Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (72)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparrow's Trap, Brendan O'Carroll
Being an avid fan of Mr O'Carroll's work, I bought this book knowing that it wasn't part of the Agnes Brown world.

I wasn't disappointed either. Brendan's wit and humour are in abundance in this novel, despite it having a fairly serious plot line.

The story itself winds it way through the life of Sparrow McCabe, an Irish boxer who finds himself...
Published on 9 May 2011 by Rainey

versus
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware
This is simply Sparrows Trap re-released with a new cover and a different name. It is great if you have not read Sparrows Trap but a waste of money if you have.
Published 17 months ago by Anthony Johnson


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sparrow's Trap, Brendan O'Carroll, 9 May 2011
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
Being an avid fan of Mr O'Carroll's work, I bought this book knowing that it wasn't part of the Agnes Brown world.

I wasn't disappointed either. Brendan's wit and humour are in abundance in this novel, despite it having a fairly serious plot line.

The story itself winds it way through the life of Sparrow McCabe, an Irish boxer who finds himself unable to lift the European crown and ends up working for a local gangster.

I found that I was reading the final couple of chapters with my map of Dublin to hand - having visited Dublin many times, I was interested to trace the route that Sparrow takes - I will walk that route next time I am there!

For anyone who hasn't read the Agnes Brown stories, read this and you will get a feel for Brendan O'Carroll's style, full of humour, wit, imagination and passion.

Throroughly recommended read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Beware, 5 Mar 2013
By 
Anthony Johnson "tonyjqs" (Manchester England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
This is simply Sparrows Trap re-released with a new cover and a different name. It is great if you have not read Sparrows Trap but a waste of money if you have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the mammy, 5 Nov 2004
By 
M. saville-brown "mag s-b" (fleet, hants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
for all of those children of irish parents this is the series of books for you, hearing tales from my parents of life in ireland has always held dear memories for me, I started to read these books and once started could not put down I have laughed till my stomach hurt and cried whilst still laughing to say these are a must have books is an understatement you will live your life with Agnes Brown share her ups and downs and all the rest of her life discoveries I could not put them down and went straight on to read the rest of the trilogy happy reading is an understatement
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Comedy, 17 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
Just good subject matter from an imaginative source of life experiences in the early fifties when life in the British isles was hard for all working classes, and comedy especially slapstick type and realism comedy relating to everyday activities was welcome relief to the masses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars knockout of a book, 19 Sep 2011
By 
Gd Baker (kent,england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
read all of brendan o,carrolls books, all brilliant, and this one is i think the best. i must find out if there are any that i have missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Irelands gr8est, 13 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
This book is totally different to the Mrs Browne genre. Brendan has done it again he is a brilliant writer. He doesn't just do comedy but does intrigue and action also. This is one that you should definately read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Scrapper, 3 Sep 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
This is another entertaining story form Brendan O'Carroll. Not as hilarious as the Agnes Browne novels but well worth reading. And it is not without some laughs and excellent humour.
What I fail to understand however, is the two different titles. Is it "The Scrapper" or is it "The Sparrows Trap"?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the scrapper, 30 Mar 2013
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
Well when i started to read was initially disapointed as so unlike the mammy trilogy but once into the story couldn't stop reading until i finished it . Something different and very much enjoyed .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 10 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Paperback)
Its ok if you like this sort of thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A pleasent way to pass the time., 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Scrapper (Kindle Edition)
This is a nice easy read. A pleasant story with a feel good ending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Scrapper
The Scrapper by Brendan O'Carroll (Paperback - 16 Oct 1997)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews