitively and powerfully written. I have recommended to others and will look at getting others in the series. well produced in quality of materials and content.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars excellent!, 22 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Frog Who Longed for the Moon to Smile: A Story for Children Who Yearn for Someone They Love (Helping Children with Feelings) (Paperback)
My most favourite M. Sutherland book. So sad, but so helpful. Even to read to adults who struggle to understand a child's longing to see the moon (parent) smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
A Nifflenoo Called Nevermind: A Story for Children Who Bottle Up Their Feelings (Helping Children with Feelings)
4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (16)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

The Day the Sea Went out and Never Came Back (Helping Children with Feelings)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (19)   
Buy new£10.99
In stock

Willy and the Wobbly House: A Story for Children Who are Anxious or Obsessional (Helping Children with Feelings)
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7)   
Buy new£10.68
In stock