Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars9
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 December 2000
Once again Idries Shah produces a teaching text of incredible clarity and impact.This book pokes,prods and provokes you to a new understanding of yourself and how you relate to reality,preparing the way for an experiential grasp of the Sufi teaching.Only those brave enough to listen with an empty heart and observe the spinning wheels of their own mind will benefit to the greatest extent but this(as with the rest of Shah's work) should be considered essential reading for any serious Seeker after Truth.Buy it,read it,observe your response to it then wait and see if you can still feel its effect continue as time passes.Subtle,simple,beautiful and precise.Apply it to your every waking moment.
0Comment|40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2009
Having previous knowledge of this Author's work, it was nevertheless quite astounding the impact the first and second readings had on me personally. I feel sure that much of what this book contains would have meant nothing to me a few short years ago. "I was not ready till I was ready". Discovering 'the Self' with NO pre-concieved notions, is the aim.......I found the target was ME!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2010
Idries Shah allows us to access our inner depths in a way which respects and values the essence of humanity. He highlights the sufi perspective with traditional stories which have universal and lasting meanings and which offer insight into the human condition. It can be difficult to understand what he means a lot of the time but whilst you read the book even without comprehending everything there is a feeling that it helps you to develop and evolve as a person.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 June 2013
The commanding self is the 'you' that is on autopilot- the 'ego' that gets bruised by criticism and exalted by praise. Does it control you or do you control it? One insight of this book is that the commanding self is not 'bad', it just 'is'. Get used to living with it in a way that benefits you all round rather than making you a victim of your circumstances and what the last person you talked to said.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2010
This book holds a lot of unusual information. Especially of things that one doesn't realise in life. But I think it is a book that people who have become interested in Sufi teachings would really find most interesting, AFTER reading other books by Idries Shah.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2012
Idries Shah the sadly departed Teacher of the Age has once again dispensed an astonishing amount of knowledge and wisdom in just a few hundred pages. The quality of the great man's written English is delightful, putting many natives to shame.

You know the saying "It gave me food for thought."

This tome is a veritable banquet!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 July 2015
Extremely beautiful presentation of the conditioned subconscious which creates trouble for the individual because unrecognized. Idries Shah creates a very subtle teaching method by storytelling to explain The Commanding Self -- how to recognize it and how to deal with it. The prose is almost poetic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2015
Good book, and harback, easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)