Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet
I couldn't not buy this spin-off having read all of the previous Extraordinary League of Gentlemen books. It's an interesting read, again combining Moore's passion for science-fiction and mysticism, and fleshes out a comparatively minor character well enough to make me hopeful that it will be the first spin-off of many. It is just a little short, but is any Alan Moore...
Published 17 months ago by Truman

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gibberish
It's 1925 and Janni, the daughter of Captain Nemo, is now captain of the Nautilus and continuing her father's pirating ways. She and her crew rob an African Queen of her treasures while visiting New York and, in retaliation, a newspaper magnate called Kane sends some goons after her to reclaim it. Then Janni decides to take a trip to the Antarctic, emulating her father's...
Published 8 months ago by Sam Quixote


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Gibberish, 6 Dec 2013
By 
Sam Quixote - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
It's 1925 and Janni, the daughter of Captain Nemo, is now captain of the Nautilus and continuing her father's pirating ways. She and her crew rob an African Queen of her treasures while visiting New York and, in retaliation, a newspaper magnate called Kane sends some goons after her to reclaim it. Then Janni decides to take a trip to the Antarctic, emulating her father's journey years earlier and the goons follow. And in the Antarctic, they will see the Mountains of Madness. Gibberish ensues.

Yup, this is Alan Moore regurgitating more HP Lovecraft after his Neonomicon book a few years ago. This time he's doing the Mountains of Madness (MoM) story, incorporating it into his League of Extraordinary Gentlemen (LXG) series, though if you've never read any of the other books, Heart of Ice can be read as a standalone book - that's also why it feels so pointless as it adds nothing to the overall LXG series.

Readers of LXG will remember Janni from Century: 1910 when she ran away from Nemo for a life on land and wound up in a brothel - it was a pretty terrible book, so a follow-up wasn't really necessary but here we go anyway. In Heart of Ice, Moore wants to show us how Janni became the cold-hearted person she was in later life though really a woman could become quite bitter being used as sex slave for years, so I'm not sure what the point of this book was.

The best parts of Moore's LXG series is the way he plays with famous characters and stories from culture, reimagining and twisting them in new and exciting ways. In Heart of Ice, he doesn't do anything new with Lovecraft's MoM story, he just retells it (how imaginative!), and badly at that too. Besides Janni, all of the characters look exactly the same, partly due to wearing heavy clothing due to the icy weather, and don't have distinct personalities. In LXG stories, the characters are based on a mix of famous and obscure fictional characters though, while I could recognise a few (Charles Foster Kane, Ishmael, Tom Swift), I didn't care about finding out more about the others, in contrast to previous LXG books.

MoM isn't Lovecraft's best story and in Moore's hands it manages to become even more tedious - Janni and co. wander about the ice, a big dark hole appears, a bizarre Lovecraftian monster show up, the end. It's too short and too lacking in any strong narrative to be a decent book. I get that the jumbled up sequence was supposed to illustrate why it's called the Mountains of Madness but it only further underlined how incoherent the story was up until that point and how little I cared about it or any of the characters.

I think he's trying to write an interesting classic adventure yarn but he's barely making any sense here, much like his later LXG books. Kevin O'Neill's artwork is just ok but he's done much better elsewhere and I found his work here to be particularly uninspired, especially when drawing Lovecraft's horrors.

Nemo: Heart of Ice is a waste of time on all levels with Moore revealing how tapped out he is at this point in his career. He may have written some classics 30 years ago but his latest stuff is forgettable and trite at best. If you want to read a great comic book adaptation of Lovecraft's story, check out INJ Culbard's At the Mountains of Madness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Short but sweet, 22 Mar 2013
By 
Truman (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
I couldn't not buy this spin-off having read all of the previous Extraordinary League of Gentlemen books. It's an interesting read, again combining Moore's passion for science-fiction and mysticism, and fleshes out a comparatively minor character well enough to make me hopeful that it will be the first spin-off of many. It is just a little short, but is any Alan Moore book ever long enough? The book itself is great quality too, and it's always nice to have a hardback instead of a paperback. Recommended for fans of the League!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not the best, 25 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
Expectations are always high whenever Messrs Moore and O'Neill produce a new work. In this case the graphics are superb ,but the story seems to lose its way a bit. no doubt set up for a sequel
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
I think is not as great as the others books, but have a interesting plot, I like the way that the text and image merge, and the surreal picture of the trip is a essencial point in the plot but in this point the illustrations are greater than the narrative.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
Not completely what i was expecting but i still enjoyed it. Think i'll give it a second read. But i am happy with my purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovecraft inspired steampunk fun, 16 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Strong female lead, the Ancients and science heroes. A ripping yarn with well paced story and excellnet O'neil art work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Heart of Ice indeed, 10 April 2013
By 
No More Mr. Mice Guy (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
I found this on the shelf at my local library (the day, coincidentally that it caught fire; fortunately after I had checked out my books) and picked it up out of curiosity, having looked at the opening pages and saw that it appeared to be a sequel of sorts to the League of Extraordinary Gentlemen, though there is no introduction or explanatory text, not even a cover blurb. I found it vaguely interesting, but that was about it - it is 1925 and Captain Nemo the Second (daughter of the famous one) is in New York robbing the deposed African Queen of Kor of her treasures in the presence of her host, the newspaper magnate Kane. Kane hires a number of scientific adventurers (whose names I do not recognise, but assume are suitably contemporary) to pursue Nemo, who on a whim decides to emulate her late father's trek across Antarctica. Kane's adventurers pursue, to mostly meet unfortunate ends at the hands of the mysteries of the Last Continent; as does all but one of Nemo's party. I recognised many of the Lovecraftian references, and the entrance to Pellucidar, though Metapatagonia, Antarctic France and the Underground Empire of the Alondsons were unfamiliar. And that was about it. If you are a follower of Messrs. Moore and O'Neill, then you will hopefully enjoy the book immensely; I merely enjoyed it moderately, as there was nothing to give the story context, and it had nothing else other than a catalogue of clever references to 1920s fiction (and possibly pseudoscience).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
Excellent all round quality and speedy delivery!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
Nice item thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars more, Moore please, 15 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nemo: Heart of Ice (Hardcover)
I am a big fan of the 'league' series and of Alan Moore in general. I felt a little short changed by this as it is a fairly short story and does rely on a knowledge of HP Lovecrafts 'at the mountains of madness'. Still, the artwork is great as ever (thankyou Mr O'Neill) and the characters are engaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nemo: Heart of Ice
Nemo: Heart of Ice by Kevin O'Neill (Hardcover - 5 Mar 2013)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews