Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Invaluble resource on selective mutism, 29 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
I would recommend this book for anyone who has any experience with selective mutism. I worked with Maggie Johnson for a number of years as a teenager and the help she gave me has without doubt changed my life and given me the confidence to go from someone who couldn't even answer the register or talk to anyone outside of my immediate family to an outgoing, sociable 20-something with a fantastic career in the music industry. I am used as a case study throughout this manual and my experiences along with those of the other children included add a very real human element to the narrative. Every technique described in this book has been tried and tested, and as someone who has been helped by these methods I can't praise them highly enough. Maggie's expertise shines through throughout the book and for me it was a revelation to go from simply understanding what it was like to live with the condition to finally realising why I felt the way I did. For anyone who wants to gain more understanding of selective mutism or to understand how to help somebody with it, this book is by far the market leader. Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tells you everything you need to know, 5 Feb 2010
By 
JoannaG (Midlands, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
If you have a child with selective mutism, you need to get this book, without a doubt. I hesitated to spend so much money, but once I did get it I realised it tells you absolutely everything you need to know to really help your child make progress and get better from this distressing anxiety condition. Looked at in that light, it really isn't too much money.

It is a very comprehensive manual which can be used professionally by speech therapists and psychologists and has comprehensive sections about assessment as well as treatment, but it is certainly not full of jargon and is easily accessible to a parent to help put in place a programme of treatment for their child, whether or not a professional is involved as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Book on the market, 16 Nov 2009
By 
Mr. L. Duffy (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
This is undoubtedly the bible of selective mutism. I have purchased 5 copies over the years to give to various people.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 8 Aug 2010
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
This manual has been really helpfull with explanations, advice and pages which can be used as handouts. Selective mutism is complex and can present differently to contacts of subject and this can lead to misunderstanding and conflict of professionals dealing with the child/student. This manual covered this very well and has enabled me to bring all those working with the student/child together in one working model. Excellent I would recommend to everyone dealing with the condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars selective mutism, 5 April 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
I have a son with selective mutism so I purchased this book to give to his new school as they have no idea what to do with him. I read it first and found it to be very good lets hope it helps school.Maggie jhohnson is an inspiration I wish there were more of her around the country. The best book ive bought in years very informative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very useful, 31 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
This book is a very useful resource manual. It helped me to plan my therapy and has some handouts for the adults and school containing the most important information for them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars SD, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
Very good and useful book.. Very good for language therapists and all other professionals working with children population! I also find it really detailed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource book., 3 Jun 2014
By 
T Swift "Micaro" (Shropshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
Thoroughly usefull - will stay on my bookshelf for many years to come. This book has also helped me with my therapy work to produce some useful interventions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great resource which arrived quickly and in great condition., 1 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
A very useful and easy-to-access resource containing factsheets to share and a range of activities to do.
Suitable for a range of ages and useful for anywone working with a selectively mute child.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Written by people who understand:, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) (Spiral-bound)
This is a practical and helpful book. We are using it with a child who has selective mutism in school
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook)
The Selective Mutism Resource Manual (A Speechmark practical sourcebook) by Alison Wintgens (Spiral-bound - 21 Jun 2001)
£29.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews