Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on Buddhist practice
I have had a copy of this book for years but my wife borrows it so much I am buying a second copy. While it is not an introductory textbook for those who wish to obtain an overview of the type provided by Walpola Rahula's 'What the Buddha Taught' I know of nothing which explains more clearly the interrelationship between the practice of meditation and the application of...
Published on 10 Nov 1999

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple explanation of the basics of the Buddhist way of life, focusing on meditation
This book is similar to Steve Hagen's book on Buddhism. Like Khema, Hagen is also a Westerner and a long-time teacher of Buddhism. Neither book focuses on historical detail, biography, academic aspects of the Buddha's teachings, or the Buddhist universe (though Khema touches on it more than Hagen does). The focus in both is on how to live a Buddhist life.

Khema...
Published on 6 Mar 2007 by Greshon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book on Buddhist practice, 10 Nov 1999
By A Customer
I have had a copy of this book for years but my wife borrows it so much I am buying a second copy. While it is not an introductory textbook for those who wish to obtain an overview of the type provided by Walpola Rahula's 'What the Buddha Taught' I know of nothing which explains more clearly the interrelationship between the practice of meditation and the application of Buddhist thought and principles to daily life. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the clarity of spring water, 1 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
No wonder this book won the Christmas Humphrey's award. It is suitable for beginners, but also for people who have read, studied and practiced Buddhism for several years. I found her simple, clear explanations so helpful. Time and again I got that "Oh, NOW I understand it" feeling. It is a book that I will read several times, once I get it back from the friends who borrowed it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is an extremely fine introduction to Buddhism!, 23 Sep 1996
By A Customer
This book is a wonderful introduction to the basic
teachings of Buddhism. It is very clear and requires no
previous exposure to Buddhism. Yet the teachings presented
in this book are very deep, very profound. I would
strongly recommend this to anyone looking for an
introduction to the teachings of the Buddha.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll keep going back to this ......, 16 Mar 2010
By 
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
.... and get something more from it every time. This is one of those rare and valuable books which 'speaks' to you at different stages of the development of your practice. You can read it as a beginner, when it will set out for you with crystal clarity many of the basic ideas of Buddhism, and you can read it as your practice advances, when the same words will resonate in a different way. I've owned this book for over 10 years and, as well as lending it to several friends, I must have read it myself at least half a dozen times.

This isn't a textbook on the principles of Buddhism (read Walpola Rahula if that's what you want); it's a series of talks given at a 10-day meditation course run by Ayya Khema in Sri Lanka in (I think) 1985. This means it's very much a practical look at the motivation for meditation, how to meditate and the problems and delights one may encounter as one progresses. It's also a very clear-sighted look at how the Buddha's teachings are not limited to his own cultural context but have universal applicability at all times and in all places.

It's difficult to recommend this book highly enough. It's one of the classic books on Theravada, and deservedly so. The exposition is clear, concise and involving and, it's to be hoped, will whet your appetite for other books by Ayya Khema. If you're interested in Theravada, indeed if you're interested in Buddhism of any school, this book is a 'must read'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book, 17 Jun 2008
By 
C. Gee "ICI sufferer" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
This is a fantastic introduction to the workings of Buddha and how you can integrate buddhism into your daily western living. I found it very clear and very interactive. This is head and shoulders the best read if you want to find the path to happiness and change your life. Im already on my second read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple explanation of the basics of the Buddhist way of life, focusing on meditation, 6 Mar 2007
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
This book is similar to Steve Hagen's book on Buddhism. Like Khema, Hagen is also a Westerner and a long-time teacher of Buddhism. Neither book focuses on historical detail, biography, academic aspects of the Buddha's teachings, or the Buddhist universe (though Khema touches on it more than Hagen does). The focus in both is on how to live a Buddhist life.

Khema focuses much more than Hagen on the importance of meditation.

The concept that the reason for acting morally and compasionately in Buddhism is that this will ultimately decrease desire, in both yourself and others (a bizaare-sounding statement taken out of context) is neatly explained here. That desire is the cause of suffering, one of the four Noble Truths, is of course explained in both books. But Khema makes it clearer why the Buddhist should act in a 'moral' way.

Despite this, I do find Hagen's book more lucid, despite his tendency to repeteat himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superior book covering the basics of Buddhist meditation, 29 Oct 1998
By A Customer
Using language that everyone can understand Ayya Khema describes the basics of Buddhism and Buddhist meditation. Her writing style and the insights she presents strike the reader as unusually authentic and heartfelt. Although Ayya Khema is not well known in the United States, this book clearly places her in the forefront of other, more well-know practitioners. A Buddhist nun for many years, Ayya Khema's writing emerges from years of personal and practical experience. This book should be read by beginners as well as experienced meditators.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Buddhist book I've read in 23 years of reading Buddhism!, 5 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
and I keep re -reading it as it is one of those books.
I obviously cannot state this is the best book on Buddhism but it is definitely the best I've read - so far. And my readings include Sogyal Rinpoche's works as well as Chogyam Trungpa's and countless others. This is a golden nugget in all of the bandwagon books in the haystack. The reasons I always recommend this book are numerous - it is clear, concise and is equally perfect for someone new to the teachings or someone on their 10,000th life. It is written by a westerner and a nun rather than a non-monk westerner. Ayya didn't come to Buddhism at a young age, she was 40 before she learned meditation which she then taught before becoming a Buddhist nun when she was 56 years old. She never sought fame or recognition but she did many acts of altruism and basically she walked the talk. In other words she was the real deal and this book will undoubtedly speak to whoever reads it. It's probably already a blessing or grace or auspicious that one arrives at this, an opportunity, to read it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An essential for everyone, 7 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
This is my favourite book. It is written in a simple and straightforward manner, and provides insights into the human mind and thinking processes, specifically the revelation that a single thought is only ever present at one time. As an aid to meditation, and as an education to provide a perspective to the lives we all lead, it is invaluable. This is a 'manual for life', and an easy, accessible, practical and straightforward introduction to buddhism. Buy it now - you will not regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant guide to Buddhist practice, 23 Sep 2011
By 
Dr. Jc Wilson - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path (Paperback)
This book is a classic. It is especially insightful for those engaged in formal sitting meditation practice and general 'mindfulness' practice. The material is well presented, lucid and easy to understand. The text is not laid out to instruct the reader in the way of a typical introductory textbook on Buddhism; this is available in classics such as 'What the Buddha Taught', by Walpola Rahula. Instead, it is based on material from a meditation retreat and is more of a 'how to' guide. Although the author was ordained in Theravada and Mahayana (Chinese) Buddhism, the text contains fundamental material that is arguably applicable to most, if not all Buddhist traditions. In short, this book is the 'real deal'!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Being Nobody Going Nowhere: Meditations on the Buddhist Path
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews