Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible things people really do!, 1 Jun. 1996
By A Customer
You probably don't expect to find yourself compulsively reading a book called an encyclopedia of anything, but then you probably don't expect to be reading about men who coax angry bees to sting their penises in order to make the organ swell and become more sensitive. The 750+ listings here will propel you from amazement to amazement as they carry you from abduction as a sex act to zoophilia (sex with animals). You will be repelled and excited, entranced and titillated, shocked and sucked right into the world of sexual extremes and oddities. And, all the time, you'll be making mental notes of which entries you just have to tell this or that friend about. Maybe not a book everyone will be comfortable having on the coffee table, but one you'll want within eas
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book indeed, 14 Dec. 2000
This is one of those books that you will pick-up to look-up a particular term or idea and find yourself still reading it hours later. The depth of content is excellent, and the scope of the subjects covered are phenominal. Since buying this book I've learned of things I hadn't even begun to imagine.
It is is written in a very professional and responsible manner and is certainly a very educational experience. If you're the sort of person who enjoys reading about the bizzarre, are looking for new ideas, want to know more about a taboo topic, or whatever, this book is a must.
My partner and friends have commented to me on what a good book this is (someone is always flicking through it!)
Heartily recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 29 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this as a 'Secret Santa' gift for someone who would appreciate it and take it for what it is - a good toilet read.
Was opened and talked about for several hours before being squirreled away into a bag as it was causing too much of a stir as people tried to find out the most 'unusual act'.
Its not all unusual though and the vast majority of the book has lots of common practices and definitions of the norm ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining - unput downable, 7 Jan. 2000
By A Customer
I was given this book for Xmas, and at the Millenium Party, one of my guests picked it up from the book shelf, from then on there was laughter, cringing and various other exclamations of surprise (but not shock), amusement, understanding and so-forth. Eventually every word in the English language seemed to have been looked up by my guests, in the possibility that it may have a hidden sexual meaning. Overall a fascinating, informative, easy to read guide to the world of Unusual Sex Practices - buy the book and look up handkerchief!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Quite Interesting, 28 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Encyclopedia of Unusual Sex Practices: More Than 750 Entries and 150 Original Illustrations on the World's Strange Sex Activities (Hardcover)
I bought this book hoping for a bit more depth to a topic i was interested in (why some men are attracted to prgnant women, if anyone wants to know) and while i didnt find much more in here than i had found elsewhere, it has certainly made for some interesting reading and has definately broadened my mind more than i thought possible. It has everything from mainstream practices to the most obscure things that i sometimes couldnt even imagine a person doing. It's very comprehensive if not highly detailed. A good starting point for anyone interested.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Book Of Unusual Sexual Practices, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I Thought the book of unusual sexual practices by Brenda Love was/is a fantastic read! I find it fascinating read, I particularly liked reading about the different ways people can get sexual gratification from just about anything!
Only thing I would say though, never mention you've read or own a copy of this book to anybody, they'll think your a bit "Nutty" (Sorry Brenda Love, no offence to you, although I personally think its one of my favourites! Mates of mine just think I'm totally mad for buying your book!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting Book, 24 Feb. 2013
By 
Deborah R "tasc61" (Bridgend, South Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is written as a dictionary and covers almost everything that you might need to know about sex. It says unusual sex practices but they don't seem that unusual to me. It is easy to read and set out well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Handy Reference point for sexual practices., 3 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As a Psychology undergraduate studying sexual behaviour this is a handy tool to have to quickly look up terms. Ideal for inspiring assignments and wider reading in areas students may not have thought of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This entry is excellent, 4 April 1999
By A Customer
This book is excellent. It gives you down-to-earth information on every aspect of sex. It is written clearly, cleanly, informatively, and in plain english - with no hype. It is not a textbook, but yet written to be informative. It covers every, and I mean every, aspect of sexual activity. It is illustrated. The illustrations are a little small, but they are there, and they help. You cannot know everything in this book. I learned, and I am 60, before I got to page 60. Thank god we might have finally got over our national fear about sex and on to dispensing all the information about it. It is both wonderful, and yet a little scary, to think that all of this exists, but it is necessary to let us know that it does. An infomred population will at least know what it is up against, and how to adjust to it's good points and bad ones. This type of information was a long time coming, in this wonderful form. This is a great addition to any home library, for both research, as well as inquisitive needs and questions. Thank you Ms. Love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Filthy!, 5 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
very interesting read, though not for the faint of heart, as an anthropologist this book is required reading; well that is my excuse anyway...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews