Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, depressing yet strangely touching read.
A brilliant book, this is a touching account about Bernadette Fahey's time at Goldenbridge. One of Irelands most notorious orphanages. The book offers a disturbing and horific account of her childhood spent in Goldenbridge and the abuse she suffered at the hands of the nuns who were trusted with her care. The missery, suffering and hard labour she was forced into are...
Published on 23 Mar 2001

versus
17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book ive ever read.
Sadly this book did nothing at all for me. After reading books such as Rock me Gently, and Fear of the Collar, i found this book far too bitty. It goes back and forth, chopping and changing in times and years.
Nothing written in this book shocked me at all. I guess after reading others like it this was a tame pussy cat to me.
Sorry but i can only give this book...
Published on 16 Feb 2005 by T. Hatchman


Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant, depressing yet strangely touching read., 23 Mar 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
A brilliant book, this is a touching account about Bernadette Fahey's time at Goldenbridge. One of Irelands most notorious orphanages. The book offers a disturbing and horific account of her childhood spent in Goldenbridge and the abuse she suffered at the hands of the nuns who were trusted with her care. The missery, suffering and hard labour she was forced into are explicitly accounted. She also gives social and political context for an age in Ireland where children were punished for the sins of there farthers. Where this book differs from others however is the account it gives of Faheys survival after Goldenbridge. It tells us of the viscous cycles of alchol and drug abuse many survivers faced. That often lead to generations from the same family ending up in institutions such as Goldenbrige. The hunt for love and affection so lacking in their childhoods which lead to self disstructive relationships. Also with her own strugle for exceptance from her mother. Her personal account of learning how to fly and overcoming her personal strugle to deal with the abuse she sufferd is inspirational. A fantastic read which I cried at, addmired and was inspired by a story of one womens rise fron istutionalised abuse. The need is there to remember these children and how we let them suffer unchallensed. I'd recomens this book to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ., 6 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
Book received promptly in excellent condition.

Well written book. The author has a lot to be proud of ... her ability to write and her survival skills.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving..BY . Bernadette Fahy, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
Not read this book as yet as saving it to read at Easter,Looks a very interesting read as I have read the synopsis.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Evil, 25 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
Evil evil women. I cant really say much as in these convents a place that was supposed to be full of gentle women everyone already knows what happened in them and all I can say is theres a reason why witches wear black and its to impersonate them. Id love to rant and rave and swear but I cant so sorry my reviews a bit pants
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars authentic, 28 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
This book is extremely well written and impossibble to put down.
I know someone who has been through the system so I know it is authentic.
God Bless all the children who can identify with this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 13 Aug 2014
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
Excellent book. Excellent seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the best book ive ever read., 16 Feb 2005
By 
T. Hatchman "tina-Niko-Hatchman" (Kent UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage (Paperback)
Sadly this book did nothing at all for me. After reading books such as Rock me Gently, and Fear of the Collar, i found this book far too bitty. It goes back and forth, chopping and changing in times and years.
Nothing written in this book shocked me at all. I guess after reading others like it this was a tame pussy cat to me.
Sorry but i can only give this book one star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Freedom of Angels: Childhood in Goldenbridge Orphanage: Surviving Goldenbridge Orphanage
8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews