Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
124
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 December 2008
Well there's certainly no flowery language here,a tale of life as it is for millions of people,in fact probably most of the population in some way or another,just they don't write it down like Mr Bukowski did.A good compelling story of everyday folk,I'd recommend you buy 'notes of a dirty old man'as well,for the full horror.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2009
This book is hilarious! From page one it hits the ground running, its crude, funny, to the point and a little bit tragic in places.

Buckowski's writing isnt everybody's cup of tea. He is direct way past the point of offensive. However it's original, written at a blistering pace and highly entertaining.

Enjoy!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2008
Every Bukowski novel you are guaranteed to have a good time reading it and this one is no different. The simplicity of the writing allows his soul to shine through. I love easy reads that are also affecting and this is one of the finest examples.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2014
Not as unusual as some made out but enjoyed surrendering myself to the touchingly honest style and liked the well observed take on some of the absurdity we tolerate. Made a nice change of style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2013
Thank you
This is a classic, I had to buy it for my son, who has started delivering mail.
This book is a must read.
May Charles Bukowski rest in joy, in his posthum office.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2015
A tremendous journey into the bowels of the American Dream from low-life perspective. Irreverent, imaginative and vibrant. Exactly the Book you couldn't lend your Granny. Recommended!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 June 2016
Having heard people rave about this novel I finally succumbed. A drunken bore's ramble. Repetitive, dull and badly written. Avoid! Life is too short.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2015
Great read. Fantastic introduction to Bukowski. Grim moments and loses a bit of focus in the last quarter of the novel, but otherwise very enjoyable. Couldn't put it down.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 March 2013
I enjoyed reading this. A lot of hype about it which might be a bit over the top, but a fun and quick read. Certainly a nice change from "garbage" tv.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
Love everything this guys written, even his poetry, I recommend this to anyone who loves Bukowski's work also check out woman...thats a great read aswell.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.03
£8.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.