Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to meditation
...this is a 'must have' book if you are interested in tackling meditation and mindfulness. The author comes from the Buddhist tradition but that doesn't mean that one is encouraged to take up Buddhism in order to meditate. It is practical and helpful and well structured. Strongly recommended - and for the price a true bargain.
Published on 21 April 2002

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very plain English.
I did not find the book easy to understand as it was in greater depth than I would have expected, and not very plain English. Can I send it back?
Published 12 days ago by joyce myatt


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

65 of 65 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent guide to meditation, 21 April 2002
By A Customer
...this is a 'must have' book if you are interested in tackling meditation and mindfulness. The author comes from the Buddhist tradition but that doesn't mean that one is encouraged to take up Buddhism in order to meditate. It is practical and helpful and well structured. Strongly recommended - and for the price a true bargain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 129 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible book. Essential reading, 25 Nov 2002
One thing becomes obvious within minutes of reading this book. Venerable Henepola understands humanity and all that makes us human in an amazingly clear and concise way. I took up meditation around 6 months ago and read a number of books on Meditation and Buddhism before this one but I wish I had picked this one up first.
The language used is indeed plain English. There is a clarity to his writing that describes meditation (and the benefits and difficulties that come with it) as if he were in the same room calmly explaining how to get the most from your practice. I would suggest that this book is essential reading for any beginner becuase it is during the early stages of practice that you are most likely to give up as you wait impatiently for instant benefits. Meditation requires patience and dedication and anyone looking for inspiration would benefit from reading this book.
For those interested in following a Buddhist path I would also advise reading 'A Path With Heart' by Jack Kornfield. A beautiful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


83 of 84 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anyone interested in Buddhism or Meditation., 10 Jan 2001
By A Customer
I've been studying Eastern beliefs and meditation for a number of years now and this is by far the best book I've come across. It puts the practice in a way that makes it seem so clear. You come away not only knowing exactly what you have to do and how to do it, but also with an understanding on why and how it will help you. I can't recommend it enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best quide for beginners and teachers of mindfulness alike, 27 Feb 1998
By A Customer
As a dharma teacher of 18 years and a teacher of mindfulness based stress reduction, this is my number one recommendation for those serious about the ins and outs of mindfulness. Bhante Gunaratana is an overlooked gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully simple and direct. Without equal!, 22 Mar 1998
By A Customer
I have a large library of meditative texts and scriptures and have meditated off and on for many years. This book is the first I have encountered that so thoroughly and simply explored it's subject that it truely is a beginner's manual, a 'How-To'. And yet it serves as a great review for more experienced practitioners. This book was the beginning of a wonderful relationship with the author, who is the most knowledgable yet warm and most approachable teacher I have ever met, in any tradition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A handbook for the "old pros" of meditation, as well., 18 Dec 1998
By A Customer
It is understandable that new meditators are enthusiastic about this book. However, I have been practicing for 30 years steady, and I found many useful insights into solving the problems in one's practice. If I had this book two years ago, I would not have been compelled to change traditions.
This book explains meditation in a stunningly logical way, adding the benefits of the writer's experience in every place needed. I think this is the "best written" book on meditation technique that has ever been published, amazing in how well it addresses beginners and experienced meditators in the same breath.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Way to Kickstart Your Practice, 7 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've been dabbling with meditation for years, and never really gotten anywhere. I've looked for guidance and teachers and never really had luck. Everything and everyone had a slant - an agenda. Everything was too Zen or too Thai or to this or too that. Some were even cultish

This book is different. It's straightforward, secular, no BS practical help. From day one I was able to put it to use. The author speaks in an immediately-relateable manner. It's so good, I've even given it as a gift to a few select friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This really is a great book, 7 Mar 2013
By 
W. N. E. Meredith "William" (Chester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
I have read a lot about meditation and done quite a lot too (!). And this is one of the most helpful I have yet come across in helping you know what to do and what to expect. Whether your interest is Zen or Tibetan or.... whatever .... try this one. It really is good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It can change the way you think., 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition (Paperback)
I bought this book after realising I have some unhealthy thought patterns which I'd like to address. This book has taught me a lot so far, from reading alone there are ideas in there which stick with you, they may not have a dramatic effect on your life but they still make you think. This is where the practice of meditation comes in, the book clearly expresses the steps required to achieve mindfulness and how to apply it to everyday life. Since practicing this I have noticed subtle changes in the way I think, for the better of course! It is recommended you meditate at least once a day and only the amount of time you feel comfortable with, it is very easy to skip a day however but don't worry! This book is about learning to live in the now without the regrets of the past and the worries of the future and to look at situations without bias but with wisdom. This is a life long practice but it is an enjoyable one, I would certainly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Plain Speaking, 17 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the best books on mindfulness I've come across. This is a really good exposition of the true depth of mindfulness and sincereness of purpose in the wanting to explain the Buddha, and how to follow his path.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition
Mindfulness in Plain English: 20th Anniversary Edition by Bhante Henepola Gunaratana (Paperback - 19 Sep 2011)
7.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews