Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


75 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way out of your comfort zone.
Moore and Gebbie have presented us with a gift and a challenge. First off, this is a beautifully presented artefact. The three volumes in their slip-case look and feel wonderful. Melinda Gebbie's art is enchanting, almost dreamlike. She presents the images suggested by Moore with real beauty and honesty. Moore, in turn, asks more of his artistic collaborator than many...
Published on 22 Sep 2008 by Black Mask

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the broad minded only
Having read a few Alan Moore graphic novels, I was curious to read 'Lost Girls' and see whether it warranted such strong minded responses and reviews. It seems people are either enthusing about it as a piece of art or disgusted by its contents. Personally, I would consider myself to be a broad minded individual who does not offend easily so thought that I would fall into...
Published 20 months ago by Hoofy


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

75 of 82 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Way out of your comfort zone., 22 Sep 2008
Moore and Gebbie have presented us with a gift and a challenge. First off, this is a beautifully presented artefact. The three volumes in their slip-case look and feel wonderful. Melinda Gebbie's art is enchanting, almost dreamlike. She presents the images suggested by Moore with real beauty and honesty. Moore, in turn, asks more of his artistic collaborator than many would be able or comfortable to provide. Just about every kind of human-on-human sexual activity is here. It's erotic, yes. It's pornographic, yes. It's graphic, yes. However, because of its beauty and intelligence, none of the situations or images are utterly repellent. Moore and Gebbie force us to ask very difficult questions of ourselves. We see and read and understand these things on these pages, and we realise that we must make moral choices. We recognise that we do make moral choices. We reflect on why we make those moral choices. We're prodded to think about our own sexuality, to think about when that sexuality awakened, to wonder at when and what and why we lusted over the things we desire. As a parent this can be occasionally uncomfortable, but it's absolutely compelling.

The retrospective retellings of the girls' tales is fascinating and astonishingly inventive. History, imagination, psychotherapy, art, myth, magic and a million other things collide in these volumes. There are messages and truths locked deep inside these pages that further rereadings may uncover. My first impression is that Moore and Gebbie point a finger of blame for a lost innocence and the experience we, concomitantly, never have the pleasure of achieving. It identifies the cheapening, commodification and vulgarisation of the erotic. Of sex. Of the simple innocent fun in f*cking. It's a dirty business, now. And ubiquitous. Furtive, sleazy and sick. This book isn't about paedophilia, or homosexuality, or masturbation. It's about (among many other things) how desire is born, what it means to lust, about sexual release, the part imagination plays in our desires... The culprits may be Modernism, mechanized war, industrialism...

This is the most startling and provocative thing I've read since Lord Horror. We should be grateful that people like Moore and Gebbie and Top Shelf are producing stuff like this, because precious few others are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A stunning work of art, 3 July 2010
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
Firstly, don't let the lack of customer reviews put you off. Perhaps the reviews that USED TO BE HERE have vanished down the Memory Hole.
Lost Girls is a collaboration between arguably the best comic book writer of all time, Alan Moore, and his now-wife Melinda Gebbie. It took 16 years to complete, and upon reading, you can see why. It's incredibly well-written, detailed, and once you get past the initial "naked cartoons" shock, you can enjoy it for what it is - a wonderfully imaginative piece of art.
"Lost Girls" has its critics, and they're entitled to their opinions, but for those of us who enjoyed it, why should we be ashamed? Why should our reviews be taken down? Yes, there are very graphic images in this book, but it goes much, much deeper into exploring relationships (such as the ageing woman obsessed with her younger self, and the married couple whose only sexual relationship is one enjoyed by their shadows).
Please, don't let the apparent lack of support for this work put you off enjoying a beautifully drawn, beautifully scripted piece of art that will be talked about for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars For the broad minded only, 29 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
Having read a few Alan Moore graphic novels, I was curious to read 'Lost Girls' and see whether it warranted such strong minded responses and reviews. It seems people are either enthusing about it as a piece of art or disgusted by its contents. Personally, I would consider myself to be a broad minded individual who does not offend easily so thought that I would fall into the latter category.
Having finished reading it yesterday, I have decided that although the art work is beautifully drawn and I appreciated reading a graphic novel that was in colour, some of the content pushed the boundaries a little too far into the regions of bad taste for my liking. I was not aware that there would be such graphically depicted scenes of incest and of sexual activity involving minors, I should have taken on board what some previous amazon reviews said, these themes occur more than once and I did find them uncomfortable to read. you could argue that some of these events were relevant to the plot (i agree that Dorothy's relationship with her dad was a relevant twist to the plot, although an uncomfortable one), i found pretty much all the stories in the hotel managers 'white book' to be diversions from the main plot which could have not gone so far into the realms of bad taste. It seems that as the book progressed these stories from the white book became increasingly disturbing.
I'm unsure now whether to keep the book in my home or sell it, as despite the beauty of the drawing and artwork, I feel uncomfortable having such a controversial graphic novel (that can even offend someone like me) in my home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yet again, 2 Oct 2010
A Kid's Review
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
If Amazon are prepared to sell a product them surely they should be prepared for people to review it. This is the second time that all reviews for this book have been removed. At no time have any of the reviews been controversial.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Alan Moore is a genius, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
There is nothing better than AlanMoore feeling free to write what he likes. So this turn of the screw of classic fairytale girls is absolutly great.
A comic book for +18, quite explicit and pornographic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 6 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
More than met my expectations as I've never read an Alan Moore and I've heard so much about this book.
Quick and easy delivery.
Brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 51 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Below Par Moore, 23 Oct 2007
By 
FDLab1 (Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
After Eagerly awaiting Moore's latest oddessy I have to say that I was somewhat dissapointed by Lost Girls, this feeling may not have been so if Moore had concluded following Book One:

In the first Book of Lost Girls all of Moore's writing techniques are evident, subtle nods to the era, other works and juxtapositions of two different events happening concurrently, added to this there is the very smart premise that the fantasy stories of Wendy, Dorothy and Alice are formed through the repression of their first sexual experiences. I would therefore give the first book 4stars.

Unfortunately I cannot say the same for the following 2 books, book 2 being the one of least merit (2 Stars), Moore continues to sexualise the fantasy stories of Neverland, Oz and Wonderland for no other reason than he can. This is also probably the most graphic of the three books, so may be seen as 100% erotica which has been bookended by the set up and justification.

The final book of Lost Girls then justifies the series (as another reviewer has mentioned) by stating that the events in the series should cause no offence as they are ficticious and are purely intended to entertain. This justification along with the resolutions to the Lost Girls stories raises this book above book 2 to 3stars.

As Lost Girls is still an overtly Alan Moore collection (as described above) I fans may still enjoy the collection, however I personally feel that this is way below the quality of Watchmen and League of Extrodinary Gentlemen etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Genius, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
Lost Girls is Alan Moore and Melinda Gebbie's attempt to elevate pornography into something better than what it is today, and they do it superbly. The book clearly reflects the creative team's belief that sex is underrepresented in literature and can be used to tell a story as well as every other aspect of life. The content might not be to everybody's taste - especially with the heavy incest and underage themes present - but the book clearly didn't want to compromise in depicting sexuality. To top it off, it crosses over three of the best children's fantasy books into the same universe (abeit altered so that the fantastical characters the girls originally met are simply made into human sexual partners). The sex does get a bit overpowering towards the end with few points to stop and take a breather, but on a second read my opinion on that might change.

Lost of people have written reviews complaining that the book is graphic and pornographic. They have no reason to complain because the creative team have openly declared the work as pornography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully crafted book, 18 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
This is the penultimate example of pornographic art that works. It is a touching (maybe quite literally) story about how age can distance the fantasy but with a little magic can bring it all back again. There is a lot of sex in this book. A LOT of sex. However is still an important tale of self-fulfillment and evolving from child to adult.

The art work is phenomenal, erotic yes, but exceptionally beautiful. Fantastic use of colour representing the deep suppression contrasting with the passionate excitement of sex.

Is it off putting these three women are childhood story characters? Only if you insist on looking at them in that way, open your mind and you will see them in an entirely different interpretation. Of course it is not in every ones taste but if you love art and open to the erotic, then this is definitely for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very nice subject but..., 23 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lost Girls (Hardcover)
This is a very "art" focused erotic graphic story. The subject is very clever and the drawings very artistic, for a pure erotic view i prefer the Manara-style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lost Girls
Lost Girls by Melinda Gebbie (Hardcover - 8 Nov 2012)
£20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews