Customer Reviews


9 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rain on the wind is a beautiful book. Set in the west of Ireland in ..., 27 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Kindle Edition)
Having lost my entire paperback collection of Walter Macken books in a house move many years ago, it was a huge thrill to discover that they have recently been re-issued for kindle. I have begun to re-discover the reason I spent a couple of years back in the 70s collecting and reading everything that this author ever wrote. Rain on the wind is a beautiful book. Set in the west of Ireland in the 1940s it paints a vivid picture of life in this harsh but beautiful Atlantic landscape. My second read was even better than my first.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Walter Mackin's Rain on the Wind, 5 Sept. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Paperback)
This book is one of the most enjoyable that I have recently read. Because I live in Ireland I really appreciated the writing, the description of the scenery and the difficult lifestyle of the people. This book inspired me to buy his trilogy but this was hard reading, dealing with the Irish and their troubled past. Nevertheless I did manage to get right through all three books, learning alot of history as I read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent - couldn't put it down!, 15 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Paperback)
Absolutely brilliant story-telling. It had me hooked from start to finish, causing many smiles and tears along the way. This was my first experience of Walter Macken and now I can't wait to read some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Claddagh, 19 Aug. 2010
By 
R. O'SHEA (Cardiff Wales UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Paperback)
I bought this book for two reasons. 1. I spent a number of years in Galway where this play is set and can remember the
last remnants of the Claddagh Village. I also knew the son of Walter Macken and had met his father a number of times. the
book itself is a most enjoyable read for that reason.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mackenzie at his best, 9 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the wind (Kindle Edition)
Re-read this after 30 year gap. One of the best books I have ever read.One of Ireland's master storytellers. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars captivating, 8 Mar. 2013
This review is from: Rain on the wind (Kindle Edition)
I first read this over 30 years ago. Macken had me spellbound by his characters and their lives as they dealt with growing up and surviving in a harsh world. It is a story beautifully written.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A very special read, 7 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Paperback)
This is a beautifully written book. The characters and the country side are described so well and become very real. I found myself very involved in it all, sometimes I laughed, sometimes I cried but loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars good story, 23 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Kindle Edition)
Recommend this book to anyone with a knowledge of the west of Ireland
It is a very good read and worth buying
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 15 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rain on the Wind (Paperback)
One of Irelands Greatest!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rain on the Wind
Rain on the Wind by Walter Macken (Paperback - 21 Feb. 1998)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews